TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-08-2005, 10:54 AM   #1 (Print)
Zaichik
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Hell on Earth
Posts: 37
10 minute episodes of 24?

My TiVo season pass has picked up several late night episodes of 24 in the next few weeks, but they're shown as only 10 minutes long. Has this happened to anyone else?

BTW, does anyone know when season 4 starts airing in the UK?
Zaichik is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-08-2005, 11:04 AM   #2 (Print)
cwaring
Registered User
 
cwaring's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 3,921
Send a message via MSN to cwaring
This is correct. There is a ten minute "prequel" to the new 'Day 4'. It is being shown first (and only the once!) on Sky One this Thursday at 10:55pm. Don't have Sky Mix so don't know how many times it's repeated on there There are three episodes of "Day 3" still to be shown again.

Season 4 begins on Sunday 30th January on Sky One; I think

__________________
Carl Waring

Telewest Active Digital with Pace 2000 STB
Now with added Tivoweb!
Tivo TV Ads & PDF Manuals
cwaring is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-08-2005, 05:58 PM   #3 (Print)
Zaichik
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Hell on Earth
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally posted by cwaring
Season 4 begins on Sunday 30th January on Sky One; I think


Ooh, a treat for my birthday!
Zaichik is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-10-2005, 03:20 AM   #4 (Print)
andyjenkins
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: England, UK
Posts: 186
FYI, I've heard that the first 2 hours of day 4 (the new series) will be on Sky Travel, and not SkyOne as you might expect. This is to let Sky's viewers on Freeview to be able to watch the first episode. Ahhh .. arnt Sky nice ? ;o)

Time for those interested parties just to double check that you have SkyTravel in your TiVo EPG and that its scheduled to record.

__________________
Got Broadband ??
andyjenkins is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-10-2005, 03:39 AM   #5 (Print)
Benedict
Always Thinking!
 
Benedict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: East Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 120
Send a message via MSN to Benedict
Quote:
Originally posted by andyjenkins
FYI, I've heard that the first 2 hours of day 4 (the new series) will be on Sky Travel, and not SkyOne as you might expect. This is to let Sky's viewers on Freeview to be able to watch the first episode. Ahhh .. arnt Sky nice ? ;o)

Time for those interested parties just to double check that you have SkyTravel in your TiVo EPG and that its scheduled to record.
I think Sky plan to simulcast the first (2 hour) episode on Sky One and Sky Travel.

Ben

__________________
TiVo 1: 6020 274GB, CacheCard, TiVoWeb, lifetime sub, connected to Sky
TiVo 2: 6023 123GB, CacheCard, TiVoWeb, monthly sub, connected to FreeView
Benedict is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-10-2005, 03:39 AM   #6 (Print)
ozsat
Very Nice Moderator
 
ozsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Oxfordshire, UK
Posts: 3,279
It is on both Sky One and Sky Travel.

Its on Sky Travel so that viewers of all platforms can see it - as Sky Travel is available on Freeview.

Neither Sky Travel or Sky One have not yet released the revised version of their schedule to include it on 30th January.

__________________
OzSat - TiVo UK - Moderator
ozsat is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-10-2005, 04:28 AM   #7 (Print)
CarlWalters
Yo Ho TiVo!
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: RG4, Caversham, Berkshire, UK
Posts: 374
Re: 10 minute episodes of 24?

Quote:
Originally posted by Zaichik
My TiVo season pass has picked up several late night episodes of 24 in the next few weeks, but they're shown as only 10 minutes long. Has this happened to anyone else?

BTW, does anyone know when season 4 starts airing in the UK?


To be fair - and much as I love 24 - ten minutes is actually about all that's needed per episode .
CarlWalters is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-10-2005, 06:46 AM   #8 (Print)
BaggieBoy
Large Member
 
BaggieBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Tadley, Hants, UK
Posts: 96
Fox have pre-released the first 24 minutes of the first episode. It looks good.

