TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-29-2005, 11:25 PM   #1 (Print)
yunlin12
Tivoluted User
 
yunlin12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 276
Send a message via AIM to yunlin12 Send a message via Yahoo to yunlin12
6.2 upgrade notice

Just got a notice in the mail from DTV saying 6.2 software upgrade is coming, look out for on-screen message soon.

DIRECTV.COM/DVR62UPGRADE

Hope it's for real this time.

__________________
Hughes HDVR2 DTivo 105Hr
yunlin12 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-30-2005, 01:13 AM   #2 (Print)
jstack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 57
Yup, I did as well.
jstack is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-30-2005, 12:23 PM   #3 (Print)
CrazyFred
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 80
May 16th
CrazyFred is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-30-2005, 04:36 PM   #4 (Print)
CsrLiz344
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 517
Send a message via AIM to CsrLiz344
"Are all DIRECTV DVRs receiving this upgrade?
No. DIRECTV DVR models SONY SAT-T60, PHILIPS DSR6000R, HUGHES GXCEBOT and HR10-250 will not receive the 6.2 software upgrade at this time."

Doesn't say anything about the R-10......interesting

__________________
"God is good ALL the time"!!!
CsrLiz344 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-30-2005, 04:44 PM   #5 (Print)
Elstevo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 47
The R10 @ SW version 6.1, already has all of the features of this upgrade out of the box.
Elstevo is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-30-2005, 06:16 PM   #6 (Print)
jimpilot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 42
Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by jstack
Yup, I did as well.


All in Calf I notice
jimpilot is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-30-2005, 08:13 PM   #7 (Print)
SLOmike
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: SLO, CA
Posts: 655
Quote:
Originally Posted by yunlin12
Just got a notice in the mail from DTV saying 6.2 software upgrade is coming, look out for on-screen message soon.
I got it today.

__________________
SAT-T60 (149 hours)
RCA DVR40 (120 hours) 6.2
Total Choice Plus w/ABC, CBS, FOX and NBC East/West Feeds and with Locals too

Last edited by SLOmike : 05-01-2005 at 05:58 PM.
SLOmike is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-30-2005, 10:53 PM   #8 (Print)
Dkerr24
Lost in Grand Canyon
 
Dkerr24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Okla, USA
Posts: 1,121
nothing in the mail so far for us DTivo customers in Okla.

__________________
265 hour (Samsung 300gb) Samsung S4040R
107 hour (Maxtor 120gb) RCA DVR40
Dkerr24 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-30-2005, 11:10 PM   #9 (Print)
keefer37
Two TiVo Tar Heel
 
keefer37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 2,149
Send a message via AIM to keefer37 Send a message via MSN to keefer37 Send a message via Yahoo to keefer37
Is this update going to be coming via phone or satellite?

__________________
Ryan;

Hughes HDVR2: 177 Hrs.
Hughes HD DVR HR10-250: Stock
keefer37 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-30-2005, 11:14 PM   #10 (Print)
biker
Outlaw
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Atlantic County, NJ
Posts: 989
Satellite.

__________________
Born To be a Wild!
biker is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-30-2005, 11:15 PM   #11 (Print)
keefer37
Two TiVo Tar Heel
 
keefer37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 2,149
Send a message via AIM to keefer37 Send a message via MSN to keefer37 Send a message via Yahoo to keefer37
Excellent. So the fact that my DirecTiVos haven't been able to make a call via Vonage in 200 days isn't a big deal. =-D

__________________
Ryan;

Hughes HDVR2: 177 Hrs.
Hughes HD DVR HR10-250: Stock
keefer37 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-30-2005, 11:17 PM   #12 (Print)
biker
Outlaw
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Atlantic County, NJ
Posts: 989
The phone call will tell it to install it.

__________________
Born To be a Wild!
biker is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-30-2005, 11:29 PM   #13 (Print)
keefer37
Two TiVo Tar Heel
 
keefer37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 2,149
Send a message via AIM to keefer37 Send a message via MSN to keefer37 Send a message via Yahoo to keefer37
Man, then I am SOL. But supposedly, Vonage is testing a firmware upgrade that will help out...

__________________
Ryan;

Hughes HDVR2: 177 Hrs.
Hughes HD DVR HR10-250: Stock
keefer37 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-30-2005, 11:32 PM   #14 (Print)
biker
Outlaw
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Atlantic County, NJ
Posts: 989
Good luck, hope it works out.

__________________
Born To be a Wild!
biker is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-01-2005, 11:32 AM   #15 (Print)
ret2961
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sac, CA
Posts: 93
nothing in Sacramento, CA, though, dammit...
ret2961 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-01-2005, 11:59 AM   #16 (Print)
SCCAMx5
Registered User
 
SCCAMx5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4
Got the notice here in San Diego too...
SCCAMx5 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-01-2005, 01:00 PM   #17 (Print)
jgcraig
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 18
Being new to this forum and seeing how I haven't even gotten my R10 in place and in service, could someone tell me what the difference is in version 6.1 and 6.2?

