TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-20-2005, 02:44 PM   #1 (Print)
Glen
Happy TiVoer!
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: South Coast, UK
Posts: 39
Gui

Hi TiVo, I suggest that you upgrade the GUI on our PVR10UK's to look like the ones in the usa! At least that way we feel like we are getting an update of somesort and it would make a nice change aswell, as the current one is the same as the one Sky Digital had on their EPG when Sky Digital was first released years and years ago here in the UK! What we wouldn't give for even a basic series 2 TiVo!


PS Don't forget the UK market, as we are still here and are benefitting from ZERO updates at all! BRING TIVO BACK TO THE UK!

Thanks!
Glen is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-21-2005, 03:34 PM   #2 (Print)
megazone
Hardcore TiVo Geek
 
megazone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: .worcester.ma.us
Posts: 1,134
Send a message via ICQ to megazone Send a message via AIM to megazone Send a message via Yahoo to megazone
TiVo has said, repeatedly, that international expansion, including Europe, is important to them. But it takes resources and time, so there is no way to know when they'll enter each region. They've just started expanding into Asia, with the launch in Taiwan.

__________________
-MegaZone,
Personal Homepage - TiVo Lovers Community - TiVo Resource List - TiVo RFE List
Pioneer DVR-810H-S / Toshiba RS-TX20
megazone is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-21-2005, 05:38 PM   #3 (Print)
Glen
Happy TiVoer!
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: South Coast, UK
Posts: 39
Hello Mate! Yeah, i'm aware of all that but Taiwan didnt have TiVo's to begin with so they don't know what they are missing! over here in the UK, we do have tivo, but do you know how frustrating it is to see the US TiVo's doing all sorts of fancy stuff, and wishing our Thompson Scenium TiVo's could do that to. We know what we are missing out on! Try and picture what it would be like if TiVo pulled out of the US (although its not gonna happen) and as a result, all updates and Tivo manufacturing was stopped like it is here in the UK, while in another country TiVo was getting better and better and was becoming able to do more and more! Thats what its like here!
Glen is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-21-2005, 06:04 PM   #4 (Print)
Gunnyman
Hamob
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Beautiful Downtown Greenville SC
Posts: 9,368
I've been wondering what prevented Tivo from selling the S2's in the UK.
I think with the expansion into Taiwan, TiVo should indeed roll the S2 into the UK as well.

__________________
Gunny - have I told you that your avatar always makes me smile? Waldingrl
Zipper Wiki
Join us in Vegas!
Gunnyman is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-21-2005, 08:59 PM   #5 (Print)
megazone
Hardcore TiVo Geek
 
megazone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: .worcester.ma.us
Posts: 1,134
Send a message via ICQ to megazone Send a message via AIM to megazone Send a message via Yahoo to megazone
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gunnyman
I've been wondering what prevented Tivo from selling the S2's in the UK.
I think with the expansion into Taiwan, TiVo should indeed roll the S2 into the UK as well.
A local partner basically. The S1s were handled via Thomson. When they pulled out, that's when TiVo stopped selling in the UK. TiVo said at the time, and since, that if a company wanted to take TiVo into the UK again they'd work with them. TiVo themselves just wasn't prepared to handle product localization, manufacturing, distribution, etc, for the UK. For Taiwain the local corporation TGC was formed, in which TiVo holds a minority stake.

__________________
-MegaZone,
Personal Homepage - TiVo Lovers Community - TiVo Resource List - TiVo RFE List
Pioneer DVR-810H-S / Toshiba RS-TX20
megazone is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-22-2005, 08:37 AM   #6 (Print)
Gunnyman
Hamob
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Beautiful Downtown Greenville SC
Posts: 9,368
Thanks
that clears things up for me.

__________________
Gunny - have I told you that your avatar always makes me smile? Waldingrl
Zipper Wiki
Join us in Vegas!
Gunnyman is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-22-2005, 11:38 AM   #7 (Print)
classicsat
Astute User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ontario Canada.
Posts: 7,949
S1 owners (and to a degree DirecTV DVR owners), feel the same way.
S1s won't have there software futher developed, and DirecTV DVRs are basically feature halted at the behest of DirecTV.

__________________
TCD240080, 160 GB HDD.
FC3 Linux box running Galleon.
TiVo desktop on XP machine.
classicsat is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Suggestion Avenue

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:31 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index