TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-27-2005, 03:50 PM   #1 (Print)
Spider_
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1
Hard Drive Specs for upgrade

Does anyone have any guidelines for specs for adding a hard drive to my 40GB Series 2? I am specifically wondering if ATA100/ATA133 or 2MB/8MB cache matters on a TiVo unit. I understand what performance differences I would notice on a PC, but any concerns with a TiVo? Also, what is the largest capacity drive that it will hold without system software upgrades? Finally, where do people usually place the drive in the case?

Thanks in advance.
Spider_ is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-27-2005, 04:47 PM   #2 (Print)
litzdog911
TechKnow Guide
 
litzdog911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mill Creek, Washington
Posts: 7,860
Send a message via AIM to litzdog911
Nope, those specs don't matter. Tivo's aren't picky about hard drive performance. In fact some folks prefer 5400rpm drives to 7200rpm drives because they often run cooler. And cache size doesn't matter, either.

__________________
Sony SAT-T60 120GB (v3.1.0c2)
HR10-250 HiDef 250GB (v3.1.5f)
R10 80GB (v6.1-01)
Sony SAT-A4, B4 Receivers
Sony KV-40XBR800 HDTV
litzdog911 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-27-2005, 04:58 PM   #3 (Print)
thezoo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by litzdog911
Nope, those specs don't matter. Tivo's aren't picky about hard drive performance. In fact some folks prefer 5400rpm drives to 7200rpm drives because they often run cooler. And cache size doesn't matter, either.


yeah thats what I thought but I just installed a 120gig seagate 7200.7 in my S2SA 40hr and it runs cooler then it did with the old maxtor 40gig.. use to run around 39 - 40c. now it runs like 33 - 35c

maybe its cause I blew out more then a half inch of dust and cat hair from the motherboard and fan before installing the new HD. :-)

--Bill
thezoo is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-28-2005, 08:46 AM   #4 (Print)
atmuscarella
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 130
You do need an IDA drive (Not SATA) also I would recommend you consider only using one drive. Here are some reasons why you might want to stay with one drive:

1. Big drives are cheaper now (I paid $86 for a 300 gig seagate when I upgraded).
2. In 2 drive systems if either drive fails you loose everything.
3. Nice to have the original drive as a backup if the new drive fails or you want to sell the unit and keep the bigger drive.

The weaknees upgrade instructions work great:

http://tivo.upgrade-instructions.com/index.php

Good Luck!

atmuscarella
atmuscarella is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Underground Playground > TiVo Upgrade Center

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:14 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index