TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-28-2005, 08:37 PM   #1 (Print)
CTerrian
Master Of My Domain
 
CTerrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Atlanta Area
Posts: 17
Send a message via ICQ to CTerrian Send a message via AIM to CTerrian Send a message via MSN to CTerrian Send a message via Yahoo to CTerrian
Question Does Tivo change channels when TV is off?

This morning, I was watching CBS, and turned off the TV. Came back 3 hours later, and turned on the TV, and Tivo was on the Food Channel. My wife said the same thing happened to her this afternoon.
Anyone have this problem?

__________________
TIVO Series 2
CTerrian is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-28-2005, 08:46 PM   #2 (Print)
ChuckyBox
Registered User
 
ChuckyBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 707
It isn't a problem, it is a feature. TiVo has to be able to change channels in order to record your shows for you when you aren't around. TiVo will also record "TiVo Suggestions" -- programs it thinks you might like (which you can give a "Thumbs Up" or "Thumbs Down" to help it learn what you like). You can turn off the "TiVo Suggestions" if you don't want them, and that will reduce the channel changing somewhat. I like the suggestions since I sometimes find interesting shows through them, and the space they take up never interferes with scheduled recordings.
ChuckyBox is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-28-2005, 11:59 PM   #3 (Print)
CTerrian
Master Of My Domain
 
CTerrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Atlanta Area
Posts: 17
Send a message via ICQ to CTerrian Send a message via AIM to CTerrian Send a message via MSN to CTerrian Send a message via Yahoo to CTerrian
Wink

Ah...I see. I just bought this box for my wife, and she watches the Food Channel every night so that explains that.
Thanks for your reply.

__________________
TIVO Series 2
CTerrian is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-29-2005, 02:30 AM   #4 (Print)
ADent
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 1,670
Also it changes to the Discovery Channel every so often to download the videos for the ads on the machine.
ADent is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-29-2005, 04:42 AM   #5 (Print)
gastrof
VERY disappointed
 
gastrof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTerrian
This morning, I was watching CBS, and turned off the TV. Came back 3 hours later, and turned on the TV, and Tivo was on the Food Channel. My wife said the same thing happened to her this afternoon.
Anyone have this problem?


Your TV being off, on, or in Idaho doesn't make any difference.

Disconnect the TV and throw it out the window, the TiVo will keep doing its job.

The TiVo has its own tuner, and if you're using a cable box, it controls THAT to change channels.

Your TV is only a display device for the TiVo. Overall, it really doesn't even come into the picture.

__________________
2 unsubbed Philips series 1s- HDR212, 163hrs, & a jealous PTV300, 141hrs.
gastrof is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-29-2005, 05:20 AM   #6 (Print)
Dromomaniac
Pre-Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 194
Incidentally, the Tivo doesn't know if the TV is on or off. So, before it changes the channel to record something (that you've requested, a suggestion, etc.) it pops up a message asking permission. If nobody says "yes" or "no" after a minute, it assumes the TV is off and goes ahead and changes the channel.
Dromomaniac is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-29-2005, 05:21 AM   #7 (Print)
Dromomaniac
Pre-Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 194
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckyBox
It isn't a problem, it is a feature.
Ever considered a career with Microsoft?

Just kidding.
Dromomaniac is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-29-2005, 11:00 AM   #8 (Print)
ZeoTiVo
fantastic four TiVos
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 7,704
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTerrian
This morning, I was watching CBS, and turned off the TV. Came back 3 hours later, and turned on the TV, and Tivo was on the Food Channel. My wife said the same thing happened to her this afternoon.
Anyone have this problem?



if there is a channel you want the "TV to be tuned to" at a certain time than setup that show with a keep at most 1 option. or else setup a small 5 minute manual record scheduled 30 minutes before you watch it.

during times of breaking news like Katrina I set up a 5 minute manaul record for CNN around 6am and that way I have the 30 minute buffer of news and can cath up quickly just by scanning through. at other times I have the local news and Good Morning America set for a keep at most 2 so they are what my TV shows when I turn it on in the morning.
ZeoTiVo is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:47 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index