__________________
Steve
BaggieBoy is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-10-2005, 08:12 AM   #9 (Print)
Mr 999
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 80
They've released the first two hours
Mr 999 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-10-2005, 09:15 AM   #10 (Print)
andyjenkins
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: England, UK
Posts: 186
The first two hours are available if you know where to look.

I expect there'll be a torrent of people looking for this now eh ?

__________________
Got Broadband ??
andyjenkins is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-10-2005, 09:21 AM   #11 (Print)
cwaring
Registered User
 
cwaring's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 3,921
Send a message via MSN to cwaring
PMSL! A lesson in the art of subtlety... NOT

__________________
Carl Waring

Telewest Active Digital with Pace 2000 STB
Now with added Tivoweb!
Tivo TV Ads & PDF Manuals
cwaring is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-10-2005, 10:26 AM   #12 (Print)
chrisd
London, England
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: London
Posts: 542
Quote:
Originally posted by andyjenkins
I expect there'll be a torrent of people looking for this now eh ?

i'm sure there will be a BIT more than a TORRENT of people.
Oh how we laugh.
chrisd is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-10-2005, 11:22 AM   #13 (Print)
Gavin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Harlow, Essex
Posts: 349
Why???

Quote:
Originally posted by ozsat
It is on both Sky One and Sky Travel.

Its on Sky Travel so that viewers of all platforms can see it - as Sky Travel is available on Freeview.


I can understand why for marketing reasons, but why bother? If you catch 24 on freeview, and thought it was great and you want to watch all the series it'd be too late to get Sky installed, and you'd miss some of it (well for a while anyway as no doubt it would be repeated oodles of times)

Similarly if you really wanted to see it as soon as it came out you'd already have Sky or Cable, as there have been 3 series before, and if you only intended to watch it on terrestrial (bbc2 I think it was) you'll be happy to wait anyway.

I guess it's jsut a publicity gimmick
Gavin is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-10-2005, 11:24 AM   #14 (Print)
kitschcamp
Tweaked and poked
 
kitschcamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby, England & Malmö, Sweden.
Posts: 1,148
Send a message via ICQ to kitschcamp Send a message via MSN to kitschcamp Send a message via Yahoo to kitschcamp
It's worked, though, hasn't it?

__________________
Stephen

SkyEye, 160Gb+120Gb, CcheCrd 512MB, twkd recrdng sttngs, TiVoWeb and APC Back-UPS 500.
Tivo Mods. Fixed ui.itcl module
kitschcamp is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-11-2005, 06:26 AM   #15 (Print)
chrisd
London, England
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: London
Posts: 542
anyone catch the new series yet?
It's all kicked off already, and only 4 episodes in.
chrisd is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-11-2005, 07:39 AM   #16 (Print)
cwaring
Registered User
 
cwaring's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 3,921
Send a message via MSN to cwaring
No, 'cos I generally don't download stuff illegally

__________________
Carl Waring

Telewest Active Digital with Pace 2000 STB
Now with added Tivoweb!
Tivo TV Ads & PDF Manuals
cwaring is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-11-2005, 07:39 AM   #17 (Print)
gyre
Wookie
 
gyre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 329
Looking good

-- gyre --

__________________
|6020|1x120GB|Cachecard 2.2 w/512MB|Endpad|Tracker|TivoWeb|SkyEye T-link|
gyre is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-11-2005, 07:57 AM   #18 (Print)
chrisd
London, England
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: London
Posts: 542
Quote:
Originally posted by cwaring
No, 'cos I generally don't download stuff illegally


I don't know what you are talking about.
download?? illegally??
chrisd is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-11-2005, 08:34 AM   #19 (Print)
andyjenkins
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: England, UK
Posts: 186
Quote:
Originally posted by cwaring
No, 'cos I generally don't download stuff illegally


"Generally" ??

__________________
Got Broadband ??
andyjenkins is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo UK

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:05 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo® is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index