TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-26-2005, 03:40 PM   #1 (Print)
Ekims
Viva La Tivolution
 
Ekims's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Evansville, Indiana
Posts: 1,419
I'm Linux stupid, wanting to Unhack my Series 2

Here is the problem... I originally had a buddy hack it so I could D/L shows from it. Since the new version will let you do it anyway, I don't need this hack. I am also having a problem where the systems reboots every night at 2:00 am. My wife is a night owl and is sometimes watching tv at that time. It has been a source of pain in the bedroom. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Not sure what version of hack or whatever is on there. I can FTP to it.

__________________
TCF Gamertag Database
Register your account name and games here!

Xbox Gamertag Database
Ekims is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-26-2005, 04:04 PM   #2 (Print)
n4zmz
TiVoholic
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 21
Your problem stems from the boot page parameters containing "softwareupgrade=false".

I would recommend that the person who originally hacked your tivo give you a hand. They should understand how to remove the parameter and how to allow the upgrade to finish.

I helped some friends hack their tivos and they are now having the same problem. I'm planning on assisting them correcting the issue. Luckily hacking has advanced since the original hacking. It is a lot less work and easier to fix.

But if you want to try it yourself, you should be able to telnet into the tivo and execute the bootpage command directly. A normal bootpage just has "root=/dev/hda4" or "root=/dev/hda7".
To find out which one you should use, use the command
Code:
bootpage -p /dev/hda

To set the parameters use the command
Code:
bootpage -P "root=/dev/hdaX" -C /dev/hda
where X is replaced with either 4 or 7 depending on what your existing bootpage contains.

Now these are not hard commands, but if you mess up, you can make your tivo not boot.

After you have changed the parameters, you need to reboot to allow the software upgrade to finish.

__________________
- Dennis
n4zmz is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-26-2005, 04:17 PM   #3 (Print)
Ekims
Viva La Tivolution
 
Ekims's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Evansville, Indiana
Posts: 1,419
I appreciate your help here, but I don't think I have telnet..

__________________
TCF Gamertag Database
Register your account name and games here!

Xbox Gamertag Database
Ekims is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-26-2005, 04:21 PM   #4 (Print)
Ekims
Viva La Tivolution
 
Ekims's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Evansville, Indiana
Posts: 1,419
Hmmmpf, maybe I do have telnet....

This is what I get when I run the "bootpage -p /dev/hda" command


root=/dev/hda7 dsscon=true console=2,115200 BASH_ENV=`mount$IFS-n$IFS/dev/hda16
IFS/mnt;echo$IFS/mnt/runmonte`

__________________
TCF Gamertag Database
Register your account name and games here!

Xbox Gamertag Database
Ekims is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-26-2005, 04:23 PM   #5 (Print)
Ekims
Viva La Tivolution
 
Ekims's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Evansville, Indiana
Posts: 1,419
If I try to run bootpage -P "root=/dev/hdaX" -C /dev/hda with the X=7, I get the following error..

bootpage: unrecognized option `-C'

__________________
TCF Gamertag Database
Register your account name and games here!

Xbox Gamertag Database
Ekims is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-27-2005, 10:58 AM   #6 (Print)
n4zmz
TiVoholic
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 21
It appears that the -C is not required on the native bootpage command.

Try to change it with the -P and check it with the -p.

__________________
- Dennis
n4zmz is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-27-2005, 12:52 PM   #7 (Print)
JamieP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 461
Quote:
Originally Posted by n4zmz
It appears that the -C is not required on the native bootpage command.

Try to change it with the -P and check it with the -p.
Since this drive was "sleepered", I believe the simple bootpage change suggested by n4zmz may result in an unbootable system. The easiest thing to do is to reimage from a backup (instantcake, if you have no other backup image). You'll lose your recordings, but you'll get a stock tivo back. If you really want to keep the recordings, you can visit Deal Data Base and look for the thread on "unsleepering" a drive. Googling on "tivo unsleeper" should find it. It's non-trivial, and you'll need to make some adjustments to your recordings (clear CSO keys) to allow them to playback on the stock tivo software. I don't recommend this unless you have an interest in tivo hacking, which it appears you don't.
JamieP is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Underground Playground > TiVo Underground

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:26 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index