TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-24-2004, 08:25 AM   #1 (Print)
B33K34
ENABLED!
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: London
Posts: 345
Accessing Tivoweb over the internet

I'm trying to get TivoWeb accessible over the internet but i'm running into problems so any pointers would be appreciated. I away for Christmas and was hoping to be able to come in and set any recordings i wanted using my palmpilot.

I've a Netgear DG814 Router and i've set up DynDNS and it seems to be working - my address exists and Router is communicating with DynDNS to keep it up to date.
On the router in 'Port Forwarding' i've added an entry that redirects HTTP from port 15000 to 15000 for the IP address of the server.

I've installed Orenosp (08.0 from http://hp.vector.co.jp/authors/VA02...p/index_en.html ) on my 'server' PC with the port set to 15000. I can connect to localhost:15000 on that PC and it gives me a password protected login to Tivoweb so i know that Orenosp is running and working. However, i can't connect to it from another PC on my network or via the internet:

If i try to access [http://my.server.ip:15000] from another pc it times out.
If i use my browser to navigate to [http://my.dyndns.org:15000] i just get a 'connection refused' message.

I'm running XP SP2. Somewhere i did find a note indicating some Orenosp issues but with a link to a patch from Microsoft which i've installed so that shouldnt be affecting me. (I can't find where i got that from right now but i'll have another look).

I'm sure there's something obvious i'm missing here.

__________________
Tivo since December 2002. 2x120gb Seagate (81hrs 56mins at best). Cachecard with 256mb, TivoWebPlus (internet secured with Orenosp), Endpad. Freeview Pace DTR210T.
B33K34 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-24-2004, 08:30 AM   #2 (Print)
dswallow
+258PC
 
dswallow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Long Branch, NJ, USA
Posts: 27,809
Send a message via ICQ to dswallow
Is Windows Firewall enabled? If so, you probably need to add a rule to permit access to TCP port 15000 to it (turn it off temporarily to see if that allows access to it, then worry about configuring it once confirmed)

Control Panel / Security Center
dswallow is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-24-2004, 08:35 AM   #3 (Print)
pauljs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Surrey
Posts: 262
Is the Windows XP firewall blocking the incoming connection, try disabling it first to see if that works.

I would suggest using a dial up connection to be sure it's working from outside your network

<edit> previous post beat me to it</edit>
pauljs is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-24-2004, 09:20 AM   #4 (Print)
B33K34
ENABLED!
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: London
Posts: 345
Balls. Yep, XP Firewall was preventing me connecting from the other pc on my network (i thought i'd disabled it ages ago). So, on my network i connect to https://192.168.0.20:15000 and get my password challenge from orenosp - stage 1 complete!

Outside connections are still not happening:

My router is set up to redirect port 15000 to port 15000 on 192.168.0.20

When I try to connect to [http://my.dyndns.org:15000] I still get a timeout.

__________________
Tivo since December 2002. 2x120gb Seagate (81hrs 56mins at best). Cachecard with 256mb, TivoWebPlus (internet secured with Orenosp), Endpad. Freeview Pace DTR210T.
B33K34 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-24-2004, 04:58 PM   #5 (Print)
pauljs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Surrey
Posts: 262
Quote:
Originally posted by B33K34
Balls. Yep, XP Firewall was preventing me connecting from the other pc on my network (i thought i'd disabled it ages ago). So, on my network i connect to https://192.168.0.20:15000 and get my password challenge from orenosp - stage 1 complete!

Outside connections are still not happening:

My router is set up to redirect port 15000 to port 15000 on 192.168.0.20

When I try to connect to [http://my.dyndns.org:15000] I still get a timeout.


Are you connecting to https://my.dyndns.org:15000 or http://my.dyndns.org:15000 ?
pauljs is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-25-2004, 04:31 AM   #6 (Print)
B33K34
ENABLED!
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: London
Posts: 345
I've tried both - neither is working. Which should it be?

