TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-05-2005, 09:51 PM   #1 (Print)
jthorpefl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
Exclamation TIVO HELP PLEASE - New Hard Drive

I have a series 2 Tivo, which has 1 hard drive. About 2 to 2 and a half weeks ago, the hard drive failed in it. I purchased a 300 GB hard drive today, but having no luck trying to find software or drivers (not sure which) and instructions I need to get my Tivo up and running. I have no back up and no access to a working Tivo to get a copy of the software or drivers. I don't know what to do, the more I read the more I am getting confused. One post or site says to use this, another one says don't use that, use this. I am really wanting to talk with someone who has upgraded their Tivo, and can help point me in the right direction, or even better send me a copy of the software or drivers from theirs if that is possible to my e-mail or over IM, I am so lost with out my Tivo. Anyone who can help please e-mail me or IM me on yahoo, username is jthorpefl at yahoo. If I don't answer on IM, I am more than likely away from my desk, but will get an offline message. Hope to hear from someone soon in getting this up and running.


Thanks and Happy Holidays.


John
jthorpefl is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-05-2005, 10:16 PM   #2 (Print)
sandpj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Houston
Posts: 62
Probably the fastest proper means for a replacement image is:

http://www.ptvupgrade.com/products/instantcake/
sandpj is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-05-2005, 11:23 PM   #3 (Print)
rbautch
Try My Zipper
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,734
If its a DirecTivo, use the Zipper. The script will restore an image to your drive, and hack it in the process.
rbautch is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-06-2005, 07:10 PM   #4 (Print)
classicsat
Astute User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ontario Canada.
Posts: 7,949
You need to still procure an image for the zipper, correct?

__________________
TCD240080, 160 GB HDD.
FC3 Linux box running Galleon.
TiVo desktop on XP machine.
classicsat is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Underground Playground > TiVo Underground

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:03 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index