TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-27-2005, 04:25 PM   #1 (Print)
sruegnit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1
HR10-250 Outputs

I have a DirectTV HD DVR Model HR10-250. The main output feeds an entertainment system just fine but I would like to use the A/V output to feed the input of a ChannelPlus RF modulator so that I can feed this signal to TV's in the home that don't have a satellite receiver. It seems that there is nothing coming out of the A/V output.

Suggestions?
sruegnit is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-27-2005, 04:34 PM   #2 (Print)
Guindalf
Master Of My Domain
 
Guindalf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 1,854
Quote:
Originally Posted by sruegnit
I have a DirectTV HD DVR Model HR10-250. The main output feeds an entertainment system just fine but I would like to use the A/V output to feed the input of a ChannelPlus RF modulator so that I can feed this signal to TV's in the home that don't have a satellite receiver. It seems that there is nothing coming out of the A/V output.

Suggestions?

You don't say what the "main" output is, but my guess is it is either HDMI or component. That will be all you get unless the unit is in 480i mode, so that's why nothing else is being output.

__________________
There is no dark side of the moon really - as a matter of fact, it's all dark

NE Georgia Motorcycling? Visit foothillsmc.com
Guindalf is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-27-2005, 04:43 PM   #3 (Print)
litzdog911
TechKnow Guide
 
litzdog911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mill Creek, Washington
Posts: 7,860
Send a message via AIM to litzdog911
The SVideo and composite video outputs are "dark" unless the HR10-250 is set to output 480i resolution.

__________________
Sony SAT-T60 120GB (v3.1.0c2)
HR10-250 HiDef 250GB (v3.1.5f)
R10 80GB (v6.1-01)
Sony SAT-A4, B4 Receivers
Sony KV-40XBR800 HDTV
litzdog911 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-27-2005, 09:27 PM   #4 (Print)
flmgrip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: los angeles, CA
Posts: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by sruegnit
I have a DirectTV HD DVR Model HR10-250. The main output feeds an entertainment system just fine but I would like to use the A/V output to feed the input of a ChannelPlus RF modulator so that I can feed this signal to TV's in the home that don't have a satellite receiver. It seems that there is nothing coming out of the A/V output.

Suggestions?


yes... why don't you NOT feed HD content in the worst possible way ? there is a reason the 10-250 does not have coax outputs anymore...

is there no way for you to run cables to the other TV's ?
flmgrip is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-27-2005, 11:44 PM   #5 (Print)
jautor
Also wants a pony
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 478
Well, here, let me try to be helpful...

The HR10-250 doesn't support *simultaneous* output at *both* SD and HD resolutions. So while you've got the unit set to output at 720p/1080i, the composite/s-video outputs will be dark.

But if you're trying to accomplish what I think you are, it can be done with only minor tweaks. While you're watching on the "main" outputs, you won't be able to watch on the modulated output, unless you switch the output resolution to 480i. If your main TV can handle 480i on its HDMI/DVI/Component input, then at least you'll still get an image (although not HD quality).

In the other rooms, assuming you have a remote control repeater set up through the ChannelPlus (or via some other means), you can toggle the HR10-250's output resolution by pressing up-arrow twice. Oh, you'll want to go through the setup menu to disable 480p and either 1080i/720p (whichever you don't use) as valid output resolutions. This will leave just 480i and one HD resolution, which makes the up-arrow-twice shortcut into a nice toggle.

So the procedure in the other rooms will be to change to the modulator channel, see static, press up-arrow twice, and then get the signal shown in 480i. When finished (or when you're back in the main room), press up-arrow twice again to get back to HD resolution...

Works very well to view the contents of the HR10-250 in other rooms, on non-HD equipment...

Jeff
jautor is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-29-2005, 05:11 PM   #6 (Print)
Vin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Clifton, NJ
Posts: 366
Quote:
Originally Posted by jautor

So the procedure in the other rooms will be to change to the modulator channel, see static, press up-arrow twice, and then get the signal shown in 480i. When finished (or when you're back in the main room), press up-arrow twice again to get back to HD resolution...

Works very well to view the contents of the HR10-250 in other rooms, on non-HD equipment...

Jeff

Jeff, I agree with everything you've said and I do exactly as you've described but I have one thing to add for the OP's benefit: being that my main set is a widescreen (16:9) and the remote TV in the bedroom is standard 4:3 aspect ratio, it's also necessary to change the output of the HR10-250 accordingly.

__________________
Vin
Vin is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-30-2005, 05:00 PM   #7 (Print)
jautor
Also wants a pony
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 478
Yeah, I leave the TiVo in "Full" mode (stretch) for SD material, so even with it set to 16:9, most material comes out fine. Exception is 4:3 material on HD or OTA stations, which doesn't bother me (I watch that so infrequently)...

Jeff
jautor is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Main TiVo Forums > HDTV TiVo Powered PVRs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:33 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index