TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-11-2005, 03:25 PM   #1 (Print)
gadgetgaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Billingley, S Yorks
Posts: 51
user interface slow to respond since....

...installing cachecard and tivoweb.

The commands from the remote are not acted upon and I have to press the buttons several times. I don't think it is anything to do with the remote itself because I have put in new batteries and tried another tivo remote and a universal one.

Is there a know issue with third party tivo programs slowing down tivo's processor that much?
gadgetgaz is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-11-2005, 03:34 PM   #2 (Print)
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
sanderton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 5,979
Absolutely not. TiVoweb has no discernable effect when not actually downloading a page to you, and the cachecard speeds things up.

What else did you install?

__________________
Stuart

Author of EndPad, DailyMail and others now run by other generous souls. Setup: MCE hub feeds 3 x 360s from 2 x DVB-T tuners and 1 x Sky via TiVo+eTivo. Sky+HD coming 22/5.
sanderton is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-11-2005, 03:38 PM   #3 (Print)
blindlemon
tivoheaven.co.uk
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Malmesbury, UK
Posts: 3,200
Have you added RAM to the cachecard?

__________________
6023, Lifetime, 240gb (Samsung) Sky, CacheCard, Mode 0, 100+ SPs/AWLs
6022, Lifetime, 160gb (Seagate), Freeview, Turbonet, Mode 0, 90+ SPs/AWLs
601E, Lifetime, ... my 'test' machine!
blindlemon is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-11-2005, 06:29 PM   #4 (Print)
gadgetgaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Billingley, S Yorks
Posts: 51
I'm slightly embarrassed about this guys. Sorry to waste your time but I think I've discovered the problem.
I believe the problem is with my video sender. I think it is sending spurious IR signals that are 'blinding' the TiVo's receiver. I need to do some more testing but the problem (which was intermittent anyway) goes away when I switch off the video sender. When I view the video sender's IR transmitter through a digicam I can see that it is sending IR without me pressing any buttons anywhere.
The problem has arisen since I added the cachecard because I have moved some things around when I opened up the TiVo
gadgetgaz is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-11-2005, 06:33 PM   #5 (Print)
cwaring
Registered User
 
cwaring's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 3,921
Send a message via MSN to cwaring
Bah! I was going to suggest that myself. I might have actually sounded like I knew what I was talking about for once

__________________
Carl Waring

Telewest Active Digital with Pace 2000 STB
Now with added Tivoweb!
Tivo TV Ads & PDF Manuals
cwaring is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-12-2005, 05:04 AM   #6 (Print)
Ian_m
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Southampton, England
Posts: 748
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgetgaz
I'm slightly embarrassed about this guys. Sorry to waste your time but I think I've discovered the problem.
I believe the problem is with my video sender. I think it is sending spurious IR signals that are 'blinding' the TiVo's receiver. I need to do some more testing but the problem (which was intermittent anyway) goes away when I switch off the video sender. When I view the video sender's IR transmitter through a digicam I can see that it is sending IR without me pressing any buttons anywhere.
The problem has arisen since I added the cachecard because I have moved some things around when I opened up the TiVo


If its like mine, its the ethernet cable (and/or router etc) interfering with the video sender. I have spent ages with ferrite cores looped on my video sender cables (and a screened ethernet lead) before my video sender behaved itself.

Search this forum for "ferrite" to see my (and others) messing around with video senders and ferrites.

Currently I have the power lead for the video sender blutac'ed to the wall keeping it away from all other equipment as I think its this lead that picks up the interence causing "IR dribble". One day I will change the power lead to a screened lead an see if it makes any difference.
Ian_m is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-12-2005, 05:17 AM   #7 (Print)
TheBear
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Cornwall
Posts: 332
That may explain some of the minor issues I have been having.

I'm in town today, does anyone know anywhere on the high street that sells ferrite cores?
TheBear is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-12-2005, 07:04 AM   #8 (Print)
Ian_m
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Southampton, England
Posts: 748
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheBear
I'm in town today, does anyone know anywhere on the high street that sells ferrite cores?


Maplin ?
Ian_m is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-12-2005, 07:19 AM   #9 (Print)
blindlemon
tivoheaven.co.uk
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Malmesbury, UK
Posts: 3,200
Dixons?

(well, you might have fun explaining what they are!)

__________________
6023, Lifetime, 240gb (Samsung) Sky, CacheCard, Mode 0, 100+ SPs/AWLs
6022, Lifetime, 160gb (Seagate), Freeview, Turbonet, Mode 0, 90+ SPs/AWLs
601E, Lifetime, ... my 'test' machine!
blindlemon is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-12-2005, 07:25 AM   #10 (Print)
healeydave
tivoland.com
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Worcester
Posts: 538
go into Dixons and ask for a ferrite and they'll probably send you to a pet shop :-)

__________________
Keeping the dream alive.
healeydave is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo UK

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:33 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index