TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-02-2004, 04:14 PM   #1 (Print)
managerxxx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 58
Picture Quality on Aux

Hi

Been having issues for months now with TV on AUX. The picture is flickery and switches between B&W and bright green/pink/blue. TIVO TV is perfect.

I have tried swapping out all cables and have tried every setting possible to no avail. Aux TV was OK from new. My set up is SKY digital from Pace Sky+ box-->TIVO-->RGB2SVIDEO-->AV AMP->Sony TV on AV1

The sky box works OK if I bypass the TIVO;
Other video sources - e.g DVD work fine through the AV Amp;
I have swapped out the RGB2SVIDEO (and have tried bypassing it);
I have tried removing any possible sources of interference to no avail;

(I have done all the picture tweaking stuff mentioned elsewhere in this forum but the picture issues existed before this dabbling)

The ONLY thing I have to go on is a whole stack of LOST VBI LOCK messages in the Tivo logs. Is this related?

Anyone any ideas as to what might be the cause?

Thanks in advance.
managerxxx is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 08-02-2004, 05:20 PM   #2 (Print)
Mike B
Senior Munkee
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Reading, Berkshire (UK)
Posts: 318
Send a message via MSN to Mike B
What happens if you plug the TiVo directly into the TV?

(Not related to the problem, but more out of curiosity, why are you converting the output from the TiVo into S-Video? RGB gives a much better quality picture)

__________________
Mike
[Thomson Scenium 6020 160GB (53 hours best) / (Currently uncontactable) Airnet, TiVoWeb / DTT - Labgear SetPal]
Mike B is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 08-03-2004, 02:19 AM   #3 (Print)
managerxxx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 58
Thanks

Mmmm Strange, I'm sure I've tried that a million times before but TIVO-->TV is OK (albeit the image is letterboxed on my old fashioned :-( TV).

I'm converting to S-Video as my AV Amp won't switch RGB video.

What I can't make out is why Tivo TV will show OK but AUX TV will not - what's different about the signal.
managerxxx is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 08-03-2004, 06:49 AM   #4 (Print)
Mike B
Senior Munkee
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Reading, Berkshire (UK)
Posts: 318
Send a message via MSN to Mike B
If (TIVO) -->(TV) is ok, then its either the AV amp or the RGB2SVIDEO converter causing the problem. Is either (TIVO)-->(RGB2SVIDEO)-->(TV) or (TIVO)-->(AV-AMP)-->(TV) ok?

Maybe its the combination of the RGB2SVIDEO converter and the AV-Amp thats doing it - the RGB2SVIDEO converter could be doing something to the signal thats upsetting the AV amp. Could be something that the Sky box is outputting the doesn't get recorded

I've got similar equipment to you, but just connected differently:

(STB)--->(TIVO AUX SCART)
(VCR)--->(TIVO VCR SCART)
(TIVO TV SCART)--->(Sony TV AV1)
(DVD Player)--->(Sony TV AV2)
(Sony TV Audio Out)--->(AV-AMP Line-In)

This way, only the audio goes to the amp, and the video signal doesn't pass through it, so the quality doesn't get degraded. Is there a need to push it all through the amp?

__________________
Mike
[Thomson Scenium 6020 160GB (53 hours best) / (Currently uncontactable) Airnet, TiVoWeb / DTT - Labgear SetPal]
Mike B is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 08-03-2004, 02:04 PM   #5 (Print)
managerxxx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 58
Thanks Mike.

Yep I'm a bit of a purist and would rather not run the video through the AV Amp but it does make a nice, simple solution for non techies - simply select the source on the Amp and everything is switched auto-magically.

I ended taking the set up back to basics to try and spot the deliberate mistake. Glad I did as I found that the DIP switches on the RGB2SVIDEO had been tampered with. Lo and behold everything is now working as designed.

Thanks again.
managerxxx is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo UK

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:14 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index