TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-17-2005, 10:55 PM   #1 (Print)
D Killeen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 89
Send a message via ICQ to D Killeen
A different "Do I need a phone line" question.

My newR10 is having problems. Before the warranty runs out, I called DTV, and they're sending out a new one. BUT, it could be either an R10, or R15. They won't tell me which it will be. From the posts here (thanks Ebonovic) I won't be disappointed with the R15 if that's what they send.

My question is about the R10 (apparently the R15 doesn't need a phone line at all). I know that you have to have a phone line when you set it up. My problem is that I do not have any long distance service at my house. During setup, the 10 will call an 800 number to get local numbers. None will work for me, I don't have a local number. What I do is call DTV, and tell them. Within a couple of days Tivo authorizes the use of an 800 number for daily calls. Problem is that to get the 800 number on the R10 you HAVE to make 1 long distance call. This call authorizes the use of the 800 number. As I said above, I cannot make long distance calls. To make the first R10 work, I went to the phone company and signed up for a long distance carrier. I let the R10 make it's one long distance call, and then I went back to the phone company and cancelled the long distance service again. I really don't want to have to jump through all those hoops again. What I want to do is to set up the R10 to use the closest number, get it all set up and then just pull the phone cord from it. Now it can't make calls. After 3-4 days, I'd like to take it into my office and hook up the phone line so it can make it's one call to get the daily call 800 number. I have a TV there to hook it up to so I can see the prompts. But I have no satellite inputs.

Will the R10 allow me to do that? Will it boot and make a call with no satellite inputs connected?

Thanks

__________________
+++++++++
David Killeen
Waskom, TX
ICQ 4045675
+++++++++
D Killeen is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 11-18-2005, 10:38 AM   #2 (Print)
classicsat
Astute User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ontario Canada.
Posts: 7,949
Yes, you can make the phone call without satellite connections.

__________________
TCD240080, 160 GB HDD.
FC3 Linux box running Galleon.
TiVo desktop on XP machine.
classicsat is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 11-18-2005, 04:35 PM   #3 (Print)
Tburt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 84
Send a message via AIM to Tburt
Make sure your office line is not a PBX (digital line) as it will fry your Tivo modem. Digital lines have a higher voltage, and while some normal modems protect themselves from PBX lines voltage I doubt the Tivos' modems do. Tivo modems seem pretty low cost.

__________________
-Tim
Samsung S4040R v6.2
DTV R10 v6.1
Tburt is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 11-18-2005, 09:12 PM   #4 (Print)
D Killeen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 89
Send a message via ICQ to D Killeen
Thanks for the information. And you're right about the phones being digital. But the fax line should be ok!

David

__________________
+++++++++
David Killeen
Waskom, TX
ICQ 4045675
+++++++++
D Killeen is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Main TiVo Forums > DIRECTV Receiver with TiVo

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:14 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index