TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-28-2005, 08:32 PM   #1 (Print)
samberger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 11
can the r10 be used with the h20 hdtv receiver?

i'm about to go the hdtv route and wonder if i can "piggyback" the two receivers, and use the r10 just for it's tivo capabilities. i live in the sf/bay area where we've just become mpeg4 enabled, so i need the h20 for hdtv, but i'd prefer not to invest in the h10-250 all in one now if possible as it can't decode mpeg4. i know the r10 can't record hidef, but that's ok since the new hd dvr's should be out in a few months.

thanks!
samberger is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-28-2005, 08:35 PM   #2 (Print)
ebonovic
A TiVo Junkie...
 
ebonovic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Tinley Park, IL USA (SW ChicagoBurbs)
Posts: 8,245
Nope, you can't piggie back them.

The DirecTivos (which the R10 is), have no means for inputs from other sources other then the DirecTV signal.

__________________
- Earl (XBL: Fontano)
Favorite 05/06 TV Lines: Karma! ; Suit Up! ; Legendary.....

Non-TiVo DirecTV DVR (R15,HR20) ->
DBSTalk
ebonovic is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-28-2005, 11:39 PM   #3 (Print)
samberger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ebonovic
Nope, you can't piggie back them.

The DirecTivos (which the R10 is), have no means for inputs from other sources other then the DirecTV signal.


so i gotta go with the h10-250 then. thanks.
samberger is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-28-2005, 11:41 PM   #4 (Print)
ebonovic
A TiVo Junkie...
 
ebonovic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Tinley Park, IL USA (SW ChicagoBurbs)
Posts: 8,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by samberger
so i gotta go with the h10-250 then. thanks.


Only if you want HD-DVRing today.

If you can wait a few months till the HR20-250 comes out...
Then you will at least have an option..

__________________
- Earl (XBL: Fontano)
Favorite 05/06 TV Lines: Karma! ; Suit Up! ; Legendary.....

Non-TiVo DirecTV DVR (R15,HR20) ->
DBSTalk
ebonovic is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-29-2005, 10:20 AM   #5 (Print)
samberger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ebonovic
Only if you want HD-DVRing today.

If you can wait a few months till the HR20-250 comes out...
Then you will at least have an option..



i only want to be able to use tivo. i don't need to be able to record in high def(at least for now) so i guess my options if i want to tivo now are get a stand alone for cheap, or the h10-250 now and hopefully be able to get a good upgrade price from d*tv when the h20-250 comes out. is this right?

thanks.
samberger is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-29-2005, 03:00 PM   #6 (Print)
JimSpence
Finally own HR10-250
 
JimSpence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Binghamton, NY
Posts: 19,904
I also didn't opt for the HDTiVo since I already had an HD receiver (HTL-HD). The downside for this is that I have to sit through the commercials when watching HD. Now I'll wait for the MPEG4 rollout.

__________________
Jim
May all terrorists drop dead!
JimSpence is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-29-2005, 03:11 PM   #7 (Print)
ebonovic
A TiVo Junkie...
 
ebonovic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Tinley Park, IL USA (SW ChicagoBurbs)
Posts: 8,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by samberger
i only want to be able to use tivo. i don't need to be able to record in high def(at least for now) so i guess my options if i want to tivo now are get a stand alone for cheap, or the h10-250 now and hopefully be able to get a good upgrade price from d*tv when the h20-250 comes out. is this right?

thanks.



If you are not worried about DVRing HD material...
Get an R10 now for your SD programs, and use the H20 to watch LIVE HD programming...

I used that setup for nearly a year before I got the HR10-250... So I could DVR-HD.

__________________
- Earl (XBL: Fontano)
Favorite 05/06 TV Lines: Karma! ; Suit Up! ; Legendary.....

Non-TiVo DirecTV DVR (R15,HR20) ->
DBSTalk
ebonovic is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-29-2005, 03:38 PM   #8 (Print)
hoopsrgreat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: california
Posts: 173
Send a message via AIM to hoopsrgreat
Quote:
Originally Posted by ebonovic
If you are not worried about DVRing HD material...
Get an R10 now for your SD programs, and use the H20 to watch LIVE HD programming...

