TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-27-2005, 11:49 AM   #1 (Print)
orange-man
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8
10-250 appears to be crashed, need advice

I turned on my 10-250 today to find that the I have no audio output and the video output is completely garbled. First it was just a sea of colors flickering in random patterns and then finally I could almost make our the menu for the Now Playing List, but the unit doesn't seem to respond to the remote control either. I am using component connections, not HDMI.

It seems like a total meltdown but before I over-react, is there anything I should try before calling DirecTV?

If I can't solve the problem, do I simply call DirecTV for a replacement or is there any better way? My unit is about 6 months old.

Thank you in advance.
orange-man is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-27-2005, 11:56 AM   #2 (Print)
Mark Lopez
Just click ignore
 
Mark Lopez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Hondo TX
Posts: 5,317
I'm assuming you already tried powering it down and back up?
Mark Lopez is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-27-2005, 12:15 PM   #3 (Print)
orange-man
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8
I unplugged it, waited about 30 seconds and then plugged it in again.
orange-man is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-27-2005, 01:14 PM   #4 (Print)
Mark Lopez
Just click ignore
 
Mark Lopez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Hondo TX
Posts: 5,317
Well, if it's still doing the same thing and you are sure it is not your TV, then it sounds like it's time for a replacement.
Mark Lopez is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-27-2005, 04:48 PM   #5 (Print)
orange-man
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8
Sorry to be such a newbie, but if I bought it at Best Buy, do I still get the replacement from DirecTV and do I need to provide my receipt or do they just go by when you initiatied service on the unit?
orange-man is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-28-2005, 07:47 PM   #6 (Print)
Shopguy7
Broadcast Maint Tech
 
Shopguy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: South East Michigan
Posts: 4
The unit should be returned to BestBuy, Yes a receipt would be wise to bring. Oh and if they conned you into an extended warranty then you are all set, although it should be covered by the factory warranty at 6 months. If you modified it in any way then un-do the mods.
Shopguy7 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Main TiVo Forums > HDTV TiVo Powered PVRs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:33 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index