TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-21-2005, 09:56 AM   #1 (Print)
Greg944
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
Arrow HDVR2 Second Upgrade Problems

I have an HDVR2 that I upgraded from 40GB to a 160GB drive before lba support was available so the upgrade only used 137GB.

The hdvr2 has since been upgraded to 6.2 software which I understand has lba support in the kernel.

I now would like to upgrade to a 400GB drive and save the recordings (wife's TiVo) and settings to make it "transparant". I am using the PTVupgrade disk with lba support. The OS boots and recognizes the drives at their correct size; 160GB and 400GB.

When I run either:

mfsbackup -aqo - /dev/hdc | mfsrestore -s 127 -xpi - /dev/hdb

or

mfsbackup -Tao - /dev/hdc | mfsresore -s 127 -xpi - /dev/hdb

I get the error "Backup target is not large enough"

I have also tried

dd if=/dev/hdc of=/dev/hdb bs=1024k
mfsadd /dev/hdb -x

The dd completes (after many hours) but mfsadd says there is nothing to add even though mfsinfo says I have 3 upgrades left.

Any suggestions are appreciated!

Thanks,
Greg

Update: Also tried command line from Weeknees interactive guide:
mfsbackup -Tao - /dev/hdc | mfsrestore -s 127 -r 4 -xzpi - /dev/hdb
with the same results

Last edited by Greg944 : 12-21-2005 at 10:07 AM.
Greg944 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-21-2005, 10:14 AM   #2 (Print)
GAM
Niiiice!
 
GAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 127
You can only expand and save recordings once which you have already done.
GAM is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-21-2005, 10:27 AM   #3 (Print)
Greg944
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
When I did the original upgrade I did not save the recordings...
Greg944 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-21-2005, 12:16 PM   #4 (Print)
BobCamp1
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 207
Oops! Didn't see that you had tried the Weakness guide in one of your previous posts. My bad.

Hmm...the Weakness command should have worked. I've used it before for your Tivo model without problems.

mfsbackup -Tao - /dev/hdc | mfsrestore -s 127 -r 4 -xzpi - /dev/hdb

Note the "-r 4" is definitely needed for large hard drives. Try again and make sure you put in all the spaces exactly where they should be and match the case letter for letter. Double check to make sure that the drive letters are right. Use <shift>-<pageup> to scroll up the boot logs and verify that the drives are where you think they are.

Last edited by BobCamp1 : 12-21-2005 at 12:25 PM.
BobCamp1 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-21-2005, 01:52 PM   #5 (Print)
Dan Collins
UltraGeek
 
Dan Collins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,107
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg944
When I did the original upgrade I did not save the recordings...

That doesn't matter. The first time you expanded you recreated the original 13 partitions and added 2 new ones for the expansion. You can't add another 2 to expand again, since that would mean 17 partitions and you can only have a max of 16.

Bottom line, you can not expand again and save recordings.

__________________
310 GB DSR-704
250 GB SIR-4040
240 GB SD-DVR80
240 GB DSR-708
80 GB DSR-7000 (Slingbox attached)
(All w/MRV)

Administrator - DBSForums.com
Dan Collins is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-26-2005, 05:12 PM   #6 (Print)
Tonyon1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1
Is there any work-around that could save the recordings upgrading a previously expanded drive?

I have a very similar situation - my wife's HDR-212 Series 1 has been expanded years ago and now she has it fully loaded and needs another expansion, but will not part with her recordings to get it.

Also, is not being able to keep recordings the only problem arising from adding a large HDD to a previously expanded Tivo?
(BTW - I used the Weaknees pipe command to expand a new Series 2 for my daughter and it worked beautifully and quickly.)
Tonyon1 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-26-2005, 05:48 PM   #7 (Print)
JamieP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 461
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tonyon1
Is there any work-around that could save the recordings upgrading a previously expanded drive?
See this. Suggested for the adventuresome and knowledgable only.
JamieP is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Underground Playground > TiVo Upgrade Center

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:04 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index