__________________
Tivo since December 2002. 2x120gb Seagate (81hrs 56mins at best). Cachecard with 256mb, TivoWebPlus (internet secured with Orenosp), Endpad. Freeview Pace DTR210T.
B33K34 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-25-2004, 05:04 AM   #7 (Print)
Fatbloke
Registered User
 
Fatbloke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Deepest Barking
Posts: 600
I also tried this way back, but even with changing the '# listen port' parameter, on orenosp it didn't work for me. Might have been a firewall thing on the router, but couldn't find it.

I ended up sticking to the default port (443)

Also that ment access through https://my.domain/ worked straight off.

__________________
Cheers,

FB

120G TiVo 6023 Airnet enabled. NTL PACE 1000 Cable Box. Sony KV32FX60 Tv. Pinnacle Showcenter. Netgem Iplayer DTV
See my UK TiVo upgrade diary - LARGE disk upgrades, Cachecard install, Airnet install, Tivoweb and Mobile Tivo
Fatbloke is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-25-2004, 05:16 PM   #8 (Print)
pauljs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Surrey
Posts: 262
I had orenosp working a while back with port 19990, it seemed fine but now I am using the Win32 version of apache with no problems.

That was before XP SP2 so don't know if this is still an issue
pauljs is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-10-2005, 08:38 AM   #9 (Print)
B33K34
ENABLED!
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: London
Posts: 345
After another play at the weekend i'm nearly there.....Orenosp is successfully dealing with requests from inside and outside my network on port 443 so I can now access from work.

However, I can't get my Palm Tungsten to work with it via GPRS. I thought the Web Pro browser on the Tungsten would handle SSL - has anyone else had any success with this or do i need to downgrade the secruity somehow?

__________________
Tivo since December 2002. 2x120gb Seagate (81hrs 56mins at best). Cachecard with 256mb, TivoWebPlus (internet secured with Orenosp), Endpad. Freeview Pace DTR210T.
B33K34 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-10-2005, 08:49 AM   #10 (Print)
Fred Smith
Still learning
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Reading, England
Posts: 478
Can you access other web pages OK on your Palm?

__________________
6022, 240Gb, TurboNET, TiVo Web V1.9.4, remote access via Orenosp, PDA & XHTML over IP mobile phone browser, NTL 750K BB, Amstrad (TechniSat) DRX 300 RGB, SkyEye iTV, Labgear DTT 100 SetPal RF.

Panasonic DRME-85HEBS, Labgear DTT 100 SetPal RGB, TechniSat CAM 1 Plus (Astra 1 & Hotbird) with JS Tech RGB to S-video converter, Pace MSS-100 (Astra 1C) composite video.

Philips DVDR 70, Pace BSB 2200 RGB, SkyEye T-Vo, Labgear DTT 100 SetPal composite video, Amstrad SRD 510 (Astra 1C) composite video.
Fred Smith is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-10-2005, 09:04 AM   #11 (Print)
B33K34
ENABLED!
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: London
Posts: 345
Web sites work fine - including encrypted sites such as Co-Op's internet banking. I seem to remember using it for amazon orders as well. Most things work so long as they stick to HTML.

However, Orenosp seems to be using 256bit encryption whilst the co-op are using 128bit. I've a feeling the Palm can only handle 128 - can this be configured in Orenosp?

__________________
Tivo since December 2002. 2x120gb Seagate (81hrs 56mins at best). Cachecard with 256mb, TivoWebPlus (internet secured with Orenosp), Endpad. Freeview Pace DTR210T.

Last edited by B33K34 : 01-10-2005 at 09:54 AM.
B33K34 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-11-2005, 06:24 AM   #12 (Print)
B33K34
ENABLED!
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: London
Posts: 345
moved to thread "Tivoweb via GPRS phone/ Palm Tungsten " to identify the change in issue.

__________________
Tivo since December 2002. 2x120gb Seagate (81hrs 56mins at best). Cachecard with 256mb, TivoWebPlus (internet secured with Orenosp), Endpad. Freeview Pace DTR210T.
B33K34 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo UK

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:30 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index