I used that setup for nearly a year before I got the HR10-250... So I could DVR-HD.




but how do you do that? Run 3 lines into the livingroom?

__________________
Creid
hoopsrgreat is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-29-2005, 03:49 PM   #9 (Print)
ebonovic
A TiVo Junkie...
 
ebonovic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Tinley Park, IL USA (SW ChicagoBurbs)
Posts: 8,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoopsrgreat
but how do you do that? Run 3 lines into the livingroom?


Yep... but it will work with 2, if you only want to have a single tuner recording on your R10


I had 4 run... Since what do now is I have an R10 below the HR10-250...

The HR10-250 only records HD, the R10 does the rest.
Works great to handle conflicts too.

__________________
- Earl (XBL: Fontano)
Favorite 05/06 TV Lines: Karma! ; Suit Up! ; Legendary.....

Non-TiVo DirecTV DVR (R15,HR20) ->
DBSTalk
ebonovic is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-29-2005, 04:34 PM   #10 (Print)
Vin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Clifton, NJ
Posts: 366
Quote:
Originally Posted by ebonovic
If you are not worried about DVRing HD material...
Get an R10 now for your SD programs, and use the H20 to watch LIVE HD programming...

I used that setup for nearly a year before I got the HR10-250... So I could DVR-HD.


I did pretty much the same thing...I had 3 feeds going to my basement HT, two for a Philips DSR-7000 (SD TiVo) and one for a Samsung 360 HD receiver. I replaced the 360 (use it now for OTA only in my living room) after scoring a great deal on the HR10-250 and then ran a 4th sat line and an OTA line to the basement.

Theoretically, the HR10-250 could have replaced the SD TiVo (in addition to the the HD receiver) but the $5/month (mirroring fee) for the additional two tuners is money well spent, IMO.

__________________
Vin

Last edited by Vin : 12-29-2005 at 04:43 PM.
Vin is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-29-2005, 05:20 PM   #11 (Print)
samberger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ebonovic
If you are not worried about DVRing HD material...
Get an R10 now for your SD programs, and use the H20 to watch LIVE HD programming...

I used that setup for nearly a year before I got the HR10-250... So I could DVR-HD.



so maybe my earlier usage of the term "piggy back" was incorrect. what you're saying is that i can use both my current r10 with an h20, r10 to watch and record sd, h20 to watch hd? i know it seems like i'm repeating you, and i apologize for that, but i just want to make sure i'm understanding you correctly. if i can record sd and watch hd, i'd be happy. i wouldn't have to barter with d*tv to save money(at least not as hard) plus, i probably wouldn't need to get an antenna for my locals.
samberger is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-29-2005, 05:58 PM   #12 (Print)
hoopsrgreat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: california
Posts: 173
Send a message via AIM to hoopsrgreat
2 lines is enough for me.

Hey Earl, I am having some problems setting up a home network, I have a thread in the general chat area, care to help??

__________________
Creid
hoopsrgreat is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-29-2005, 07:20 PM   #13 (Print)
ebonovic
A TiVo Junkie...
 
ebonovic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Tinley Park, IL USA (SW ChicagoBurbs)
Posts: 8,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by samberger
so maybe my earlier usage of the term "piggy back" was incorrect. what you're saying is that i can use both my current r10 with an h20, r10 to watch and record sd, h20 to watch hd? i know it seems like i'm repeating you, and i apologize for that, but i just want to make sure i'm understanding you correctly. if i can record sd and watch hd, i'd be happy. i wouldn't have to barter with d*tv to save money(at least not as hard) plus, i probably wouldn't need to get an antenna for my locals.



yes... it should work just fine...

Piggie Backing is in the sense that you wanted to use the H20 to tune in HD, and have the R10 record it...

__________________
- Earl (XBL: Fontano)
Favorite 05/06 TV Lines: Karma! ; Suit Up! ; Legendary.....

Non-TiVo DirecTV DVR (R15,HR20) ->
DBSTalk
ebonovic is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-29-2005, 08:40 PM   #14 (Print)
samberger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ebonovic
yes... it should work just fine...

Piggie Backing is in the sense that you wanted to use the H20 to tune in HD, and have the R10 record it...


gotcha. thanks for clearing it up.
samberger is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Main TiVo Forums > DIRECTV Receiver with TiVo

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index