TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-06-2005, 07:36 AM   #1 (Print)
ndunlavey
Just a user, really
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Greenwich
Posts: 914
Tunerless DVDR?

ANyone know of a decent quality DVD recorder that doesn't have a built-in TV tuner?

__________________
Nick
6021 2.5.5a Lifetime 120Gb+40Gb|Toshiba 32ZP18Q|DTI2300 Freeview|Quintro+|Panasonic DMRES20D
ndunlavey is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-06-2005, 07:51 AM   #2 (Print)
iankb
Registered User
 
iankb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Reading, UK
Posts: 5,205
Given that analogue tuners cost almost nothing, and take up little space, and a tunerless DVDR would be more expensive to manufacture because of the lack of volume sales, I can't imagine that any manufacturer would consider making one. But then I would use the same argument for anybody manufacturing a plasma screen without a built-in tuner.

__________________
Ian.

For gold text on leather in TiVoWeb, try the redbook, bluebook, greenbook and blackbook themes, now updated with button menus
iankb is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-06-2005, 04:33 PM   #3 (Print)
Sneals2000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Maidenhead, UK
Posts: 625
Quote:
Originally Posted by iankb
Given that analogue tuners cost almost nothing, and take up little space, and a tunerless DVDR would be more expensive to manufacture because of the lack of volume sales, I can't imagine that any manufacturer would consider making one. But then I would use the same argument for anybody manufacturing a plasma screen without a built-in tuner.


Ah - but there is also the issue that a single model of tunerless plasma is easy to sell in any territory, whereas in most cases tuners are at least partially regional. (It isn't common to find tuners that are NTSC-M, PAL B/G/I and SECAM L in much kit) so would mean manufacturing multiple variants.
Sneals2000 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-06-2005, 05:00 PM   #4 (Print)
ndunlavey
Just a user, really
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Greenwich
Posts: 914
Now, there's a thought. If I buy a French market DVDR, it will have a SECAM tuner. Will it play back pre-recorded stuff fine to an LCD monitor?

__________________
Nick
6021 2.5.5a Lifetime 120Gb+40Gb|Toshiba 32ZP18Q|DTI2300 Freeview|Quintro+|Panasonic DMRES20D
ndunlavey is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-07-2005, 03:56 AM   #5 (Print)
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
sanderton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 5,979
Just pay the TV licence!

__________________
Stuart

Author of EndPad, DailyMail and others now run by other generous souls. Setup: MCE hub feeds 3 x 360s from 2 x DVB-T tuners and 1 x Sky via TiVo+eTivo. Sky+HD coming 22/5.
sanderton is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-07-2005, 04:52 AM   #6 (Print)
ndunlavey
Just a user, really
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Greenwich
Posts: 914
Problem is lack of willpower, not lack of cash. Broadast TV wastes too much of my time.

__________________
Nick
6021 2.5.5a Lifetime 120Gb+40Gb|Toshiba 32ZP18Q|DTI2300 Freeview|Quintro+|Panasonic DMRES20D
ndunlavey is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-08-2005, 03:46 AM   #7 (Print)
AMc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: London
Posts: 681
Er then don't connect an aerial?

__________________
Settings for TW Pace 2000 + dongle in N16
PACE|No Zeros|enter key NO|blaster NO|20004 FAST|wand position|Restart TW every 24hr
AMc is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-08-2005, 06:27 AM   #8 (Print)
ndunlavey
Just a user, really
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Greenwich
Posts: 914
That's what I'm coming round to, I think.

__________________
Nick
6021 2.5.5a Lifetime 120Gb+40Gb|Toshiba 32ZP18Q|DTI2300 Freeview|Quintro+|Panasonic DMRES20D
ndunlavey is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-08-2005, 06:42 AM   #9 (Print)
Sneals2000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Maidenhead, UK
Posts: 625
Quote:
Originally Posted by ndunlavey
Now, there's a thought. If I buy a French market DVDR, it will have a SECAM tuner. Will it play back pre-recorded stuff fine to an LCD monitor?


It is possible (likely even) that a French market DVDR will be SECAM L and PAL B/G compatible (so it works in border areas with Belgium etc.) - and it may even include the UK system - PAL I (as many bits of kit sold in Calais do).

However I missed the reason for a requirement for a specifically tuner-less DVD Recorder. If it is to record camcorder sourced material I understand - however if it is to record any other form of broadcast TV (even if from overseas only via satellite) - then AIUI it doesn't exempt payment of the licence fee - as you would still be "receiving" TV.
Sneals2000 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-08-2005, 07:27 AM   #10 (Print)
ndunlavey
Just a user, really
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Greenwich
Posts: 914
I'll be recording onto DVD only from VHS or other DVDs. I'm not particularly worried about avoiding the license fee - I just need to stop receiving broadcast TV.

__________________
Nick
6021 2.5.5a Lifetime 120Gb+40Gb|Toshiba 32ZP18Q|DTI2300 Freeview|Quintro+|Panasonic DMRES20D
ndunlavey is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-08-2005, 08:28 AM   #11 (Print)
pgogborn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,396
Quote:
Originally Posted by ndunlavey
I just need to stop receiving broadcast TV.

A strategic snip could help.

If you do not need to use the antenna in of your DVDR, that could be a good place to make it.
pgogborn is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-08-2005, 04:11 PM   #12 (Print)
ndunlavey
Just a user, really
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Greenwich
Posts: 914
What I'm coming round to is severing the plug from my aerial, and chucking the indoor aerials in the bin.

At which point I'll probably have a TiVo or two to flog

__________________
Nick
6021 2.5.5a Lifetime 120Gb+40Gb|Toshiba 32ZP18Q|DTI2300 Freeview|Quintro+|Panasonic DMRES20D
ndunlavey is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Off Topic Areas (Non-TiVo) > UK General Chit-Chat

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:29 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index