TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-29-2005, 08:08 PM   #31 (Print)
Crrink
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,643
Quote:
Originally Posted by weathertop
TivoJerry:

I don't think anyone has yet thanked you for your help that you've offered in this thread.

So, on behalf of all of us, thank you for your help, assistance, and your willingness to go the extra mile.


Yep, for TiVoJerry.
I was sad to see TiVoBill go, but it's really great having TiVoJerry here to help out - thanks Jerry and thanks TiVo for allowing him to do this.
You guys really impress me with the amazing level of customer service we forum members have access to. Can't thank you all enough.
(it does make me feel really badly for the people who never find this forum, though )
Crrink is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-29-2005, 08:48 PM   #32 (Print)
TiVoJerry
TiVo CSE & G
 
TiVoJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Alviso, CA
Posts: 393
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crrink
Yep, for TiVoJerry.
I was sad to see TiVoBill go, but it's really great having TiVoJerry here to help out - thanks Jerry and thanks TiVo for allowing him to do this.
You guys really impress me with the amazing level of customer service we forum members have access to. Can't thank you all enough.
(it does make me feel really badly for the people who never find this forum, though )


Thanks for the . I miss Bill, too. But this is actually a bit more fun than I thought it would be. Now.....shhhhhhhhhh. Type quieter. The "other customers" might hear you.

__________________
I am on vacation 4/24 - 5/1. PM will be turned off during that time.

Jerry
TiVo CS Engineer & Grillmeister
TiVo Ninja
TiVoJerry is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-29-2005, 11:40 PM   #33 (Print)
DocNo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 181
Arrow

jimmymac - if you do give it another go, skip the wireless adaptor for initial setup, get a wired USB ethernet (they are cheap) and do the ,#401 dialing prefix trick if the new box doesn't have 7.x loaded on it already. I got a 40 hour from Amazon, and guided setup worked fine - and the download of the new software went much faster than dialup If you get a new one and it has 7.x on it already, you can use your wireless adaptor from the start.

If you do the initial setup with a wired adaptor, you can always switch to a wireless adaptor later. At least it will keep you from having to drive to a friends house all the time. Personally, I won't use wireless with Tivo until they support WPA - WEP is a joke, but to each his own...

And I know about the joys of guided setup - I recently moved and picked the wrong channel lineup on both of my Tivo's

Good luck!
DocNo is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-30-2005, 02:56 AM   #34 (Print)
ZeoTiVo
fantastic four TiVos
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 7,704
Quote:
Originally Posted by DocNo
jimmymac - if you do give it another go, skip the wireless adaptor for initial setup, get a wired USB ethernet (they are cheap) and do the ,#401 dialing prefix trick if the new box doesn't have 7.x loaded on it already. I got a 40 hour from Amazon, and guided setup worked fine - and the download of the new software went much faster than dialup If you get a new one and it has 7.x on it already, you can use your wireless adaptor from the start.
he already tried the ,#401 trick but it did not work for him. It was in one of his early posts in the thread.
Quote:
If you do the initial setup with a wired adaptor, you can always switch to a wireless adaptor later. At least it will keep you from having to drive to a friends house all the time. Personally, I won't use wireless with Tivo until they support WPA - WEP is a joke, but to each his own...
WPA can be now be broken as well. Do not rely solely on wireless encryption to protect your network. Wired gives you much better speed anyway though. TiVo is looking into how they can support WPA though, but no dates, not even a this year given so nothing actually expected at this time
ZeoTiVo is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-30-2005, 10:58 AM   #35 (Print)
rainwater
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 896
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZeoTiVo
WPA can be now be broken as well. Do not rely solely on wireless encryption to protect your network. Wired gives you much better speed anyway though. TiVo is looking into how they can support WPA though, but no dates, not even a this year given so nothing actually expected at this time


WPA can't be broken in your lifetime if you choose a good enough password. As always its subject to brute force attacks, but they will not work well with a good password. You might want to take a look at this page for getting good WPA passwords: https://www.grc.com/pass.
rainwater is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-30-2005, 11:06 AM   #36 (Print)
Nfuego
Finally-My ugly mug
 
Nfuego's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Springfield, Illinois
Posts: 1,406
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmymac
I finally got the rep to cancel the service on the box and I just tossed the box in the trash.


Why in the world didn't you give it to someone here? Or sell it?

Sheez, I would have taken it and tried to put an image on it or something...

Edit: Hope he takes Jerry up on his offer!

__________________
Reve. Tsop. Tseb. -Waldingrl

Last edited by Nfuego : 12-30-2005 at 11:24 AM.
Nfuego is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-30-2005, 02:05 PM   #37 (Print)
jasoncarr
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Carrollton, Tx
Posts: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by jradford
I think "frustrated" is a much more accurate word here.



The two concepts are not mutually exclusive. :-)

I hope ya get it working. Luckily my TiVos have been well-behaved so far.

__________________
30 hr standalone
140hr philips directivo
jasoncarr is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-30-2005, 03:46 PM   #38 (Print)
Billy66
Registered User
 
Billy66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,176
Quote:
Originally Posted by weathertop
TivoJerry:

I don't think anyone has yet thanked you for your help that you've offered in this thread.

So, on behalf of all of us, thank you for your help, assistance, and your willingness to go the extra mile.



I, like everyone else, appreciates Jerry and his work here for sure. To be more accurate though he is willing to go the initial mile, not an extra one. The unprofessional attitude and inaccurate information from the initial CSR is being rectified by Jerry, but as he stated, it never should have happened.

So, thanks Jerry for carrying the load that others in your company dropped and abandoned.
Billy66 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-30-2005, 07:56 PM   #39 (Print)
DocNo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 181
Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZeoTiVo
he already tried the ,#401 trick but it did not work for him. It was in one of his early posts in the thread.


d'oh - missed that reference - I only registered the references to wireless... definitely sounds like there was a problem with the USB port

Quote:
WPA can be now be broken as well.


Anything can be broken with enough effort and time.

Others beat me to it, but you can make it practically impossible to beat a WPA network with a sufficiently long pass phrase.

Quote:
Do not rely solely on wireless encryption to protect your network. Wired gives you much better speed anyway though.


That's a silly attitude to take - everything in life has risks, and the risks of using WPA are pretty negligible in real life. WEP on the other hand...

As for speed, I know your not talking about speed in relationship to Tivo since it can't even saturate a 10 Mb link, let alone 54 Mb of 802.11g

Quote:
TiVo is looking into how they can support WPA though, but no dates, not even a this year given so nothing actually expected at this time


It would be nice if they did, but doesn't matter to me. My Airport Express works just fine, and I can play songs I have purchased via iTunes through my stereo as well. Plus, the AE supports WDS - so my wireless network extends seamlessly from my basement to my second story - win-win. Eventually I will hardwire all my rooms and only use wireless for my laptops - just because I want to, but certainly not because I need to. For now I can't beat the ease of setup and convenience of wireless.
DocNo is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:40 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index