TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-31-2005, 10:57 AM   #1 (Print)
IwantmyTiVo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 378
Monk and Dead Zone

If you like these shows and have deleted the season passes during their haitus, they are going to be showing new Christmas episodes on Friday, November 25 (Monk) and Sunday, November 27 (Dead Zone).
IwantmyTiVo is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 10-31-2005, 11:16 AM   #2 (Print)
rkester
Objects in Mirror...
 
rkester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: tulsa area, jOklahoma
Posts: 5,204
Yea! Meesa love Monk (I miss Sharona) and Dead Zone!

__________________
TCF Xbox GamerTag Database
gamertag: teamdeadbunny
rkester is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 11-01-2005, 09:27 AM   #3 (Print)
AbMagFab
I go where Tivo goes
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,720
Quote:
Originally Posted by IwantmyTiVo
If you like these shows and have deleted the season passes during their haitus, they are going to be showing new Christmas episodes on Friday, November 25 (Monk) and Sunday, November 27 (Dead Zone).


Why would you delete the season passes? That's the whole point, to have them catch things like this, and whenever the new season starts, they show up on Now Playing.

__________________
Tivo since '99, DirecTV since *96
2x SAT-T60 140G 3.1.0c2
4x SD-DVR40 250G 6.2
2x HR10 500G 3.1.5f
All-TWeb+, TyTool, caller-id

OTA HD is 100% reliable

Save me Tivo Series 3!!!!
AbMagFab is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 11-01-2005, 09:58 AM   #4 (Print)
dcheesi
Registered User
 
dcheesi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Roanoke VA, USA
Posts: 2,632
Quote:
Originally Posted by AbMagFab
Why would you delete the season passes? That's the whole point, to have them catch things like this, and whenever the new season starts, they show up on Now Playing.
Some people like to keep their SP List "tidy", and others want to avoid spurious recordings of reruns (as we all know FRO isn't perfect). Also, if you use a lot of auto-record Wishlists, they can slow things down in the menus.

Personally I'm with you, though; why go to the trouble of deleting them all and having to redo them later? (I guess that's why I never make my bed either ) Plus the chance of forgetting to set up a particular show again...

__________________
By will alone I set my mind in motion. By the brew of Cafe, thoughts acquire speed; the hands acquire shakes, the shakes become a warning...
dcheesi is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 11-01-2005, 10:08 AM   #5 (Print)
AbMagFab
I go where Tivo goes
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,720
And, you'd miss these Holiday episodes. The beauty of SP's is that you put them in and forget them.

Menu slowdown, and the once-in-a-while repeat, is far preferable to missing a show (to me).

__________________
Tivo since '99, DirecTV since *96
2x SAT-T60 140G 3.1.0c2
4x SD-DVR40 250G 6.2
2x HR10 500G 3.1.5f
All-TWeb+, TyTool, caller-id

OTA HD is 100% reliable

Save me Tivo Series 3!!!!
AbMagFab is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 11-01-2005, 12:52 PM   #6 (Print)
rkester
Objects in Mirror...
 
rkester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: tulsa area, jOklahoma
Posts: 5,204
I keep all my SPs in place unless I just dont want it to record the show anymore. Even shows I know Ive seen all of just for kicks. Nice when it catches something you didnt realize was on. Like DZ or Monk

__________________
TCF Xbox GamerTag Database
gamertag: teamdeadbunny
rkester is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 11-01-2005, 08:02 PM   #7 (Print)
ronsch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Tallahassee, FL, USA
Posts: 1,186
Send a message via AIM to ronsch
USA has pushed back the air dates of both of these specials by one week.

__________________
dd_rescue evangelist & scuba diver
ronsch is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 11-03-2005, 09:22 PM   #8 (Print)
matwell
Long Live TiVo!
 
matwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 5
Monk and Dead Zone

I agree. Why delete your SP's during a hiatus? I keep all of my SP's active during "off seasons" and then, when the new episodes roll around, TiVo works its magic! That's one of the things I really love about TiVo. Set it and forget it.
matwell is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 11-03-2005, 10:10 PM   #9 (Print)
Mystic6
trying to keep up...
 
