TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-30-2005, 12:05 PM   #1 (Print)
kbrendan23
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2
Powering down automatically

I just got a replacement box again from Tivo and it worked for about a day before it started to power down and restart itself automatically (when it did this it got stuck on the powering up screen). When you unplugged it, it would power up correctly but within a few hours it would power down again and gets stuck. The only thing that changed between my initial install and now is I got a service update for programs that overlap by a minute or two. It also makes very weird noises when it does work before it powers down. does anyone know if this is a fixable problem? The only other weird thing is I have it set up on cable without a box, but it keeps sending me message to set up the channel changing function as if I had a box connected to it.

This box is 3 days old (i am not sure it Tivo sent me a refurbished box as my previous one just died).....and its my third Tivo box in 2 months (the last replacement bos I receive also did not work). I have loved tivo for many years, but the recent problem are having me think about moving to the comcast DVR (which I belive is terrible - but my other option is to actually watch live TV!).

Any help would be great - and happy to new year
kbrendan23 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-30-2005, 12:09 PM   #2 (Print)
stevel
Dumb Blond
 
stevel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 11,339
Sorry, but your replacement box is defective. Either that, or you are having power dropouts. I suggest that you buy an inexpensive uninterruptible power supply (UPS) and connect the TiVo to the battery-backed-up outlet on it. These are often available for under $30 and are a good idea in general for TiVos. A model rated at 350VA will be fine.

__________________
Steve
stevel is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:50 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index