TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-27-2005, 08:42 AM   #1 (Print)
Greencat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Posts: 153
Turn off Satellite check

I have a hacked dtivo that is used for MRV but is not hooked to the satellite.

Has anyone heard of a way to turn off the satellite checking?

Over night the unit must check to see if the sats are hooked up. Pressing the now playing list will take care of the problem but if someone chooses to check the stats the machine is unusable for a long time.

Thanks
Greencat is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-27-2005, 10:09 AM   #2 (Print)
kramerboy
Jelly Man
 
kramerboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Orrville, OH
Posts: 367
I just press the DirecTV Central Button (a.k.a TiVo Central Button) and can always get out of that screen. You can also just hit standby when you are not using the receiver.
kramerboy is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-27-2005, 10:52 AM   #3 (Print)
Dan Collins
UltraGeek
 
Dan Collins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,107
A DirecTiVo that is not attached to a satellite will CONSTANTLY try to collect guide information from the satellite. Anytime it is sitting on a menu without any remote control or front panel button presses for a while it will flip to the "Gathering information" screen.

To exit that, or any of the "error getting satellite info" screens, simply press the "DirecTV" button at the top of the remote, which will take you to DirecTV Central.

__________________
310 GB DSR-704
250 GB SIR-4040
240 GB SD-DVR80
240 GB DSR-708
80 GB DSR-7000 (Slingbox attached)
(All w/MRV)

Administrator - DBSForums.com
Dan Collins is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-27-2005, 11:36 AM   #4 (Print)
lee espinoza
some guy
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: San Antonio,TX
Posts: 2,442
A DirecTiVo that is not attached to a satellite will CONSTANTLY try to collect guide information from the satellite.

is there anyway to get it not to do that?
lee espinoza is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-27-2005, 04:20 PM   #5 (Print)
Dan Collins
UltraGeek
 
Dan Collins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,107
Yeah, connect it to the satellite dish.

Other than that, no.

__________________
310 GB DSR-704
250 GB SIR-4040
240 GB SD-DVR80
240 GB DSR-708
80 GB DSR-7000 (Slingbox attached)
(All w/MRV)

Administrator - DBSForums.com
Dan Collins is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Underground Playground > TiVo Underground

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:02 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index