Mystic6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Worth, IL
Posts: 379
The HR10-250 gets slower the more Season Passes you have - painfully slower. So on mine I delete them after each season of shows and put new ones in when the time comes. I know I can count on seeing notices here or the flashes they put up during other shows.
Mystic6 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 11-04-2005, 12:19 PM   #10 (Print)
sieglinde
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Ridgecrest, CA
Posts: 1,192
I delete them because they start trying to record old repeat episodes. I read forums like this one so I know to set my SP again when the show comes back on.
sieglinde is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 11-04-2005, 12:21 PM   #11 (Print)
Hersheytx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Dallas
Posts: 148
I had Farscape on Season Pass for over a year after they canceled it. I just could not bring myself to delete it.
Hersheytx is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 11-04-2005, 02:46 PM   #12 (Print)
AbMagFab
I go where Tivo goes
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,720
Quote:
Originally Posted by sieglinde
I delete them because they start trying to record old repeat episodes. I read forums like this one so I know to set my SP again when the show comes back on.

Not if you say first run only. I have them set up, and virtually never get a repeat (none that I can recall).

That's sort of the whole point.

__________________
Tivo since '99, DirecTV since *96
2x SAT-T60 140G 3.1.0c2
4x SD-DVR40 250G 6.2
2x HR10 500G 3.1.5f
All-TWeb+, TyTool, caller-id

OTA HD is 100% reliable

Save me Tivo Series 3!!!!
AbMagFab is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 11-04-2005, 02:46 PM   #13 (Print)
AbMagFab
I go where Tivo goes
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,720
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hersheytx
I had Farscape on Season Pass for over a year after they canceled it. I just could not bring myself to delete it.

Me too! It's like I couldn't acknowledge it was cancelled...

__________________
Tivo since '99, DirecTV since *96
2x SAT-T60 140G 3.1.0c2
4x SD-DVR40 250G 6.2
2x HR10 500G 3.1.5f
All-TWeb+, TyTool, caller-id

OTA HD is 100% reliable

Save me Tivo Series 3!!!!
AbMagFab is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 11-04-2005, 04:51 PM   #14 (Print)
IwantmyTiVo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 378
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mystic6
The HR10-250 gets slower the more Season Passes you have - painfully slower. So on mine I delete them after each season of shows and put new ones in when the time comes. I know I can count on seeing notices here or the flashes they put up during other shows.


Ditto
IwantmyTiVo is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 11-04-2005, 04:55 PM   #15 (Print)
AbMagFab
I go where Tivo goes
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,720
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mystic6
The HR10-250 gets slower the more Season Passes you have - painfully slower. So on mine I delete them after each season of shows and put new ones in when the time comes. I know I can count on seeing notices here or the flashes they put up during other shows.

Actually, it's more about the thumbs up/down. You create a thumbs rating each time you add a season pass, so it's easily confused.

You can go in and clear the thumbs ratings only, and you'll have improved speed and still keep all your season passes.

Not that lots of season passes don't slow it down some, but I keep 70-80 on mine, and just clear the thumbs, and it's as fast as it was with no season passes.

__________________
Tivo since '99, DirecTV since *96
2x SAT-T60 140G 3.1.0c2
4x SD-DVR40 250G 6.2
2x HR10 500G 3.1.5f
All-TWeb+, TyTool, caller-id

OTA HD is 100% reliable

Save me Tivo Series 3!!!!
AbMagFab is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 11-07-2005, 09:57 AM   #16 (Print)
IwantmyTiVo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 378
Quote:
Originally Posted by sieglinde
I delete them because they start trying to record old repeat episodes. I read forums like this one so I know to set my SP again when the show comes back on.



