TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-11-2005, 01:08 PM   #1 (Print)
the new guy
Sarcastic Person
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Fort Collins CO
Posts: 273
Send a message via AIM to the new guy
DirecTV DVR 6.2/HMO questions thread

OK, I am starting this thread so we will have a place to post questions and/or comments about the 6.2 DTiVo OS and the patch from the other forum which will enable HMO on it. Seeing as how the moving to 4.0 thread has survived as long as it has, I am hoping the mods will allow this one to stay, as well.

First off, as of the posting date, 6.2 has not yet officially been released for most of us, though it should be activated starting in the next week or so. There are ways to activate the software sitting dormant on our DTiVo drives, but since the official activation is imminent, let's try to avoid that topic.

Secondly, there has been a patch released on the other forum which activates the HMO features within the 6.2 software. Obviously, a link cannot be provided, and the file cannot be posted here, but Google is your friend, and a search for "superpatch-67all" should get you there. The patch is executed pretty much the same way as the 4.x patch, meaning you need to have a hacked system, with FTP and telnet at the minimum, and a tivoapp that has not been patched in any way.

Third, we should understand that this hack may no longer be available should D* decide to charge for the HMO option on their DVR's. Meaning, of course, that this thread and any others that spring up here (or the other forum, for that matter) would most likely be deleted. Given D*'s track record so far, this seems a fairly remote possibility, but you never know.

That said, let's all enjoy the ride, and the opportunity to actually have a legitimate software release from D* with all the cool toys in it.

Tim

__________________
RCA DVR40 - 120GB with 6.2, hacked
Hughes SD-DVR80 - 80GB 6.2, hacked

Last edited by the new guy : 05-11-2005 at 01:37 PM.
the new guy is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-11-2005, 01:37 PM   #2 (Print)
the new guy
Sarcastic Person
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Fort Collins CO
Posts: 273
Send a message via AIM to the new guy
Fixed original post for Google search term...

Tim

__________________
RCA DVR40 - 120GB with 6.2, hacked
Hughes SD-DVR80 - 80GB 6.2, hacked
the new guy is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-11-2005, 02:39 PM   #3 (Print)
SteelersFan
Registered User
 
SteelersFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Saugus, CA
Posts: 245
Thanks Tim! I am in So Cal and have gotten 6.2 on all three of my units. I have been thinking of hacking to 4.01b and have read quite a bit but hadn't pulled the trigger yet. With this new patch I am very interested in a guide for those of us who have unhacked units and 6.2 that want MRV and HMO.

__________________
"Either get busy livin' or get busy diein'."
DSR7000 - 144 Hrs (FR)
DSR704 - 105 Hrs (MBR)
SIR-S4080R (BR)
DVR80 - (BR)
SD-DVR40 - (Office)
All Zippered!
SteelersFan is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-11-2005, 03:00 PM   #4 (Print)
tivo elvis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 84
right there with you (unhacked 6.2 machines).

Since I will have to borrow a PC to get FTP and Telnet running, that first bit is going to be the biggest challenge for me.

Anybody have a readable/understandable reference for getting the first part done?
tivo elvis is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-11-2005, 03:16 PM   #5 (Print)
Kyotech
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 48
Stupid question: How do you get FTP/Telnet running an unhacked 6.2 machine? I thought that the USB port was inactive on 6.2. I guess the drive would have to removed?

I think I will start a new thread, Noob questions to 6.2/HMO

Last edited by Kyotech : 05-11-2005 at 04:51 PM.
Kyotech is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-11-2005, 04:36 PM   #6 (Print)
aristoBrat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Va Beach, VA
Posts: 640
IIRC, the USB port *is* active in 6.2, it's just that netfilter is running and blocking pretty much all traffic sent to the TiVo.
aristoBrat is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-11-2005, 04:54 PM   #7 (Print)
Kyotech
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by aristoBrat
IIRC, the USB port *is* active in 6.2, it's just that netfilter is running and blocking pretty much all traffic sent to the TiVo.


OK, if netfilter is running, how would we get around it?
Kyotech is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-11-2005, 04:57 PM   #8 (Print)
tivo elvis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 84
I just thought about this, do you really even need to get FTP running, couldn't you just transfer superpatch when you've got the drive pulled to add telnet? then telnet in to the reassembled Tivo and apply the patch?
tivo elvis is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-11-2005, 07:24 PM   #9 (Print)
aristoBrat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Va Beach, VA
Posts: 640
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyotech
OK, if netfilter is running, how would we get around it?

