TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-01-2004, 07:21 PM   #1 (Print)
a319driver
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 20
Rca Dvr40

What is the simplest, easiest storage capacity upgrade for RCA DVR40? Add or replace? What size/rpm/buffer, etc? Thanks in advance

Brian
a319driver is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 07-01-2004, 07:25 PM   #2 (Print)
stevel
Dumb Blond
 
stevel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 11,339
Same as for any other TiVo, really. RPM and buffer size doesn't matter. 137GB is the largest usable capacity (larger disks will be treated as 137GB).

__________________
Steve
stevel is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 07-01-2004, 07:29 PM   #3 (Print)
a319driver
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 20
I remember everyone saying that the 5400 rpm would run cooler? That still matter? Should I add an 80 GB to my 40 or just put in a 120GB. either one any easier?
a319driver is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 07-01-2004, 07:56 PM   #4 (Print)
stevel
Dumb Blond
 
stevel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 11,339
Some people say that, and it's probably true. Doesn't matter much, really.

If you add a second disk, you have to buy a bracket. If you replace, you don't. I would replace with a 160 - that's what I did. You can always add a second disk later.

__________________
Steve
stevel is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 07-01-2004, 08:02 PM   #5 (Print)
a319driver
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 20
I assume that Sleeper's ISO is the way to go and that w/ a 160GB, I will be limited to 137GB? Thanks for your help!!!

Brian
a319driver is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 07-02-2004, 08:09 AM   #6 (Print)
stevel
Dumb Blond
 
stevel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 11,339
Well, that's the way I went...

You could install the LBA48 kernel to use the full 160GB - I didn't do that.

__________________
Steve
stevel is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 07-02-2004, 07:10 PM   #7 (Print)
a319driver
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 20
To save my current recordings, would it be easier to just add a second drive...say an 80GB, that I'm going to replace in my PC?? THanks for your help. It's much appreciated.

Brian
a319driver is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 07-10-2004, 11:49 AM   #8 (Print)
a319driver
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 20
Or even better, I bought the new Series2 Toshiba SD-H400 DVD/TiVo w/ 80 hr capacity. 299.99 on sale for 199.99. With rebate, 149.99.
a319driver is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Underground Playground > TiVo Underground

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:29 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index