Same here. I have them for new episodes only, and because of bad quide data, my DVR is picking up several episodes of Dead Zone lately..wth?
IwantmyTiVo is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 11-07-2005, 01:31 PM   #17 (Print)
newsposter
Poster of News
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: SE PA
Posts: 9,233
Quote:
Originally Posted by AbMagFab

You can go in and clear the thumbs ratings only, and you'll have improved speed and still keep all your season passes.



Cant wait to see if this is true on my machines

__________________
57 inch Hitachi 57F710S
HR10-250 63 hrs w/DB8 antenna
HR10-250 stock
retired (must watch though) Sony T60 2-160 drives
Panasonic E80 Dvd recorder

“Be yourself, it’s easier isn’t it?”
newsposter is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 11-07-2005, 03:32 PM   #18 (Print)
AbMagFab
I go where Tivo goes
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,720
Quote:
Originally Posted by IwantmyTiVo
Same here. I have them for new episodes only, and because of bad quide data, my DVR is picking up several episodes of Dead Zone lately..wth?


I have DirecTV, and almost never get a repeat. If you're standalone (which you must be), I guess the guide data is worse? Strange.

__________________
Tivo since '99, DirecTV since *96
2x SAT-T60 140G 3.1.0c2
4x SD-DVR40 250G 6.2
2x HR10 500G 3.1.5f
All-TWeb+, TyTool, caller-id

OTA HD is 100% reliable

Save me Tivo Series 3!!!!
AbMagFab is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 11-07-2005, 04:05 PM   #19 (Print)
IwantmyTiVo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 378
Quote:
Originally Posted by AbMagFab
I have DirecTV, and almost never get a repeat. If you're standalone (which you must be), I guess the guide data is worse? Strange.


I have directv. There was a couple episodes to tape this next week (I think they were in the middle of some night). When I pulled up the episode to read the description, it just describes the show generically, i.e., something like, Man becomes psycic after being in a coma, blah blah. No other specific information. I have this show set up for new episodes only, so I have no idea what is going on.
IwantmyTiVo is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 11-08-2005, 08:43 AM   #20 (Print)
dcheesi
Registered User
 
dcheesi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Roanoke VA, USA
Posts: 2,632
Quote:
Originally Posted by IwantmyTiVo
I have directv. There was a couple episodes to tape this next week (I think they were in the middle of some night). When I pulled up the episode to read the description, it just describes the show generically, i.e., something like, Man becomes psycic after being in a coma, blah blah. No other specific information. I have this show set up for new episodes only, so I have no idea what is going on.
If there's no guide data, TiVo assumes that it's a new episode, just in case. That's what the majority of these unwanted repeat recordings turn out to be...

__________________
By will alone I set my mind in motion. By the brew of Cafe, thoughts acquire speed; the hands acquire shakes, the shakes become a warning...
dcheesi is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 11-08-2005, 02:21 PM   #21 (Print)
PeternJim
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 194
Please talk more about the effect of the thumbs rating on speed. I don't do suggestions. What is it slowing down? If it benefits me, I'll certainly go through the effort of changing all the thumbs ratings!
PeternJim is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 11-08-2005, 02:32 PM   #22 (Print)
Bierboy
Bald & dumb user
 
Bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Quad-Cities
Posts: 1,330
Send a message via AIM to Bierboy
Quote:
Originally Posted by IwantmyTiVo
Same here. I have them for new episodes only, and because of bad quide data, my DVR is picking up several episodes of Dead Zone lately..wth?

It's usually because the guide data is generic. My DZ SP (first-run only) picked up a couple of DZ eps coming up in the next week or so because, if you look at the ep description, it's just a vague summary of the series. Nothing specific about that ep (as mentioned in post above). That's almost always the reason. And it does happen very rarely.

