TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-11-2005, 11:59 AM   #1 (Print)
bonnie_raitt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 57
Thumbs up Galleon 1.92 not showing MP3s or Photos

I recently installed Galleon 1.92 on XP SP2 to use on my new Series 2 TiVo. I was surprised how versatile the Galleon app is. The only problem I have come across so far has to do with viewing photos and adding music from my MP3 collection. Both of the sources are on network shares rather than on the physical PC that is hosting Galleon. I have tried UNCs (\\server\sharename) and mapped drives (Z. In neither case do any files show up on Tivo. Both folders show up empty. In the case of the MP3s, there are a large number of them (Is there a limit?)

Are these problems because of a limitation of Galleon or are there steps I can take to correct them? Thanks.

__________________
BR

Last edited by bonnie_raitt : 12-30-2005 at 12:17 PM.
bonnie_raitt is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-12-2005, 08:09 PM   #2 (Print)
javahmo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,536
Quote:
Originally Posted by bonnie_raitt
I recently installed Galleon 1.92 on XP SP2 to use on my new Series 2 TiVo. I was surprised how versatile the Galleon app is. The only problem I have come across so far has to do with viewing photos and adding music from my MP3 collection. Both of the sources are on network shares rather than on the physical PC that is hosting Galleon. I have tried UNCs (\\server\sharename) and mapped drives (Z. In neither case do any files show up on Tivo. Both folders show up empty. In the case of the MP3s, there are a large number of them (Is there a limit?)

Are these problems because of a limitation of Galleon or are there steps I can take to correct them? Thanks.

BR



Are there any errors in the log files?
Have you tried to change the user account that the Galleon service is running under to be your own login?

__________________
galleon.tv
javahmo at users.sourceforge.net
javahmo is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-12-2005, 08:51 PM   #3 (Print)
bonnie_raitt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by javahmo
Are there any errors in the log files?
Have you tried to change the user account that the Galleon service is running under to be your own login?



Is this the part you are interested in or do you want the whole thing?

11:34:41,250 WARN [Wrapper-Connection] EhCache - Could not find configuration for net.sf.hibernate.cache.StandardQueryCache. Configuring using the defaultCache settings.
11:34:41,250 INFO [Wrapper-Connection] HibernateUtil - Initialized Hibernate
11:35:06,234 INFO [Wrapper-Connection] ShoutcastStations - Exceeded daily search limit for Shoutcast.com
11:35:07,703 INFO [MediaRefreshThread] MediaRefreshThread - Refreshing media for: \\-war-eagle-\mp3-dad
11:35:12,468 INFO [Wrapper-Connection] AppHost - added factory
11:35:12,468 INFO [Wrapper-Connection] AppHost - added factory
11:35:12,468 INFO [Wrapper-Connection] AppHost - added factory
11:35:12,468 INFO [Wrapper-Connection] AppHost - added factory
11:35:12,468 INFO [Wrapper-Connection] AppHost - added factory
11:35:12,468 INFO [Wrapper-Connection] AppHost - added factory
11:35:12,468 INFO [Wrapper-Connection] AppHost - added factory
11:35:12,468 INFO [Wrapper-Connection] AppHost - MDNS: http://192.168.1.105:7288/ClarksMusic/
11:35:13,375 INFO [MediaRefreshThread] MediaRefreshThread - Refreshing media took 5 seconds
11:35:13,375 INFO [MediaRefreshThread] MediaRefreshThread - Refreshing media for: \\Computer4\mp3\Seans_Music
11:35:14,546 INFO [Wrapper-Connection] AppHost - MDNS: http://192.168.1.105:7288/Movies/
11:35:16,078 INFO [Wrapper-Connection] AppHost - MDNS: http://192.168.1.105:7288/InternetRadio/
11:35:17,593 INFO [Wrapper-Connection] AppHost - MDNS: http://192.168.1.105:7288/Weather/
11:35:19,078 INFO [Wrapper-Connection] AppHost - MDNS: http://192.168.1.105:7288/DadsMusic/
11:35:20,578 INFO [Wrapper-Connection] AppHost - MDNS: http://192.168.1.105:7288/ClarksDesktop/
11:35:22,187 INFO [Wrapper-Connection] AppHost - MDNS: http://192.168.1.105:7288/Photos/
11:35:24,125 INFO [Wrapper-Connection] Server - Changed port to 1100
11:35:25,171 INFO [Wrapper-Connection] Server - Using TiVo Beacon service
11:35:39,359 ERROR [Thread-10] WeatherData - Could not determine FIP

__________________
BR
bonnie_raitt is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-12-2005, 09:07 PM   #4 (Print)
javahmo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,536
Quote:
Originally Posted by bonnie_raitt
Is this the part you are interested in or do you want the whole thing?

