TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-23-2005, 11:18 PM   #1 (Print)
silvertivo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
Something Wrong with Home Media (Wordsmith)

Very slow. Takes 5 to 10 minutes to open Wordsmith. I have two Tivos and they both suddenly became slow this evening.
silvertivo is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-23-2005, 11:21 PM   #2 (Print)
doormat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 12
I was about to post about my Tivo being stuck at the "Please Wait" screen whenever I try to access something in HME - from yahoo stuff, live 365, Podcasts, etc. I dont know if its just my tivo as I have just got the update yesterday or if its a widespread problem.
doormat is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-23-2005, 11:26 PM   #3 (Print)
silvertivo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
Same thing here. Not one feature in Home Media works for both of my Tivos. I have done forced Tivo connection/update few minutes ago but that didn't help.
silvertivo is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-24-2005, 01:48 AM   #4 (Print)
onager
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
One of my 2 Tivo's did work on Yahoo and game apps for a few weeks. Doesn't work tonite. Maybe a system problem!?
onager is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-24-2005, 02:10 AM   #5 (Print)
pgomes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 2
Same sorts of problems here:

- Skull & Bones: Works.

- SameGame: Tivo makes it to the menu screen, but doesn't let me play or chose any menu option.

- WordSmith, the Yahoo! trio, Podcaster, etc: Stuck on "Please Wait..."

I've reset the Tivo, and forced a connection, hoping for an update, but no luck.
Apps.tv and Galleon apps are working fine, btw.
This is annoying, specially since the wife and I just got addicted to WordSmith.
Pat

Last edited by pgomes : 12-24-2005 at 03:43 AM.
pgomes is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-24-2005, 02:24 AM   #6 (Print)
AaronFM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1
I'm having the same issues here as well, Yahoo apps, Podcasts, etc. hang on "Please wait..."
AaronFM is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-24-2005, 10:23 AM   #7 (Print)
smithrl
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 89
Having same problem -- Galleon works however

My apps have worked for weeks. Early this morning all the apps quoted above stopped working. Interminable "Waiting" screen. I also rebooted, with no change.

Strangely, Galleon still works fine.
smithrl is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-24-2005, 12:08 PM   #8 (Print)
davezatz
[...]
 
davezatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 2,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by smithrl
Strangely, Galleon still works fine.

Not strangely... this is obviously a problem on TiVo's end, not our personal TiVo boxes or home networks. Galleon runs locally.
davezatz is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-24-2005, 12:17 PM   #9 (Print)
Mark Cariddi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: NH
Posts: 2
Mine stopped working last night around 9:00 pm

My new options stopped working at about 9:00 pm last night....

__________________
Mark
Mark Cariddi is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-24-2005, 12:21 PM   #10 (Print)
markp99
TakoKichi
 
markp99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Nashua, New Hampster
Posts: 3,042
Send a message via AIM to markp99
The Beta apps stopped displaying for me last night at 9pm. Coincided exactly with a glitch in my router/modem. The non-beta apps appeagred and worked just fine. I thought the problem might have been at my end. Glas to see that others are seeing similar issues.

This morning I see the beta apps have re-appeared, but they fail to load as described above.

__________________
TiVo | SERIES2 - 226 hrs (black)
TiVo | SERIES2 - 40 hrs (silver)
markp99 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-24-2005, 12:34 PM   #11 (Print)
Lenonn
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 43
Send a message via ICQ to Lenonn Send a message via AIM to Lenonn
Last night I tried to access the movie listings/tickets. It took about four minutes or so to get the "enter your zip code" to display, and after entering the zip code, it was another four or five minutes of nothing happening. At that point, I couldn't even exit the screen and had to do an emergency manual reboot (i.e. pull the power cord).
Lenonn is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-24-2005, 12:41 PM   #12 (Print)
tivoknucklehead
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 110
all the stuff is still down, it is a server problem
tivoknucklehead is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-24-2005, 01:07 PM   #13 (Print)
dpbl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2
Nicd to know it is not just me

