TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-22-2005, 04:47 PM   #1 (Print)
baward
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 6
Is it my remote?

My Thomson Scenium has developed a rather serious problem, for me anyway. I was cleaning up yesterday and had to reconnect the TiVo. On first connection, I can 'see' the Tivo but if I try to use any button on the remote I immediately cannot get any live TV to appear, nor can I get to any menu, change channel etc. - in fact anything.

I have re-checked connections (Freeview box > Tivo > TV), replaced Scart cables and even swapped remotes for my spare one (with different batteries) but still no functionality.

I have a vague memory of a simliar thing happening a few years ago and I ended up sorting it with the help of Tivo CS but I can't remember what I did now! Before I call them, I wonder if anyone has any ideas?

Thanks in advance,
Ben
baward is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-22-2005, 07:06 PM   #2 (Print)
blindlemon
tivoheaven.co.uk
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Malmesbury, UK
Posts: 3,200
What is your TiVo showing on the TV?

Are there any lights lit on the front panel? If there's a green light, does it briefly turn orange when you press a key on the remote?

__________________
6023, Lifetime, 240gb (Samsung) Sky, CacheCard, Mode 0, 100+ SPs/AWLs
6022, Lifetime, 160gb (Seagate), Freeview, Turbonet, Mode 0, 90+ SPs/AWLs
601E, Lifetime, ... my 'test' machine!
blindlemon is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-23-2005, 03:52 AM   #3 (Print)
baward
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 6
Thanks for your reply.

The TV displays the dialogue "The recorder cannot display Live TV. Try these tips one at a time:" etc. I have tried all the tips to no avail.

Yes, the orange light still blinks when I press any button on the remote, even though nothing happens.
baward is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-23-2005, 04:35 AM   #4 (Print)
randap
Knee-down scratcher?
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 109
Might seem silly, but is the freeview box turned on? I occasionally find myself troubleshooting the same symptoms, only to realise the Sky box is in standby!!

__________________
TiVo 6023 200Gb with TiVoweb (secured with Orenosp), Hackman, and lots of other stuff I'm only beginning to learn.......working on a custom theme
randap is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-23-2005, 05:14 AM   #5 (Print)
baward
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 6
Yes, the Freeview box is turned on and happy. The signal from it comes through the Tivo (and hence is displayed on the TV set) fine when I (re)plug the Fv > Tivo Scart in, but whenever I attempt to press any channel button on the Tivo remote, the "Cannot display live TV" dialogue appears. I can use the Tivo menu however, and hence watch previously recorded material, change settings, reset the recorder etc.
baward is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-23-2005, 05:32 AM   #6 (Print)
Glesgie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: London
Posts: 194
Check that pressing the AUX button on the TiVo remote shows the Freeview channel.
If it does not then you have probably plugged the SCART from the Freeview into the wrong socket (should be AUX) on the TiVo.
Glesgie is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo UK

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index