TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-15-2005, 12:08 AM   #481 (Print)
bmeyer1968
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Joliet IL
Posts: 13
Thanks to all

It has been said about 100 times in this thread (I know, I read just about all 16 pages), but thanks to all of you that did the research on how to set this up.

I bought a HDR212 that had a modem that failed 'A few times after dialing' and found that it had a %100 dead modem. Using this info found on this thread I was able to get a Sportster 56K modem hooked up and was up and running. After I figured out that ,#357 worked on mine, I think I am running faster than the original modem since all the estimated times were longer than the actual connect time.

2 small questions however. Many of the posts that talk about making the cable refer to shorting out pins 6-20 and 5-4 on the modem side. I did not do this and everything works fine. Is there any detriment to not using these connections (as far as anyone knows)? I only ask because currently my cable is a mish mosh of loose wires and twisty connections just to see if it works. If I am going to create a 'nice' cable I wanted to make sure I covered everything when I set it up.

Also, alot of the posts refer to still connecting the modem to Hyperterminal to turn off the external modem sounds....My sportster has a volume control on the body of it and I can turn it down that way. Did I just get rediculously lucky or are there just a lot of people who never noticed it was there (I've got about 20 modems at work 14.4 to 56K and they all have the knob as well).

Thanks again to all,
Bill
bmeyer1968 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-16-2005, 01:33 AM   #482 (Print)
mick66
Exit, stage left
 
mick66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: "South of the river" Twin Cities area, MN
Posts: 1,996
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmeyer1968
2 small questions however. Many of the posts that talk about making the cable refer to shorting out pins 6-20 and 5-4 on the modem side. I did not do this and everything works fine. Is there any detriment to not using these connections (as far as anyone knows)? I only ask because currently my cable is a mish mosh of loose wires and twisty connections just to see if it works. If I am going to create a 'nice' cable I wanted to make sure I covered everything when I set it up.

It's not all necessary in your case, so I wouldn't give it another thought.

Quote:
Also, alot of the posts refer to still connecting the modem to Hyperterminal to turn off the external modem sounds....My sportster has a volume control on the body of it and I can turn it down that way. Did I just get rediculously lucky or are there just a lot of people who never noticed it was there (I've got about 20 modems at work 14.4 to 56K and they all have the knob as well).

Neither.

__________________
Mick
*TiVo, TV your way.* 'nuff said.

TiVo user since May 12, 2001
TCD140060
TCD24008A
TCD540040
mick66 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Underground Playground > TiVo Underground

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:30 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index