TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-28-2005, 04:37 PM   #1 (Print)
kkollins
TivoGeek
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 24
Send a message via AIM to kkollins
Help!! No signal

Pretty much have 90+ signal strength on all sat's and transponders....except....Sat 110 transponder 12 has no signal. Just happened a week ago...my HDTIVO is only about 5 months old...I have the phase III dish.

Of course that has to be ESPNHD which the bowl games I want to watch are on...so I need to get this fixed ASAP. Any thoughts on what the most likely cause is....or do I just need to start at the receiver and work my way back eliminating bad connections, cables, multiswitch and finally LNB?
kkollins is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-28-2005, 04:53 PM   #2 (Print)
JimSpence
Finally own HR10-250
 
JimSpence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Binghamton, NY
Posts: 19,904
What signal strengths do you get for the other two TPs on 110? Are there any problems with the TPs on 119? Does it happen on both tuners of the HDTiVo? Does the problem stay with the same tuner when you swap cables? Do you have another multiswitch connected? Try using different outputs from it. And as you suggested, check connections a cables.

__________________
Jim
May all terrorists drop dead!
JimSpence is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-28-2005, 10:41 PM   #3 (Print)
kkollins
TivoGeek
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 24
Send a message via AIM to kkollins
upper 50's for other two transponders on 110.
No signal on transponders 23 and 31 on the 119.
It happens on both tuners.
Tried swapping outputs on the multiswitch same problem.
Checked all cableing and connectors inside the house, have not touched anything at the dish end.

Does this point to a bad LNB?

Last edited by kkollins : 12-29-2005 at 02:11 PM.
kkollins is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-29-2005, 06:56 PM   #4 (Print)
JimSpence
Finally own HR10-250
 
JimSpence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Binghamton, NY
Posts: 19,904
Tps 23 and 31 are spot beams on 119. Normal for those to be 0, since you probably aren;t under the beam.

Well, it seems that the LNB has failed. TPs 8 and 10 on 110 should be higher than 50s.

__________________
Jim
May all terrorists drop dead!
JimSpence is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-30-2005, 09:54 AM   #5 (Print)
Sparky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Mateo, CA USA
Posts: 141
Could it be that being in the Windy City the dish moved?

__________________
1 Hughes DTiVo HR10-250 @ 30HD & 200SD Hours
--ˇˇˇ ˇˇˇ-- -ˇˇ ˇ -ˇ- -ˇˇˇˇ ˇ-ˇ -ˇˇ -ˇ-
Sparky is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Main TiVo Forums > HDTV TiVo Powered PVRs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index