TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-08-2005, 05:49 PM   #1 (Print)
brossow
LS1C10.com
 
brossow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Mankato, MN
Posts: 71
Send a message via AIM to brossow
Question Is this possible?

In a separate thread I've detailed my trials and tribulations in trying to take my Series2 from an 80GBx2 setup to a 250GBx2 setup. Currently I've succeeded in combining the two 80GB drives onto a single 250GB drive, which the TiVo sees only as 160GB but which otherwise is functioning flawlessly AFAIK. Because there are already too many partitions from the original upgrade, I cannot upgrade further by expanding the single drive or adding a second drive. My ultimate goal is to put a pair of 250GB drives in the TiVo without losing any programming.

I have tried repeatedly to follow the Hinsdale guide using 'dd' to copy the old drives onto new drives but get IO errors with the original 80GB drive and the copy ultimately does not work, despite my success backing it and its mate up to the 250GB drive currently in the TiVo. mfsbackup also fails with errors described in the other thread when trying to go drive-to-drive, although it worked when going two-drives-to-one by eliminating the 'x' flag (which led to the missing 90GB of storage issue.)

I have three 250GB drives at my dispoal: the one currently in the TiVo (we'll call it Drive A) and another matched pair of 250GB drives (which we'll call Drives B & C.) My question is this:

Is it possible to create a backup of Drive A that includes all of my current recordings on one of the other drives, then copy that backup right back onto Drive A and thus resolve the excessive partition situation? I could then add a second drive as normal. If so, how should this be done? My brain is scattered from reading all of the stuff in the Hinsdale guide and I can't sort it all out right now.

Thanks in advance for any advice!

__________________
Series2 - 80hr upgraded to 175hr - lifetime
Series2 - 80hr upgraded to 340hr - lifetime
brossow is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-08-2005, 05:53 PM   #2 (Print)
xnevergiveinx
Registered User
 
xnevergiveinx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 486
see my thread on fixing the 160 gig size if you need the help:
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-v...ad.php?t=274282

other than that, i'm a total newbie when it comes to hard drive stuff

__________________
series 2 tcd2400800 250 gigs 285 hours multi box discount
series 2 tcd5400400 300 gigs 339 hours with lifetime
unsubbed series 1 HDR 212 199 hours
i only use seagate drives. bye bye lifetime!
xnevergiveinx is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-08-2005, 06:00 PM   #3 (Print)
brossow
LS1C10.com
 
brossow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Mankato, MN
Posts: 71
Send a message via AIM to brossow
Quote:
Originally Posted by xnevergiveinx
see my thread on fixing the 160 gig size if you need the help:
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-v...ad.php?t=274282

other than that, i'm a total newbie when it comes to hard drive stuff


That thread really doesn't address my issue, but I appreciate the input anyway.

FWIW, I used the PTVupgrade LBA48 CD to do this work. Ultimately I think the problem with the missing space goes back to the fact that the only way I could get the two drives to copy onto the single larger drive without an error was by eliminating the 'x' flag, which is what I believe e'x'pands the space available. As it is, I think there's a 90GB partition hanging out there on that drive, unused.

__________________
Series2 - 80hr upgraded to 175hr - lifetime
Series2 - 80hr upgraded to 340hr - lifetime
brossow is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-10-2005, 04:09 PM   #4 (Print)
brossow
LS1C10.com
 
brossow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Mankato, MN
Posts: 71
Send a message via AIM to brossow
Anyone? I'd really like to do this this weekend while I have some free time if at all possible....

__________________
Series2 - 80hr upgraded to 175hr - lifetime
Series2 - 80hr upgraded to 340hr - lifetime
brossow is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-10-2005, 06:37 PM   #5 (Print)
classicsat
Astute User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ontario Canada.
Posts: 7,949
IMO, take that free time to watch or archive a heck of a lot of TV, then start from scratch.

__________________
TCD240080, 160 GB HDD.
FC3 Linux box running Galleon.
TiVo desktop on XP machine.
classicsat is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-10-2005, 07:16 PM   #6 (Print)
brossow
LS1C10.com
 
brossow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Mankato, MN
Posts: 71
Send a message via AIM to brossow
I have 160+ hours of programming on this drive. I could watch TV 24/7 for almost a week and not be caught up. Ditto for transferring everything to the other TiVo, which would take at least as long if not longer. And since TiVo has completely ignored us Mac users, moving it to my computer isn't an option either.

__________________
Series2 - 80hr upgraded to 175hr - lifetime
Series2 - 80hr upgraded to 340hr - lifetime
brossow is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-11-2005, 10:45 AM   #7 (Print)
classicsat
Astute User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ontario Canada.
Posts: 7,949
If you have Mac, I believe you can still build an archive and feed it back with Galleon, just not play or process it.

__________________
TCD240080, 160 GB HDD.
FC3 Linux box running Galleon.
TiVo desktop on XP machine.
classicsat is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-11-2005, 04:37 PM   #8 (Print)
brossow
LS1C10.com
 
brossow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Mankato, MN
Posts: 71
Send a message via AIM to brossow
Quote:
Originally Posted by classicsat
If you have Mac, I believe you can still build an archive and feed it back with Galleon, just not play or process it.


I'll have to check that out. Hadn't heard of it before but it looks promising, if cumbersome and slow even on my fast Mac. Thanks!

__________________
Series2 - 80hr upgraded to 175hr - lifetime
Series2 - 80hr upgraded to 340hr - lifetime
brossow is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Underground Playground > TiVo Upgrade Center

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index