TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-29-2005, 02:15 AM   #1 (Print)
prospect60
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 9
Rescued SVR2000 Question

I recently rescued a nonfunctioning Series 1 from Ebay which had a dead hard drive, but everything else seemed to be in good condition. I was able to get an image and the TIVO is up and working again.

When I first booted the drive, the system information listed the correct unit Service Number, but an account status as Active Lifetime. After going through the guided setup/telephone download now the Account Status is listed as Closed. I'm assuming this either means (1) most likely that the image had a lifetime sub and when I connected the Service Number of the Unit corrected itself or (2) the unit has a Lifetime Sub and I need to call TIVO and somehow reactivate the account (couldn't be that lucky, right?).

Any help greatly appreciated.
prospect60 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-29-2005, 09:17 AM   #2 (Print)
funtoupgrade
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 911
Unfortunately your first assumption is correct and not the second one. This why when buying a used TiVo with "lifetime subscription" you need more verification than it shows lifetime on system info screen. If you call Tivo with the serial number they will tell you whether or not the unit has lifetime or not.

__________________
funtoupgrade

TiVo 240060 with 200GB Seagate (wireless)
Humax DRT800 with 160GB Seagate (wired)

Anywhere from 0-10 misc. standalones waiting for upgrades for resale on eBay.
funtoupgrade is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-29-2005, 11:44 AM   #3 (Print)
prospect60
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 9
Thanks for the answer. I didn't figure I could get that lucky, but still it looks like a nice unit for what I paid for it. I mainly wanted to use it for a large volume VCR instead of TIVO anyway so it looks like I ended up with what I started with.
prospect60 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Underground Playground > TiVo Upgrade Center

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:39 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index