TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-29-2005, 10:01 PM   #1 (Print)
lookout321
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
Help Please...CD-Rom won't mount!??!

This seems strange...my tivo drive on secondary master, new drive secondary slave, CD-rom primary master...weeknees boot cd in cd-rom...computer boots with cd-rom...says to press enter to load linux...all drives get analyzed correctly, but then it tries 5 times to mount cd-rom but fails...and then I can't enter the mfsbackup command...

Any help?????

Thanks...Matt
lookout321 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-29-2005, 11:00 PM   #2 (Print)
funtoupgrade
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 911
You need to be mounting a third hard drive with an FAT32 partition onto which you will make your backup image. The CD Rom drive nor either of the Tivo drives will mount.

__________________
funtoupgrade

TiVo 240060 with 200GB Seagate (wireless)
Humax DRT800 with 160GB Seagate (wired)

Anywhere from 0-10 misc. standalones waiting for upgrades for resale on eBay.
funtoupgrade is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-29-2005, 11:12 PM   #3 (Print)
HomeUser
Registered User
 
HomeUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: A2 Michigan
Posts: 529
Try booting with-out any hard drive if it still does not boot then you have Either a bad burn or a problem with the CD Drive.
HomeUser is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-30-2005, 11:29 AM   #4 (Print)
BobCamp1
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 207
I'd also try moving the CD-ROM out from primary master (hda). Some PCs don't like that, and the MFSTools CD sometimes doesn't like that either.
BobCamp1 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-30-2005, 11:46 AM   #5 (Print)
lookout321
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
Well, never had success using the Weaknees CD, couldn't get the CD-rom to mount...so I burned a CD of the PTVUpgrade with MFStools....CD loaded fine, CD-Rom auto-mounted... then I used the command

mfsbackup -f 9999 -so - /dev/hd* | mfsrestore -s 160 -r - 4 -xzpi - /dev/hd#

Took about 15 minutes, inceased recording time to >320 hrs, installed in TiVo, and machine would not boot up past "Just a few minutes more" screen.

Redid the process using mfsbackup -f 9999 -so - /dev/hd* | mfsrestore -s 127 -r - 4 -xzpi - /dev/hd# (just changed the 160 down to the 127 i have seen previously). Backup to new hard drive went fine, and this time the TiVo booted up correctly and has been working great since last night... 40 gb --> 320 gb !!

I hope changing the 160 to 127 won't cause a problem in the long run though...

Matt
lookout321 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Underground Playground > TiVo Upgrade Center

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:53 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index