__________________
Quote:
"There's a dual tuner HD box coming next year that will work with both cable and ATSC" ...Pony 11-15-05
Giddyup Pony!
Bierboy is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 11-09-2005, 10:55 AM   #23 (Print)
Bob_Newhart
Hi Bob!
 
Bob_Newhart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,062
Quote:
Originally Posted by AbMagFab
Why would you delete the season passes? That's the whole point, to have them catch things like this, and whenever the new season starts, they show up on Now Playing.

You bet. I still have my SP set up for "Barney Miller"

__________________
This is my amusing signature included at the bottom of each one of my posts. .
Bob_Newhart is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 11-10-2005, 07:59 PM   #24 (Print)
AbMagFab
I go where Tivo goes
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,720
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeternJim
Please talk more about the effect of the thumbs rating on speed. I don't do suggestions. What is it slowing down? If it benefits me, I'll certainly go through the effort of changing all the thumbs ratings!


I can't say for sure why it's slower (since I didn't write the code), but probably because any time you look at a show, it has to look up the thumbs rating, and the more there are, the harder it is.

But I can say (as can many others) that if you delete all thumbs settings, the speed will increase, even with tons of season passes. Any time you record a new show, it creates a new thumb setting, so you'll need to do this periodically.

This won't do anything to help failing hard drives, but it does increase the speed for browsing and new recordings.

__________________
Tivo since '99, DirecTV since *96
2x SAT-T60 140G 3.1.0c2
4x SD-DVR40 250G 6.2
2x HR10 500G 3.1.5f
All-TWeb+, TyTool, caller-id

OTA HD is 100% reliable

Save me Tivo Series 3!!!!
AbMagFab is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 11-14-2005, 11:13 AM   #25 (Print)
PeternJim
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 194
Is there a quick way to "delete all thumbs settings" or do I have to go into each show one by one?
PeternJim is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 11-14-2005, 01:02 PM   #26 (Print)
MirclMax
Señor Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 388
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeternJim
Is there a quick way to "delete all thumbs settings" or do I have to go into each show one by one?


Find your way into the setup menu .. there is a Clear all Thumbs Data option.

__________________
- MirclMax


If you find something I have said helpful, please return the favor by helping someone else
MirclMax is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 11-16-2005, 02:20 PM   #27 (Print)
IwantmyTiVo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 378
Quote:
Originally Posted by AbMagFab
You can go in and clear the thumbs ratings only, and you'll have improved speed and still keep all your season passes.


Is this true with Directv tivo? I could not find this anywhere in my menus???
IwantmyTiVo is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 11-16-2005, 05:04 PM   #28 (Print)
newsposter
Poster of News
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: SE PA
Posts: 9,233
did you try the restart menu? Bottom of the page, last choice I think after you press tivo

__________________
57 inch Hitachi 57F710S
HR10-250 63 hrs w/DB8 antenna
HR10-250 stock
retired (must watch though) Sony T60 2-160 drives
Panasonic E80 Dvd recorder

“Be yourself, it’s easier isn’t it?”
newsposter is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 11-16-2005, 08:20 PM   #29 (Print)
AbMagFab
I go where Tivo goes
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,720
Quote:
Originally Posted by IwantmyTiVo
Is this true with Directv tivo? I could not find this anywhere in my menus???


Yes it's true. Try harder - reset or restart system, etc.

__________________
Tivo since '99, DirecTV since *96
2x SAT-T60 140G 3.1.0c2
4x SD-DVR40 250G 6.2
2x HR10 500G 3.1.5f
All-TWeb+, TyTool, caller-id

OTA HD is 100% reliable

Save me Tivo Series 3!!!!
AbMagFab is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 11-26-2005, 02:56 PM   #30 (Print)
nethead12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Gainesville, Va (DC Metro Area)
Posts: 57
It seems these two shows xmas eps will be showing up a week later then the org post stated.

Monk 12/2 10pm
Dead Zone 12/4 10pm
nethead12 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > TiVo TV Talk > Season Pass Alerts

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:58 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo® is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index