TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-29-2005, 02:34 PM   #1 (Print)
yarzy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13
Question on the audio outs of DTivo

I have a DirecTV tivo unti (RCA) and I am wondering if the optical out on it works or is it disabled like the USB ports.

Thanks!
yarzy is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-29-2005, 02:46 PM   #2 (Print)
morgantown
DTV + Tvio = ;-)
 
morgantown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Morgantown, WV
Posts: 973
Optical out works great. Plug it in to the back of the TiVo and you'll see the red light on the other end of the cable...

__________________
Hughes DVR40, 120 hrs, 5/04
Philips DSR708, stock, 4/05
DirecTV R10, 2/06
The "other" DVR, 2/06 (inactive)
DTV & NFLST Since 1997, not looked back yet...
morgantown is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-29-2005, 02:58 PM   #3 (Print)
JimSpence
Finally own HR10-250
 
JimSpence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Binghamton, NY
Posts: 19,904
Of course, it will only work if you have an AV receiver that accepts optical inputs.

__________________
Jim
May all terrorists drop dead!
JimSpence is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-29-2005, 03:48 PM   #4 (Print)
Bob_Newhart
Hi Bob!
 
Bob_Newhart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,062
Just out of curiousity, is there a difference in sound quality between optical and the RCA outputs? I'm thinking my AV receiver may have optical but I've never even used them.

__________________
This is my amusing signature included at the bottom of each one of my posts. .
Bob_Newhart is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-29-2005, 03:52 PM   #5 (Print)
ebonovic
A TiVo Junkie...
 
ebonovic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Tinley Park, IL USA (SW ChicagoBurbs)
Posts: 8,245
On the SD units, I have found very little need... as the volume of SD and Dobly 5.1 is very low. Thus the analog outputs work fine.


On the HR10-250... different story... night and day.. .but that is more because that the HD content pushes 5.1 most of the time.

__________________
- Earl (XBL: Fontano)
Favorite 05/06 TV Lines: Karma! ; Suit Up! ; Legendary.....

Non-TiVo DirecTV DVR (R15,HR20) ->
DBSTalk
ebonovic is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-29-2005, 04:26 PM   #6 (Print)
JimSpence
Finally own HR10-250
 
JimSpence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Binghamton, NY
Posts: 19,904
Right. The main reason to use optical or coaxial outputs is for DD5.1 delivery.

__________________
Jim
May all terrorists drop dead!
JimSpence is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-29-2005, 05:36 PM   #7 (Print)
morgantown
DTV + Tvio = ;-)
 
morgantown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Morgantown, WV
Posts: 973
Double ditto on that one. HBO (East & West feeds only) is the only thing that really matters on my line-up. I have not done a PPV since early 2004 and don't recall if they have DD5.1.

__________________
Hughes DVR40, 120 hrs, 5/04
Philips DSR708, stock, 4/05
DirecTV R10, 2/06
The "other" DVR, 2/06 (inactive)
DTV & NFLST Since 1997, not looked back yet...
morgantown is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-29-2005, 08:55 PM   #8 (Print)
yarzy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13
What is a SD unit? I have a RCA DVR80 unit. Do you think it will matter? I think I am going to do it because it will bug me to know that I might be able to get better sound....
yarzy is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-29-2005, 09:05 PM   #9 (Print)
JimSpence
Finally own HR10-250
 
JimSpence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Binghamton, NY
Posts: 19,904
SD means standard definition. What we use to differentiate between regular DVRs and the hi def versions. Your DVR80 is an SD unit. Which will output DD5.1 if it is broadcast.

__________________
Jim
May all terrorists drop dead!
JimSpence is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-29-2005, 09:09 PM   #10 (Print)
Budget_HT
Heavy User (of TiVo)
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Renton, WA
Posts: 539
yarzy,

Your unit is an "SD" unit, meaning that it is standard definition TV, not high defintion TV (HD unit).

I have not checked for quite a while, but there used to be only 2 or 3 PPV channels that actually offered DD 5.1 audio, and the program guide showed so. HBO and Showtime used to also on their main channels.

The Dolby Digital 5.1 sound is the same as your DVDs typically provide, at least on the newer movies.

For non-DD 5.1 programs, the optical output provides 2-channel stereo, sometimes with matrixed Dolby Pro Logic surround, just like you get from the L+R analog audio outputs of your DirecTiVo.

__________________
Dave
Budget_HT is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-29-2005, 09:30 PM   #11 (Print)
nickg2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 21
a total DUH moment for me occured when i got my TIVO back in november -- i hooked up the optical output from it to my receiver and actually noticed for the first time that my DD light on my receiver actually lit up. where the hell have i been all this time??

but i have noticed better audio separation even on non DD channels since i hooked up the optical. i'm also running optical from my Panasonic DVD player/recorder as well, but still run the analog outs from my Pioneer DVD player for DVD-A/SACD.
nickg2 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-30-2005, 09:56 AM   #12 (Print)
Trebor1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 84
IMO
Optical sounds better than analog even in 2.0...hook it up.

Much of the Starz/Encore programing is in 5.1
Trebor1 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-30-2005, 10:16 AM   #13 (Print)
dtremain
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 972
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trebor1
IMO
Optical sounds better than analog even in 2.0...hook it up.
Yes. Because the decoders in most av receivers are better than the decoder in the TiVo unit. It is also generally better to listen to DVDs or CDs through the av receiver's decoder than the player's.

Same reason.
dtremain is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-30-2005, 03:33 PM   #14 (Print)
JimSpence
Finally own HR10-250
 
JimSpence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Binghamton, NY
Posts: 19,904
More and more network HD is also in DD5.1.

__________________
Jim
May all terrorists drop dead!
JimSpence is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Main TiVo Forums > DIRECTV Receiver with TiVo

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:43 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index