Click on the link on the link.
Look at step #3b.
http://www.blipnet.net/archives/200...pgrading-to-62/
aristoBrat is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-11-2005, 07:30 PM   #10 (Print)
aristoBrat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Va Beach, VA
Posts: 640
Quote:
Originally Posted by tivo elvis
I just thought about this, do you really even need to get FTP running, couldn't you just transfer superpatch when you've got the drive pulled to add telnet? then telnet in to the reassembled Tivo and apply the patch?

Yes, you could.

But if one of the hardest parts of upgrading is having to pull the drive to copy files over because FTP isn't installed, why wouldn't you want to install it while your drive is pulled (so you won't have to pull your drive again for the next upgrade...)?
aristoBrat is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-11-2005, 09:03 PM   #11 (Print)
Kyotech
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by aristoBrat
Click on the link on the link.
Look at step #3b.
http://www.blipnet.net/archives/200...pgrading-to-62/



So this can be done with the drive in the Tivo? But there is no FTP/Telnet right?
Kyotech is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-11-2005, 09:13 PM   #12 (Print)
aristoBrat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Va Beach, VA
Posts: 640
I did step #3b with the drive in my TiVo, but only because my TiVo already had telnet/FTP already enabled (which I did back a few months ago when I put 4.0 on it).

I do not know of any way to upgrade a DTiVo without having to pull the drive out of the TiVo at least one time to enable telnet/FTP.
aristoBrat is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-12-2005, 08:15 AM   #13 (Print)
paulfitz
6.2 MRV is awesome
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: MA
Posts: 38
I for one, did not go to 4.0 and therefore do not care about upgrading from the slices. I would like to get a clean 6.2, make a backup and then apply the correct kernel patches to enable ftp/telnet, then apply the superpatch-67all and TiVoWeb+.

The only issue I am having is finding the correct version and instructions for the killhdinitrd.

The superpatch-67all has very good instructions already.

__________________
RCA DVR40 140 hr
RCA DVR80 177 hr
Both... 6.2/Superpatched/TiVoWebPlus/Tyshow/many others
paulfitz is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-12-2005, 08:18 AM   #14 (Print)
dgilbert
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Royersford, PA
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyotech
So this can be done with the drive in the Tivo? But there is no FTP/Telnet right?


Correct, you must have FTP/Telnet and that requires pulling the drive.

__________________
HDVR2 40/120Gb 6.2 HMO/MRV/TWP
HDVR2 160Gb 6.2 HMO/MRV/TWP
HDVR2 40/80GB 6.2 HMO/MRV/TWP
GXCEBOT 40/80Gb (retired)
Sony SAT-T60 stock (retired)
dgilbert is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-12-2005, 08:33 AM   #15 (Print)
aristoBrat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Va Beach, VA
Posts: 640
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulfitz
The only issue I am having is finding the correct version and instructions for the killhdinitrd.

I'm not sure if finding = finding the actual file, but if you're looking for the version number, a killhdinitrd'ed 3.1.5 kernel runs on 6.2

I got mine from the source mentioned in step #2 of the 4.0 guide.
http://www.dellanave.com/projects/tivo/4xrid.html

Instructions for applying it are on step #7 of the 4.0 guide

Instructions for enabling the networking on 6.2 are on step #3b of this "not-a-guide":
http://www.blipnet.net/archives/200...pgrading-to-62/
aristoBrat is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-12-2005, 12:02 PM   #16 (Print)
dgilbert
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Royersford, PA
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulfitz
The only issue I am having is finding the correct version and instructions for the killhdinitrd.


The PTVupgrade LBA48 4.01 cd includes a 3.1.5 kernel. As aristoBrat said, you should be able to use the 4.0 guide.

__________________
HDVR2 40/120Gb 6.2 HMO/MRV/TWP
HDVR2 160Gb 6.2 HMO/MRV/TWP
HDVR2 40/80GB 6.2 HMO/MRV/TWP
GXCEBOT 40/80Gb (retired)
Sony SAT-T60 stock (retired)
dgilbert is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-12-2005, 01:19 PM   #17 (Print)
tivo elvis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 84
In my effort to understand all that needs to be done (to add HMO to 6.2), I've compiled the various instructions into one document. I know my setup has to be flawed (or completely wrong), so if anyone is bored and could use a good laugh, I really could use some feedback.

