TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-20-2005, 05:55 PM   #1 (Print)
andrew4540
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5
Help with Hard drive Problems

Hello, I had a Direct TV Tivo, with a 120 gig hard drive, and the Tivo died. I took it in for repair, and they told me to get another tivo, so now that i have my new tivo with an 80 gig hd, is it possible to swap hard drives, and put the old one, into the new tivo? also, is there a way i can check on the status of the old hard drive? how would i go about plugging into a computer, or would it act just like a normal hard drive?
andrew4540 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 11-20-2005, 07:01 PM   #2 (Print)
litzdog911
TechKnow Guide
 
litzdog911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mill Creek, Washington
Posts: 7,860
Send a message via AIM to litzdog911
You cannot swap hard drives between Tivos without preparing them first. There are lots of resources in the Forum just before this one ... Tivo Upgrade Center Forum.

In a nutshell, you'll need to download the drive manufacturer's DOS-based diagnostic utilities and create a DOS boot disk with those utilities. Install the Tivo drive into your PC and disconnect your PC's drive (just to be safe!). Boot into DOS and run the diagnostics on the Tivo drive. If the drive checks out good, then you should be able to use in your Tivo. Follow the Tivo Upgrade instructions in the Tivo Upgrade Center Forum as if the 120GB drive were a new blank drive. Of course, it's possible that the 120GB drive has problems that messed up your old Tivo, even if the diagnostics don't find anything. With 120GB drives available for well under $50, I wouldn't risk using one in a new Tivo.

__________________
Sony SAT-T60 120GB (v3.1.0c2)
HR10-250 HiDef 250GB (v3.1.5f)
R10 80GB (v6.1-01)
Sony SAT-A4, B4 Receivers
Sony KV-40XBR800 HDTV
litzdog911 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 11-20-2005, 11:12 PM   #3 (Print)
andrew4540
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5
what i really wanted was the 120 gigs of recorded info that is on the hard drive. If i did all of those steps, would my new tivo recognize the movies/shows/ect. that are stored on the old hard drive?
andrew4540 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 11-20-2005, 11:16 PM   #4 (Print)
slydog75
Not all that sly
 
slydog75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa
Posts: 1,092
Due to encryption you cannot do what you are wanting to do. The video files will not play on any other Tivo but the one you recorded them on.
slydog75 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 11-21-2005, 12:53 AM   #5 (Print)
andrew4540
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5
so is the old hard drive useful for anything? can it be used in a computer without any special modifications? what about the rest of the tivo. can its components be used in anything?
andrew4540 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 11-21-2005, 01:53 AM   #6 (Print)
litzdog911
TechKnow Guide
 
litzdog911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mill Creek, Washington
Posts: 7,860
Send a message via AIM to litzdog911
Sure, you can use that old Tivo drive in a PC. Just reformat it with FAT32 or NTFS in your PC. But realize that it could be flakey drive, so I wouldn't trust it to work reliably.

There's not much you can do with the other Tivo components, other than perhaps sell that Tivo, or its pieces, on eBay.

__________________
Sony SAT-T60 120GB (v3.1.0c2)
HR10-250 HiDef 250GB (v3.1.5f)
R10 80GB (v6.1-01)
Sony SAT-A4, B4 Receivers
Sony KV-40XBR800 HDTV
litzdog911 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 11-23-2005, 01:22 AM   #7 (Print)
andrew4540
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5
i attempted to hook up the hard drive to a computer, and as soon as it powered up, i could hear a clicking sound coming from the drive, and Windows doesn't recognize it, so i assume its toast.
andrew4540 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 11-23-2005, 03:12 AM   #8 (Print)
litzdog911
TechKnow Guide
 
litzdog911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mill Creek, Washington
Posts: 7,860
Send a message via AIM to litzdog911
Yep, that drive is toast.

__________________
Sony SAT-T60 120GB (v3.1.0c2)
HR10-250 HiDef 250GB (v3.1.5f)
R10 80GB (v6.1-01)
Sony SAT-A4, B4 Receivers
Sony KV-40XBR800 HDTV
litzdog911 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 11-23-2005, 01:45 PM   #9 (Print)
sabotage
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 22
Sounds like the tivo itself might be ok - want to sell it?
sabotage is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-09-2005, 12:07 AM   #10 (Print)
andrew4540
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5
how much is it worth..truthfully if i wanted to sell it on ebay?
andrew4540 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Underground Playground > TiVo Underground

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:07 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index