TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-17-2005, 02:31 PM   #1 (Print)
PhatheadWRX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 29
Need Help: Upgraded HD died. Want to replace with one HD

Ok so I assume a power failure last night fried my Maxtor 6Y120L0 that I had added to my Series 2 TCD24004A that I upgraded about two years ago.

I still have my old MSFTool 2.0, but I believe I need a new disk with LBA48 since I want to use 1 250 GB drive (Maxtor MaXLine Plus II 7Y250P0). I have all the latest upgrades on my TiVo (7.2) so I should be alright for the LBA48, correct?

Now here are my questions since I have been out of the loop for a while:

Should I get one of these newer disks like InstantCake? Should I just get Weakness' iso with MSFTool and LBA48?

Can anyone get me a link to the commands I would need in MSFTools (should I just use the weakness upgrade wizard?) I'm not too worried about losing info, and I also really do not see the point of a backup. I have a backup of my original 40GB, but the software version on it is 2 years old, so I think it is useless.

Please help me out guys, I'm going to go crazy without my tivo. Any suggestions on the HD and how to upgrade, thanks!!!!

__________________
190 Hour Series 2 TiVo
HTXBox (Home Theater)
PhatheadWRX is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-17-2005, 02:50 PM   #2 (Print)
litzdog911
TechKnow Guide
 
litzdog911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mill Creek, Washington
Posts: 7,860
Send a message via AIM to litzdog911
It's your choice ....
The step-by-step instructions in Weaknee's thread at the top of this forum are about as simple as you'll find, other than buying a pre-imaged drive or using PTVUpgrade's InstantCake software.

__________________
Sony SAT-T60 120GB (v3.1.0c2)
HR10-250 HiDef 250GB (v3.1.5f)
R10 80GB (v6.1-01)
Sony SAT-A4, B4 Receivers
Sony KV-40XBR800 HDTV
litzdog911 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-17-2005, 02:54 PM   #3 (Print)
PhatheadWRX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 29
Well can I use MSFTools if I do not have the 120 GB "original" just the 40 GB? I thought when I first did the upgrade it made both drives together (so I would need both again to re-upgrade).

In another thread someone was talking about a free version of InstantCake, is there such an animal? I think InstantCake would be really easy, as it seems that you do not even use the original drive. But does InstantCake have LBA48 supprt?

__________________
190 Hour Series 2 TiVo
HTXBox (Home Theater)
PhatheadWRX is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-17-2005, 03:11 PM   #4 (Print)
HomeUser
Registered User
 
HomeUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: A2 Michigan
Posts: 529
You stated the the hard drive is dead that is where the updates would be saved.
Is your backup is before the series 2 received the LBA48 kernel? If it is then you need to restore without expanding make a few connections to TiVo get the new kernel then expand to fill the drive.

You need both drives working. you can use MFSTools to restore from the backup.
HomeUser is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-17-2005, 03:18 PM   #5 (Print)
PhatheadWRX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 29
Yeah that is what I thought. My backup was from when I did the original upgrade Dec-Jan 03 so no 7.2

The 120 GB drive is completely dead, so I have no idea how to get it to hook up.

Would InstantCake work with to install the new 250 GB drive? (it does not seem that it has LBA48)

Or will I need to put the old backup on the working tivo original 40GB, put it in the Tivo, update, then add the new HD?

__________________
190 Hour Series 2 TiVo
HTXBox (Home Theater)
PhatheadWRX is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-17-2005, 03:23 PM   #6 (Print)
PhatheadWRX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 29
Just as a clarification...

If I get InstantCake and load: TiVo TCD240040. TCD24004A, TCD240080, TCD24008A, TCD240140 [7.1b-01-2-240]

then I will have LBA48 and my 250 GB will work?

__________________
190 Hour Series 2 TiVo
HTXBox (Home Theater)
PhatheadWRX is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-17-2005, 03:50 PM   #7 (Print)
HomeUser
Registered User
 
HomeUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: A2 Michigan
Posts: 529
Instantcake is menu driven and is probably well worth the $20 especially if it supports the Large HD's. I have never used Instant Cake no Idea what version of TiVo software comes on it.

You can download the LBA48 CD with MFStools then Restore from your backup, Update then Expand.

Now your 120G drive does it spin-up at all in the PC?
HomeUser is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-17-2005, 05:30 PM   #8 (Print)
Dkerr24
Lost in Grand Canyon
 
Dkerr24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Okla, USA
Posts: 1,121
once you get it up and running, invest $30 on a UPS to keep it from rebooting during a power outage.

__________________
265 hour (Samsung 300gb) Samsung S4040R
107 hour (Maxtor 120gb) RCA DVR40
Dkerr24 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-17-2005, 08:20 PM   #9 (Print)
PhatheadWRX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 29
The 120 seems like it will spin up, but it gets very hot very fast. Also already ran Maxtor diag on it and got a failure error.

I think I'll just be sure to get the InstantCake with 7.1 for 24004A (LBA48)

Good point Dkerr, I have a 350W APS backup that I was going to move to the TiVo when I got my new RPTV (help save the lamp), but looks like I'll go ahead and get a 500W for my PC and move the 350 after I get the new HD.

Just sucks cause I'm not going to be able to TiVo Nip/Tuck season finale, but I have a friend recording, and I guess I'll just have to watch live.

__________________
190 Hour Series 2 TiVo
HTXBox (Home Theater)
PhatheadWRX is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-17-2005, 10:27 PM   #10 (Print)
HomeUser
Registered User
 
HomeUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: A2 Michigan
Posts: 529
Last spring I managed to do a backup and restore from an overheating Maxtor 250 by using a drive cooler fan. Do you recall what the diagnostic failure error was and did the error occur immediately?
HomeUser is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-18-2005, 08:02 AM   #11 (Print)
PhatheadWRX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 29
failure was dea7e179. I contacted Maxtor but they would not give me info on the code.

I have a TwinBreeze (with fan), so I do not know if it is a normal overheat issue. It is just that the drive heats up very quickly once it recieves power.

Anyone here familiar with InstantCake TCD240XXX [7.1b]? I assume it will work. It was either buy that or TCD24004A [4.1] (no LBA48). I don't understand why they would offer 2 versions if 7.1 is superior?

__________________
190 Hour Series 2 TiVo
HTXBox (Home Theater)
PhatheadWRX is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-18-2005, 08:31 PM   #12 (Print)
PhatheadWRX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 29
bump for any info if someone has used InstantCake TCD240XXX [7.1b]

__________________
190 Hour Series 2 TiVo
HTXBox (Home Theater)
PhatheadWRX is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Underground Playground > TiVo Upgrade Center

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:52 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index