11:34:41,250 WARN [Wrapper-Connection] EhCache - Could not find configuration for net.sf.hibernate.cache.StandardQueryCache. Configuring using the defaultCache settings.
11:34:41,250 INFO [Wrapper-Connection] HibernateUtil - Initialized Hibernate
11:35:06,234 INFO [Wrapper-Connection] ShoutcastStations - Exceeded daily search limit for Shoutcast.com
11:35:07,703 INFO [MediaRefreshThread] MediaRefreshThread - Refreshing media for: \\-war-eagle-\mp3-dad
11:35:12,468 INFO [Wrapper-Connection] AppHost - added factory
11:35:12,468 INFO [Wrapper-Connection] AppHost - added factory
11:35:12,468 INFO [Wrapper-Connection] AppHost - added factory
11:35:12,468 INFO [Wrapper-Connection] AppHost - added factory
11:35:12,468 INFO [Wrapper-Connection] AppHost - added factory
11:35:12,468 INFO [Wrapper-Connection] AppHost - added factory
11:35:12,468 INFO [Wrapper-Connection] AppHost - added factory
11:35:12,468 INFO [Wrapper-Connection] AppHost - MDNS: http://192.168.1.105:7288/ClarksMusic/
11:35:13,375 INFO [MediaRefreshThread] MediaRefreshThread - Refreshing media took 5 seconds
11:35:13,375 INFO [MediaRefreshThread] MediaRefreshThread - Refreshing media for: \\Computer4\mp3\Seans_Music
11:35:14,546 INFO [Wrapper-Connection] AppHost - MDNS: http://192.168.1.105:7288/Movies/
11:35:16,078 INFO [Wrapper-Connection] AppHost - MDNS: http://192.168.1.105:7288/InternetRadio/
11:35:17,593 INFO [Wrapper-Connection] AppHost - MDNS: http://192.168.1.105:7288/Weather/
11:35:19,078 INFO [Wrapper-Connection] AppHost - MDNS: http://192.168.1.105:7288/DadsMusic/
11:35:20,578 INFO [Wrapper-Connection] AppHost - MDNS: http://192.168.1.105:7288/ClarksDesktop/
11:35:22,187 INFO [Wrapper-Connection] AppHost - MDNS: http://192.168.1.105:7288/Photos/
11:35:24,125 INFO [Wrapper-Connection] Server - Changed port to 1100
11:35:25,171 INFO [Wrapper-Connection] Server - Using TiVo Beacon service
11:35:39,359 ERROR [Thread-10] WeatherData - Could not determine FIP



Email me all of your Galleon logs.

__________________
galleon.tv
javahmo at users.sourceforge.net
javahmo is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-12-2005, 10:31 PM   #5 (Print)
bonnie_raitt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 57
There on the way

__________________
BR
bonnie_raitt is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-13-2005, 09:31 AM   #6 (Print)
bonnie_raitt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 57
I've tried twice to email them to you but keep getting them returned. Here's the msg

<javahmo@users.sourceforge.net>
Permanent Failure: Other address status
Delivery last attempted at Tue, 13 Dec 2005 14:13:49 -0000

__________________
BR
bonnie_raitt is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-23-2005, 01:53 PM   #7 (Print)
bonnie_raitt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 57
I sent the log files a week or so ago. Any suggestions for getting UNC photos or music to work in Galleon? Thx

__________________
BR
bonnie_raitt is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-26-2005, 02:42 PM   #8 (Print)
pjkerpan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
Try this - let me know if it works.

Sorry I can't post the link (not allowed until I post 5 times).

But...search members for "pjkerpan" and look at my only other post.
pjkerpan is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-28-2005, 08:02 PM   #9 (Print)
bonnie_raitt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjkerpan
Using Galleon 1.9.2 here are a couple things that appeared to make a difference.

1) Change the service to use an account which has network permissions. I use my own login. You do this by Control Panel --> Administrative Tools --> Services

Stop the Galleon Service
Double Click on Galleon Service
"Log On" Tab
This Account radio button
"Browse" button
"Advanced" button on the window that pops up from "Browse"
"Find Now" button

Now you have a list of accounts. Click on the one you think has sufficient permissions.

NOTE: I am pretty sure that the account you use has to have a password. I did not have luck until I added a password to my user account. Prior to that I couldn't get the Galleon service to restart.

2) You apparently can't use the "Browse" function when you put in your network share info.

In the Music App part of the configurator, there is a "Path" entry box with a "...." button which allows you to browse. You can browse to network share "\\otherhost\Music" - HOWEVER - Galleon then translates that to a drive letter path if there is one - so what ends up in the path is something like Z:\Music, which won't work. Instead of using the "..." button to browse type in the path directly into the "Path" text box. Hit apply and you should be OK.

Good luck.


I did try the suggestion about changing the user account. This resulted in a error message when I tried to coonect to the share from my TiVo. However, when I looked at the Galleon logs, I noticed that Galleon was successfully reading the songs in the share. However, it ultimately failed before displaying anything on the TiVo. There were several messages about truncating songs titles.

BTW, I was able to use a user account with no password. However, now that I think of it, I believe that at some point in the past, I made a change to the registry to allow this behaviour. At the moment, I don't remember how I did that.

Thanks for your effort to help

__________________
BR
bonnie_raitt is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-30-2005, 11:16 AM   #10 (Print)
bonnie_raitt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 57
Just to let everyone know that I have Galleon up and running now. It appears that I had two problems.

1. I didn't have the Galleon service running under my account.

2. I had to shutdown Tivo Desktop server. If I had the Tivo server running while trying to access my music files from TiVo, the TiVo server would die. That seemed to stop Galleaon from being able to get to my music. After shutting down the server, all seems to be OK.

Another question, I've tried a couple of times to leave Galleion playing music from my library. After a short period of time (less than an hour), it seems to go back to playing the audio from whatever Tv station TiVo is currently recording. Is this normal behavior or is there something I can do to make it continue to play music indefinately. Thx

__________________
BR
bonnie_raitt is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:29 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index