Thanks

__________________
Grandkids...gotta love 'em ;)
jgcraig is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-01-2005, 01:09 PM   #18 (Print)
CrazyFred
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgcraig
Being new to this forum and seeing how I haven't even gotten my R10 in place and in service, could someone tell me what the difference is in version 6.1 and 6.2?

Thanks



No difference. 6.1 is the version for the R10 while 6.2 is the software version for non-R10's. Both do the same thing.
CrazyFred is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-01-2005, 07:15 PM   #19 (Print)
Billy Bob Boy
Tivo schmivo
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: wherever me feets land
Posts: 931
Quote:
Originally Posted by keefer37
Man, then I am SOL. But supposedly, Vonage is testing a firmware upgrade that will help out...
bring the unit to a friend and have it make the call

__________________
LIVE!! From Omacron Persei 8!!!!
Billy Bob Boy is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-01-2005, 09:10 PM   #20 (Print)
keefer37
Two TiVo Tar Heel
 
keefer37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 2,149
Send a message via AIM to keefer37 Send a message via MSN to keefer37 Send a message via Yahoo to keefer37
Yeah, Billy Bob Boy. That's exactly what I'll do once I confirm they are rolling out the software for sure. Maybe by the time that happens, Vonage will have a fix, though I'm not holding my breath.

__________________
Ryan;

Hughes HDVR2: 177 Hrs.
Hughes HD DVR HR10-250: Stock
keefer37 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-02-2005, 10:47 AM   #21 (Print)
allan
Resident modern nut
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 3,658
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrazyFred
May 16th


Which year?

__________________
My Tivo is too small!

BEEP
allan is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-02-2005, 12:45 PM   #22 (Print)
dcordle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 9
"DIRECTV DVR models SONY SAT-T60, PHILIPS DSR6000R, HUGHES GXCEBOT and HR10-250 will not receive the 6.2 software upgrade at this time."

Anyone know why these units will not get the software upgrade?

Okay.... never mind. I found the answer in another thread. DirecTV is not update software for series 1 boxes. :-(

Last edited by dcordle : 05-02-2005 at 01:01 PM. Reason: Found answer.
dcordle is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-02-2005, 12:59 PM   #23 (Print)
Billy Bob Boy
Tivo schmivo
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: wherever me feets land
Posts: 931
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcordle
"DIRECTV DVR models SONY SAT-T60, PHILIPS DSR6000R, HUGHES GXCEBOT and HR10-250 will not receive the 6.2 software upgrade at this time."

Anyone know why these units will not get the software upgrade?
They are series one and I guess directv feels they are obsolete and they dont want to deal with the older equipment anymore. I guess anyone who has them should be glad they still support using them at all. I doubt if they will ever get any more software upgrades.

__________________
LIVE!! From Omacron Persei 8!!!!
Billy Bob Boy is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-02-2005, 02:56 PM   #24 (Print)
joegarrett
FiOS Fan
 
joegarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Dallas
Posts: 192
I got the notice in Saturdays mail. Texas
joegarrett is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-02-2005, 06:00 PM   #25 (Print)
tompc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 2
Upgrade Notice

Quote:
Originally Posted by joegarrett
I got the notice in Saturdays mail. Texas



Me too, in Dallas.
tompc is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-02-2005, 06:27 PM   #26 (Print)
diggerg56
Stranded in Iowa
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Iowa City, IA "Hawkeye Country"
Posts: 239
Got mine today(the notice, not the upgrade)- Iowa City, IA

__________________
"Heavily medicated for your safety"
diggerg56 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-02-2005, 06:36 PM   #27 (Print)
Billy Bob Boy
Tivo schmivo
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: wherever me feets land
Posts: 931
Quote:
Originally Posted by diggerg56
Got mine today(the notice, not the upgrade)- Iowa City, IA
If I can get it faster they can skip the notice and go directly to the upgrade!

__________________
LIVE!! From Omacron Persei 8!!!!
Billy Bob Boy is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-02-2005, 07:05 PM   #28 (Print)
jtown0620
TIVO MEMBER FOR LIFE
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: FLORIDA
Posts: 70
My notice said "Hey moron forcing those manual calls won't get it here any faster!" Then I wept!

__________________
I had a dream! I had an AWESOME dream! That all TiVos were created equal!

Then I woke up and I still didn’t have HMO!

HDVR2
DVR80
jtown0620 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-02-2005, 07:57 PM   #29 (Print)
davemayo
Go Hoos!
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 18
Got the notice in Cleveland.
davemayo is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-02-2005, 08:26 PM   #30 (Print)
n9ktw
the electronics whiz
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: north burbs of IL
Posts: 17
Send a message via AIM to n9ktw Send a message via Yahoo to n9ktw
6.2 Upgrade

Talked to Directv this afternoon about it.... It will not give us internet access to our directivo units They still dont have an idea when we will have internet access to our " pvr's" If anyone knows when or how to achieve this PLEASE pm me


Howard
n9ktw is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Main TiVo Forums > DIRECTV Receiver with TiVo

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:01 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo® is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index