TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-22-2005, 02:35 PM   #1 (Print)
leighv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 56
Changing channels....

I am having an intermittent problem changing channels. Sometimes the channel change works fine (using the remote) other times not. I can't pinpoint a pattern - just some days it works fine then other days it doesn't. I don't move the Tivo or digibox nor change the config - so it's a bit mysterious.

Okay - it's annoying when I am physically changing the channel - but of course when I have set something up to record while I am away - and it records something else completely different (usually a "in order to subscribe to this channel" screen).

Thanks.
leighv is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-22-2005, 03:41 PM   #2 (Print)
cwaring
Registered User
 
cwaring's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 3,921
Send a message via MSN to cwaring
This is usually a 'stray IR' problem from another device. Check that any other remotes you might have to see if there's a problem. Maybe a button got stuck down or the cat's sat on it? (That has happened, if I recall correctly )

__________________
Carl Waring

Telewest Active Digital with Pace 2000 STB
Now with added Tivoweb!
Tivo TV Ads & PDF Manuals
cwaring is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-23-2005, 07:21 PM   #3 (Print)
leighv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 56
I don't have any other remotes - so it's not that - so I'm perplexed......
leighv is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-24-2005, 03:17 AM   #4 (Print)
ndunlavey
Just a user, really
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Greenwich
Posts: 914
The positioning of the little IR wand thing can be very fiddly with some STBs. When I had Sky I got bored trying to find a position that worked satisfactorily, so got a little device that plugged into a socket on the back of the Sky box to change channels instead of using the wands - that worked fine.

My Freeview boxes, however, have all worked fine.

__________________
Nick
6021 2.5.5a Lifetime 120Gb+40Gb|Toshiba 32ZP18Q|DTI2300 Freeview|Quintro+|Panasonic DMRES20D
ndunlavey is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-24-2005, 06:37 AM   #5 (Print)
healeydave
tivoland.com
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Worcester
Posts: 538
Check your software settings in the Tivo.

Its an easy one to miss but if you are using the (wired) IR Wands and positioning the sensor in front of your digibox, you may still have "Use Front IR Blaster" selected in the Tivo's menus.

If this is the case, the IR Blaster (behind the IR window on the Tivo) will be trying to send the IR codes and this relies a lot on reflection and may explain the intermittancy!

You'll be amazed how many people don't know the tivo has the IR blaster built in as well as the Wired IR Wands!

I often get people mistakenly asking me to supply a set of IR Blaster Leads which does not exist :-)

The standard leads that come with a Tivo are called "IR Wands" and are a backup if the IR Blaster (the built-in IR sender) doesn't work accurately!

The IR Wands require the option "Use Front IR Blaster" to be turned off.

Regs
Dave.

__________________
Keeping the dream alive.
healeydave is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-24-2005, 08:41 AM   #6 (Print)
leighv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 56
I'm not using any of the wands. I have tried it without for a few years and never had problems so... What I really don't understand is that if it is this - then why for days it works fine without these wands - and then for a crazy x minutes it doesn't.....
leighv is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-24-2005, 08:56 AM   #7 (Print)
healeydave
tivoland.com
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Worcester
Posts: 538
You using the Front IR Blaster then?

Have you moved the room around recently, re-arranged the equipment, put a plant in anything daft like that.

The IR Blaster relies on bounced signals coming back at the digibox, hell it could even be something daft like you've moved a chair or sofa and the signals work best when you sat in front of the kit :-)

__________________
Keeping the dream alive.
healeydave is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-24-2005, 01:29 PM   #8 (Print)
randap
Knee-down scratcher?
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 109
I'm having exactly the same problem. Changed my Sky box today (no change), and I'm using the Pacelink (thingy in the back of the Sky box). Front IR blaster definately off. Thing is, I get the odd digit sent, sometimes it's ok, then all of a sudden, nothing.

I've tried power cycles, and sometimes that works and other times not. Getting boring now......and just before the Xmas TV rush too..

__________________
TiVo 6023 200Gb with TiVoweb (secured with Orenosp), Hackman, and lots of other stuff I'm only beginning to learn.......working on a custom theme
randap is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-26-2005, 05:13 AM   #9 (Print)
ozsat
Very Nice Moderator
 
ozsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Oxfordshire, UK
Posts: 3,279
Have you blocked up the IR sensor on the front of the Sky box?

__________________
OzSat - TiVo UK - Moderator
ozsat is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo UK

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:29 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index