TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-04-2005, 09:02 PM   #1 (Print)
jsampedro
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
Pioneer 57H Won't boot

I was taping a show the night before onto this unit, I wanted to backup some shows I have and burn them to DVD. After taping a 1 hour show the unit locked up hard, so I let it go for the night and the next day and from then on it just says "Welcome. Powering up ... " then screen blanks like it is moving on, then back to the powering up screen. I thought the drive was wiped or something, but I finally see there is partition 7 and 9 on it and all files seem to be intact. It's not hacked, and I didn't do anything besides recording one show before it started doing this.

Any hints or help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

John
jsampedro is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-06-2005, 12:06 PM   #2 (Print)
jsampedro
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
Got it to go a little farther now. Used maketivoboot and now it gets to a screen where it says serious error and it needs 3 hours to repair it self.
jsampedro is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-07-2005, 07:52 PM   #3 (Print)
jsampedro
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
Well needless to say it doesn't fix itself. Has anyone else experienced this?

Thanks,

John
jsampedro is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-07-2005, 10:24 PM   #4 (Print)
RTressler
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
My Tivo2 is doing the same thing... the power went out yesterday for about two hours, and when the power came back on, Tivo didn't! It's been at that same "Welcome. Powering Up..." screen all day. I haven't hacked it yet, but this is the second one to die on me in two years. How do you run that "maketivoboot" you're talking about - I'll try anything before I buy another one.
RTressler is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-08-2005, 06:45 PM   #5 (Print)
jsampedro
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
I'm far from the expert on alot of this stuff. I was hoping someone would give me a tip on what to do next with the current problem I have.

But I downloaded the program, maketivoboot, and put it on a floppy disk.

If you haven't pulled the drive yet, you have to get a image to boot up in Linux for the Tivo. Make sure to only boot up with this, no windows, or anything else. I used a spare computer that only has a cd and floppy drive, then I plug the Tivo drive in to the other IDE port.

I followed the readme with the maketivoboot and typed it exactly as it said, substituting device hda as needed.
jsampedro is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Underground Playground > TiVo Underground

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:31 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index