Been using the new apps everyday they were working great. Then yesterday stuck on please wait on both my Tivo’s. I thought it was my problem because I got a new cable modem yesterday. But after checking out my Tivo’s and everything working but the apps I was stumped. Here I am doing IP traces thinking it’s something on my network and I decide to check the forum. Hope they get it working soon my wife is hooked on that word smith game.
dpbl is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-24-2005, 01:09 PM   #14 (Print)
markp99
TakoKichi
 
markp99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Nashua, New Hampster
Posts: 3,042
Send a message via AIM to markp99
Working for me right now

__________________
TiVo | SERIES2 - 226 hrs (black)
TiVo | SERIES2 - 40 hrs (silver)
markp99 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-24-2005, 01:56 PM   #15 (Print)
JidgeMist
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2
None of the apps are working for me, and had been working fine before sometime yesterday. Last night they would just hang on Please wait. This morning none of them had any icons. When I tried to run them they would hang on Please wait for several minutes, then I got a Can't Run screen with this error - An error occurred while running the application. Error reading header.
JidgeMist is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-24-2005, 02:10 PM   #16 (Print)
dolfer
Moops!
 
dolfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Cincinnati, OH, USA
Posts: 173
Same Thing For Me!

The apps stopped working for me on Friday. They have been working perfectly until then... No changes on my end.

No yahoo stuff. No SameGame. etc... Just gets stuck during the loading process.

However, I can access Tivo desktop.

I was hoping it was the service and that's what it looks like with all of these other posts.

__________________
______________________

Thanks,

Dolf
dolf.zone@hotmail.com
http://dolfzone.blogspot.com

“Mommy, what’s a gagortion?”
dolfer is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-24-2005, 02:30 PM   #17 (Print)
brebeans
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 140
HI All:
Same here. I checked here to see how to solve it and it seems none us can do that and that it's a Tivo problem.

Tivo, what's the status? Thanks.

Mine stopped working yesterday and I had just installed some updated anti-virus, so I thought that might have messed things up (although I'm not sure that it could).

Anyone's working yet?
brebeans is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-24-2005, 02:34 PM   #18 (Print)
markp99
TakoKichi
 
markp99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Nashua, New Hampster
Posts: 3,042
Send a message via AIM to markp99
Quote:
Originally Posted by brebeans
Anyone's working yet?

Fully functional for us at 2:30pm Saturday

Just scored 1750 in Samegame. Cleared the board. Woot!

__________________
TiVo | SERIES2 - 226 hrs (black)
TiVo | SERIES2 - 40 hrs (silver)
markp99 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-24-2005, 03:00 PM   #19 (Print)
tfratzke
Disgustipated
 
tfratzke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 66
Same problem here...All 3 of mine deathly slow. None of the Yahoo apps work, and my Galleon works but is is very slow to respond initially. Rebooted with no fix.

__________________
Tony
tfratzke is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-24-2005, 03:35 PM   #20 (Print)
JidgeMist
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2
YAY! -- working now, although a little sluggish.
JidgeMist is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-24-2005, 04:03 PM   #21 (Print)
pgomes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 2
All working now. Seems even faster than before the crash. Tivo had to get somebody in there on Dec.24 to troubleshoot this, so geeks could play their beta games over the weekend. Heh.

Yeay, Tivo!
pgomes is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-26-2005, 06:34 PM   #22 (Print)
larrybradshaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 24
I only have icons next to Browse Movies.

I can get into Yahoo Pictures, Weather, and Movies, but nothing else. I get the following
"An error occured while running the application. HTTP failure (Http connection error: 0x50005.)

Galleon works fine.
larrybradshaw is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-26-2005, 07:13 PM   #23 (Print)
Jakefrediani
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 10
it was a server prob but everything is co now
Jakefrediani is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo® is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index