I don't want to post anything here (it'll just clutter the thread with bad info that'll end up confusing people) so I'd prefer to send it via PM or email...

thanks in advance

Last edited by tivo elvis : 05-12-2005 at 01:47 PM.
tivo elvis is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-12-2005, 02:07 PM   #18 (Print)
SteelersFan
Registered User
 
SteelersFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Saugus, CA
Posts: 245
Quote:
Originally Posted by tivo elvis
In my effort to understand all that needs to be done (to add HMO to 6.2), I've compiled the various instructions into one document. I know my setup has to be flawed (or completely wrong), so if anyone is bored and could use a good laugh, I really could use some feedback.

I don't want to post anything here (it'll just clutter the thread with bad info that'll end up confusing people) so I'd prefer to send it via PM or email...

thanks in advance

Elvis,
Let us know how things turn out. I know a lot of us are looking for something like this (an accurate guide)!

__________________
"Either get busy livin' or get busy diein'."
DSR7000 - 144 Hrs (FR)
DSR704 - 105 Hrs (MBR)
SIR-S4080R (BR)
DVR80 - (BR)
SD-DVR40 - (Office)
All Zippered!
SteelersFan is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-12-2005, 02:30 PM   #19 (Print)
Kyotech
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 48
I got the 6.2 image from Alphawolf off of emule but I'm still trying to figure out what to do with it. I hope your guide covers that. Once I figure that out I'm loading it onto a spare 20gig HDD.
Kyotech is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-12-2005, 02:41 PM   #20 (Print)
tivo elvis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 84
whoops, looks like people have the wrong idea... I have no idea what I'm doing, just trying to ask all of my dumb questions at one time, so that I don't end up having to pull my Tivo apart 50 times because I screwed it up.

I should say that I'm not building a guide, just listing what I think I need to do to put HMO on a machine that already has 6.2 on it.

That being said, I still need help, and the knowledgable people here (and that other place) despise guides, and tend to not help people that are trying to compile guides. Besides, using anything I've written to try and upgrade your Tivo would be like using a peanut butter sandwich to change your tire (it on't work and people will just laugh at you for trying)

I'll certainly pass on anything I learn but I won't really have anything to release into the wild (a guide), and I'm not knowledgable enough to help at all, really.

Last edited by tivo elvis : 05-12-2005 at 02:54 PM.
tivo elvis is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-12-2005, 02:55 PM   #21 (Print)
kschauwe
Registered User
 
kschauwe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Bowling Green, Ohio
Posts: 461
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyotech
I got the 6.2 image from Alphawolf off of emule but I'm still trying to figure out what to do with it. I hope your guide covers that. Once I figure that out I'm loading it onto a spare 20gig HDD.

Just copy it to a fat32 formated HD, and use hinsdale's guide to restore/expand it to a 10GB-250Gb HD:
mkdir /mnt/dos
mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/dos
mfsrestore -s 127 -xzpi /mnt/dos/62small.mfs /dev/hdb
umount -f -a -r

__________________
DirectTv since 11/96; DTivo since 11/04.
SD-DVR40 (dvr4me) 6.2 Zippered, 304 hrs (WD 320Gb).
HDVR2 6.2, 146 hrs (Seagate 160Gb).
"If It's Not a Tivo, Then It's Just a PVR"
kschauwe is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-12-2005, 03:30 PM   #22 (Print)
TivoSaved TV
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Can't tell you - Someone is on a mission to remove my DNS because I also have locals!
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by tivo elvis
whoops, looks like people have the wrong idea... I have no idea what I'm doing, just trying to ask all of my dumb questions at one time, so that I don't end up having to pull my Tivo apart 50 times because I screwed it up.

I should say that I'm not building a guide, just listing what I think I need to do to put HMO on a machine that already has 6.2 on it.

That being said, I still need help, and the knowledgable people here (and that other place) despise guides, and tend to not help people that are trying to compile guides. Besides, using anything I've written to try and upgrade your Tivo would be like using a peanut butter sandwich to change your tire (it on't work and people will just laugh at you for trying)

I'll certainly pass on anything I learn but I won't really have anything to release into the wild (a guide), and I'm not knowledgable enough to help at all, really.



