TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-30-2005, 07:16 PM   #1 (Print)
pjdoogie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 62
Lost D*

I have lost service on all my D* channels except locals and OTA; on all units (1 HD & 3 SD). Message says "searching for signal". Because I am still getting the SD locals on the satellite but nothing else, what might that suggest?

Thanks for any ideas...
pjdoogie is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-30-2005, 07:32 PM   #2 (Print)
maharg18
Registered User
 
maharg18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 3,077
More than likely your locals come down from a satellite slot other than 101, that's why you are still getting them. It sounds like either a bad multiswitch or bad LNB on the dish.

__________________
-Maharg18

HR10-250 HD Directivo
DSR704 SD Directivo
maharg18 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-30-2005, 07:38 PM   #3 (Print)
JimSpence
Finally own HR10-250
 
JimSpence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Binghamton, NY
Posts: 19,904
Tune to channels 490-494 to verify reception on the three sats.

You could also check signal strengths on all sats and all transponders.

Oh yeah, what dish do you have?

__________________
Jim
May all terrorists drop dead!
JimSpence is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-30-2005, 08:05 PM   #4 (Print)
qposner
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 181
I have been having the same problem lately. I have been with DTV for 3 years with no problem. Now, this is occuring on my 10-260 and HDVR2. Have you figured anything else out? I am in the Portland, OR market.

Also, what should 490-494 say? I don't understand what the banner is telling me. Thanks!
qposner is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-30-2005, 08:07 PM   #5 (Print)
pjdoogie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 62
I have the triple lnb; we are getting a little snow, and I've NEVER lost service during any snow event (Chicago). Now I have lost ALL channels on all units.

I reset the HR10-250 in an attempt to regain service, and now cannot get out of the loop trying to get a signal; that means that I can't get to my OTA anymore.

Any advise?
pjdoogie is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-30-2005, 09:43 PM   #6 (Print)
pjdoogie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 62
Well, I learn something new everyday! After calling D* tech support, they speculated that I have a bad multiswitch, adn setup a "no charge" service call (because I am a "long time" subscriber and they "would not want to lose me") for 1/5/06. That would mean missing all the bowl games and THAT IS UNACCEPTABLE!

So I went outside with my trusty ladder and a broom and flashlight for a closer visual inspection of the dish. To my total surprise, a small amount of wet snow had built up on the lower edge, and by brushing it off I GOT MY SERVICE BACK!!! I have never had snow build up before in all my years of D* service in Chicago winters, but there is always a first.

And now, I get my service back just in time to tune into a total blowout snoozer on ESPN.

HAPPY NEW YEAR TO ALL!
pjdoogie is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-30-2005, 09:57 PM   #7 (Print)
bdlucas
Axiomatic
 
bdlucas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Westchester Co., NY
Posts: 1,437
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjdoogie
To my total surprise, a small amount of wet snow had built up on the lower edge, and by brushing it off I GOT MY SERVICE BACK!!!

Congratulations and Happy New Year to you.

If a small amount of snow zapped your reception, you might want to check your signal levels when the snow stops. In my experience, with good signal levels it takes more than a small amount of snow on the edge of the dish to cause problems. You might find less than stellar signal strengths that could be improved, e.g. by re-aiming the dish.
bdlucas is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-30-2005, 10:44 PM   #8 (Print)
vader14
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: South Elgin, IL
Posts: 10
I also live in the chicago area and my wife states we lost the signal. It was a wet heavy snow which I'll have to go out and make sure it is not on the dish when I get home.
vader14 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Main TiVo Forums > HDTV TiVo Powered PVRs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index