TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-30-2005, 04:45 PM   #1 (Print)
quagh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
R10 Networkable?!

I have a R10 Direct Tivo and an older Hughes Direct Tivo. Both of these are Series 2 units with USB ports and 6.2 Software. The USB ports are hot because I've tested them. However when attempting to verify I can network these units I do not see the network option under settings>phone.

Can anyone tell me if these units are in fact able to be networked?

What I am thinking of doing is just getting some USB to Ethernet adapters and ethernet cable and hooking them up. From what I can tell this should at least allow me to watch all content on either. After I'm successful with this I'll screw around with going the wireless route.

Thanks in advance for any help.
quagh is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-30-2005, 04:48 PM   #2 (Print)
morgantown
DTV + Tvio = ;-)
 
morgantown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Morgantown, WV
Posts: 973
No they (R10's) can not be networked. Unless there has been a recent change the R10 have yet to be hacked to enable the USB ports.

__________________
Hughes DVR40, 120 hrs, 5/04
Philips DSR708, stock, 4/05
DirecTV R10, 2/06
The "other" DVR, 2/06 (inactive)
DTV & NFLST Since 1997, not looked back yet...
morgantown is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-30-2005, 04:51 PM   #3 (Print)
Gunnyman
Hamob
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Beautiful Downtown Greenville SC
Posts: 9,368
R10's can be hacked to have everything the other S2 Dtivos have. A not for the timid PROM mod is needed though.

__________________
Gunny - have I told you that your avatar always makes me smile? Waldingrl
Zipper Wiki
Join us in Vegas!
Gunnyman is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-30-2005, 04:56 PM   #4 (Print)
quagh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
How about the Hughes SD-DVR40?
quagh is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-30-2005, 04:58 PM   #5 (Print)
morgantown
DTV + Tvio = ;-)
 
morgantown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Morgantown, WV
Posts: 973
Quote:
Originally Posted by quagh
How about the Hughes SD-DVR40?


Easily. The person (or google Zipper) above your last post can lead you down the right path.

edit: Or this post at the bottom of the page for your original Q.

__________________
Hughes DVR40, 120 hrs, 5/04
Philips DSR708, stock, 4/05
DirecTV R10, 2/06
The "other" DVR, 2/06 (inactive)
DTV & NFLST Since 1997, not looked back yet...

Last edited by morgantown : 12-30-2005 at 05:04 PM.
morgantown is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Main TiVo Forums > DIRECTV Receiver with TiVo

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index