I am going to go against the 'grain' and state that I believe guides are a good tool as long as they are well written and the person that is using it knows and understands it is just a guide. I believe they are a great tool to help organize your thoughts and keep you going in the right direction. They also allow you to research on your own, items you do not understand and points you in the right direction for that help.

Most of the people in this forum, including myself, would not have known how to or been able to successfully put 4.0 on our systems without the guide to 'guide' us along.

__________________
SHHHH - Don't tell DirecTV, but my Tivos have MRV and HMO

Hughes HDVR2 - 35 hrs
Hughes HDVR2 - 105 hrs
Hughes SD DVR80 - 67 hrs
Samsung SIR 4040 -35 hrs


White Area - all 4 unless I move
TivoSaved TV is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-12-2005, 04:11 PM   #23 (Print)
the new guy
Sarcastic Person
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Fort Collins CO
Posts: 273
Send a message via AIM to the new guy
I, too, believe a guide can be a valuable tool. Hell, I never would have gotten to 4.0 without one. The problem with the guide is keeping it current, and providing support to folks who just can't seem to get their heads around it. How many posts are there in the moving to 4.0 thread from people who ask if the drive needs to be mounted in a PC, or if the commands have to be typed exactly as printed?

Anyone who wishes to create a guide needs to be prepared to deal with questions like that, and not put the guide out there and abandon it.

Tim

__________________
RCA DVR40 - 120GB with 6.2, hacked
Hughes SD-DVR80 - 80GB 6.2, hacked
the new guy is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-12-2005, 06:15 PM   #24 (Print)
aristoBrat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Va Beach, VA
Posts: 640
... which is a huge reason there aren't many guides, IMO
aristoBrat is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-12-2005, 10:25 PM   #25 (Print)
Frostbyte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 10
So is there any advantage to moving to 6.2 (with HMO/MRV enabled) over 4.0.1b (with HMO/MRV enabled)? Seems like it might be more effort than it's worth but maybe I'm missing something.
Frostbyte is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-12-2005, 10:29 PM   #26 (Print)
farleyruskz
Nunya
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Posts: 892
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frostbyte
So is there any advantage to moving to 6.2 (with HMO/MRV enabled) over 4.0.1b (with HMO/MRV enabled)? Seems like it might be more effort than it's worth but maybe I'm missing something.


Right now, the main advantage is speed. The database engine in 6.2 is very fast, which makes browsing through the guide, performing Wishlist searches, etc. much faster. I upgraded one of my HDVR2's from 4.0.1b to 6.2 today and the speed difference is very noticable. It also restores the channel logos in the Now Playing list, which my wife missed after the move to 4.0.1b.
farleyruskz is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-12-2005, 10:34 PM   #27 (Print)
Frostbyte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by farleyruskz
Right now, the main advantage is speed. The database engine in 6.2 is very fast, which makes browsing through the guide, performing Wishlist searches, etc. much faster. I upgraded one of my HDVR2's from 4.0.1b to 6.2 today and the speed difference is very noticable. It also restores the channel logos in the Now Playing list, which my wife missed after the move to 4.0.1b.


Great, thanks! Maybe I'll have to look into it now...
Frostbyte is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-13-2005, 12:17 AM   #28 (Print)
Kyotech
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 48
Let me run this buy everybody and you tell me what you think. Install PTVnet and 3.1.1e from InstantCake on new HDD. Now networking is installed/enabled. Let the 6.2 upgrade happen on the 16th, or whenever. Will this work or am I just too much of a noob?
Kyotech is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-13-2005, 12:34 AM   #29 (Print)
farleyruskz
Nunya
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Posts: 892
Well, when the 6.2 upgrade comes through on its own, it will wipe out the network hacks and leave you with 6.2 as-is.
farleyruskz is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-13-2005, 12:38 AM   #30 (Print)
Kyotech
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by kschauwe
Just copy it to a fat32 formated HD, and use hinsdale's guide to restore/expand it to a 10GB-250Gb HD:
mkdir /mnt/dos
mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/dos
mfsrestore -s 127 -xzpi /mnt/dos/62small.mfs /dev/hdb
umount -f -a -r


Thanks, got 6.2 up and running on a spare HDD. Now to figure out how to enable Telnet/FTP so I can load HMO. I know I have to remove the HDD to do it but I wanted to see if 6.2 would work first.
Kyotech is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Underground Playground > TiVo Underground

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index