TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-05-2005, 10:05 PM   #1 (Print)
zorak303
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 14
Send a message via AIM to zorak303
woo! found a cheapppp Humax DRT800 in the back corner of a Sam's Club.

my girlfriend and i were getting her tire repaired at Sam's after driving around in what is left of New Orleans...

...and all dusty in a corner of the store near the mattresses was a sad, lonely DRT800. for 150$ !!!

it was just the bare unit, no box, remote or cables...but i had lots of that stuff lying around anyway.

WHATTABAHGAIN

so yeah i just gave that one to my GF since i have one already.

__________________
"Oh for insomnia...render me proficient, if not at least useful" - Mr. Bungle
zorak303 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-14-2005, 09:28 AM   #2 (Print)
Xenophod
N3WBI3
 
Xenophod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by zorak303
my girlfriend and i were getting her tire repaired at Sam's after driving around in what is left of New Orleans...

...and all dusty in a corner of the store near the mattresses was a sad, lonely DRT800. for 150$ !!!

it was just the bare unit, no box, remote or cables...but i had lots of that stuff lying around anyway.

WHATTABAHGAIN

so yeah i just gave that one to my GF since i have one already.




LUCKY!

So, let me ask you....

Does your DRT800 have a Firewire port so you can hook-up a Mini-DV Camcorder??

Tivo says it should have one.... I bought the DRT400 and it didn't have one...

http://www.tivo.com/2.1.2.2.asp
Xenophod is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-14-2005, 10:38 AM   #3 (Print)
rkester
Objects in Mirror...
 
rkester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: tulsa area, jOklahoma
Posts: 5,204
ive used the firewire on mine to dump video straight to it, works well.

love my drt800, had it since last xmas. woot.

__________________
TCF Xbox GamerTag Database
gamertag: teamdeadbunny
rkester is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-14-2005, 10:43 AM   #4 (Print)
Xenophod
N3WBI3
 
Xenophod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkester
ive used the firewire on mine to dump video straight to it, works well.

love my drt800, had it since last xmas. woot.



Where does the firewire port live on your DRT800?

I don't seem to have one on my DRT400...
Xenophod is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-14-2005, 10:46 AM   #5 (Print)
rkester
Objects in Mirror...
 
rkester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: tulsa area, jOklahoma
Posts: 5,204
its on the front lower left of the unit. theres a panel that folds down and has firewire/rca/svideo inputs.

__________________
TCF Xbox GamerTag Database
gamertag: teamdeadbunny
rkester is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-16-2005, 09:03 PM   #6 (Print)
DFNYC
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Upper West Side
Posts: 12
Send a message via AIM to DFNYC Send a message via Yahoo to DFNYC
VERY disapointed. Got a new 40hr from Tivo Rewards and because of this post realized there is no 1394 port like my 800 has. On Tivo's website they specifically list it as included on the 40hr unit. !!! What a rip.

__________________
I'm in a NY State of Mind

3 Series 2's including a DRT800
DFNYC is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-21-2005, 04:10 PM   #7 (Print)
megazone
Hardcore TiVo Geek
 
megazone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: .worcester.ma.us
Posts: 1,134
Send a message via ICQ to megazone Send a message via AIM to megazone Send a message via Yahoo to megazone
Quote:
Originally Posted by DFNYC
VERY disapointed. Got a new 40hr from Tivo Rewards and because of this post realized there is no 1394 port like my 800 has. On Tivo's website they specifically list it as included on the 40hr unit. !!! What a rip.

What's on the left front of the unit, just a blank where the FireWire would be?

I wonder why they left it off, does it cost that much? Seems like, since the same boards are used for the DRT800 and Toshibas that having a different stock of boards without the FW chip and socket would be a complication.

__________________
-MegaZone,
Personal Homepage - TiVo Lovers Community - TiVo Resource List - TiVo RFE List
Pioneer DVR-810H-S / Toshiba RS-TX20
megazone is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-21-2005, 04:14 PM   #8 (Print)
DFNYC
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Upper West Side
Posts: 12
Send a message via AIM to DFNYC Send a message via Yahoo to DFNYC
Exactly...blank. Three RCA and an Svideo. NO 1394

__________________
I'm in a NY State of Mind

3 Series 2's including a DRT800
DFNYC is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-22-2005, 02:56 PM   #9 (Print)
Dadorama
Registered User
 
Dadorama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Murrells Inlet, SC
Posts: 26
Send a message via AIM to Dadorama
My story is even bettter. I got the 120 hour Toshiba DVD burner unit from Best Buy - it was a return, no cables, no remote, but a manual (woo hoo) for $83. Got the IR blaster from Ebay for 10 bucks, and a new remote for $20 and it has worked great ever since we got it. My second Tivo, so now we can transfer shows, etc. Wife's birthday present and she loves it. Stays full of soap opera and cooking shows, but what the hey? Every now and then I schedule something to burn off to DVD but since it also serves her as a DVD player for her TV, which she did not have, I have killed many birds with one rock and at a steal of a price.

Way to go, me!

Dad
Dadorama is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Main TiVo Forums > DVD TiVo Units

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:41 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index