TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-16-2005, 03:37 PM   #1 (Print)
rvannostrand
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5
Bundling a WORKING CODEC with TiVo Desktop

It would be nice if the TiVo Desktop includes a working CODEC so we don't have to pay additional for SONIC's or any other crummy offerings. We download TiVo desktop and then find out that it doesn't work unless we go out and pay for a grab bag of CODECs that may or may not work.

I wouldn't even mind having to pay for the TiVo desktop if it included complete sofeware to view TiVo transfers. This policy is like buying a new car and then discovering that you have to pay extra for tires, or whatever.

Richard
rvannostrand is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-16-2005, 06:14 PM   #2 (Print)
megazone
Hardcore TiVo Geek
 
megazone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: .worcester.ma.us
Posts: 1,134
Send a message via ICQ to megazone Send a message via AIM to megazone Send a message via Yahoo to megazone
Most users these days already have a working codec, because they'll have DVD playback software - same MPEG-2 codec. I don't see the difference between TiVo charging for the desktop which includes a codec (which they'd have to do, because they would have to pay license fees for each copy downloaded) and paying someone else for the codec. They provide links to codecs to purchase.

Since most users don't need one, the free desktop without codec is the best solution for them.

__________________
-MegaZone,
Personal Homepage - TiVo Lovers Community - TiVo Resource List - TiVo RFE List
Pioneer DVR-810H-S / Toshiba RS-TX20
megazone is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-18-2005, 12:35 PM   #3 (Print)
classicsat
Astute User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ontario Canada.
Posts: 7,949
A little harder, is offering for sale TD with codec, od TD sans codec, for free.

__________________
TCD240080, 160 GB HDD.
FC3 Linux box running Galleon.
TiVo desktop on XP machine.
classicsat is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Suggestion Avenue

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:23 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index