TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-13-2005, 02:55 PM   #1 (Print)
Raisltin Majere
Registered User
 
Raisltin Majere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Devon
Posts: 345
Where do recordings go?

Hi all

I've had a browse around my tivo but I can't see an (obvious) place where the recordings would be.

Anyone know which directory holds the recordings?

Thanks
Raisltin Majere is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-13-2005, 04:17 PM   #2 (Print)
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
sanderton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 5,979
It doesn't work like that; individual 512Mb video chunks are referenced through a database.

Software is available which interfaces the database to a connecting FTP client which makes it appear as though there are video files on the disk.

__________________
Stuart

Author of EndPad, DailyMail and others now run by other generous souls. Setup: MCE hub feeds 3 x 360s from 2 x DVB-T tuners and 1 x Sky via TiVo+eTivo. Sky+HD coming 22/5.
sanderton is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-13-2005, 04:29 PM   #3 (Print)
Raisltin Majere
Registered User
 
Raisltin Majere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Devon
Posts: 345
Oh right. Thanks Stuart. would I be correct in assuming that this software you mention is a banned topic? If so, could I ask somebody to PM me the name of this software, if that's allowable?

Many thanks
Raisltin Majere is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-13-2005, 04:46 PM   #4 (Print)
cwaring
Registered User
 
cwaring's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 3,921
Send a message via MSN to cwaring
Ooh. I know this one!! You need to look on the "other place"; ie the database of deals.

__________________
Carl Waring

Telewest Active Digital with Pace 2000 STB
Now with added Tivoweb!
Tivo TV Ads & PDF Manuals
cwaring is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-13-2005, 04:54 PM   #5 (Print)
Raisltin Majere
Registered User
 
Raisltin Majere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Devon
Posts: 345
Yeah, been there but I couldn't find what I need, there was one thing but that was almost it but not quite (wow, this is vague).

basically, I'm trying to do the opposite of what most people are tying to do when they're advised to go to the other place. Is that a banned topic?
Raisltin Majere is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-13-2005, 05:11 PM   #6 (Print)
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
sanderton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 5,979
mfs_ftp.

But if you're trying to put video files on a TiVo which did not originate on a TiVo, forget it.

__________________
Stuart

Author of EndPad, DailyMail and others now run by other generous souls. Setup: MCE hub feeds 3 x 360s from 2 x DVB-T tuners and 1 x Sky via TiVo+eTivo. Sky+HD coming 22/5.
sanderton is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-13-2005, 06:07 PM   #7 (Print)
Raisltin Majere
Registered User
 
Raisltin Majere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Devon
Posts: 345
Is that beacuse it isn't possible or because it's naughty?

I know I'm no expert in these things but I would have thought that if you can convert a (used to be ty) mpg to ty you can convert any old mpg to ty?

Apologies if I'm pushing the limits of the forum rules here.
Raisltin Majere is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-13-2005, 06:51 PM   #8 (Print)
cwaring
Registered User
 
cwaring's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 3,921
Send a message via MSN to cwaring
I'm guessing it's because Tivo only knows how to handle ty files that it creates and keeps within it's own filesystem/database. Or something In other words, it wouldn't know how to reference a ty file that was just plonked into a directory somewhere. Maybe.

__________________
Carl Waring

Telewest Active Digital with Pace 2000 STB
Now with added Tivoweb!
Tivo TV Ads & PDF Manuals
cwaring is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-13-2005, 06:54 PM   #9 (Print)
Raisltin Majere
Registered User
 
Raisltin Majere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Devon
Posts: 345
Yeah, I kinda get that, but surely anyold ty file in the correct place would do?
Raisltin Majere is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-13-2005, 11:58 PM   #10 (Print)
iankb
Registered User
 
iankb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Reading, UK
Posts: 5,205
The MFS file system has its own block allocation table, the functionality of which is provided by the database and the TiVo software. You would have to modify the allocation tables to find unallocated blocks and allocate them to a file, and to stop those blocks from being overwritten. Unlike a traditional file system, there are no command-line utilities that provide the standard file functions of copy, delete, etc, for the MFS file system. Allocating a block on the TiVo isn't as simple as linking it to a filename. It is creating all of the appropriate pointers within the database so that it is included within the appropriate chain of a Now Playing recording, etc.

__________________
Ian.

For gold text on leather in TiVoWeb, try the redbook, bluebook, greenbook and blackbook themes, now updated with button menus
iankb is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-14-2005, 03:47 AM   #11 (Print)
pahunt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 1,619
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanderton
mfs_ftp.

But if you're trying to put video files on a TiVo which did not originate on a TiVo, forget it.


I hate to contradict you Stuart but I have successfully used tymplex to get mpegs that didn't originate from Tivo on to Tivo. Took a bit of fiddling but it does work.

__________________
Paul

120GB 6022 | Cachecard | Freeview
pahunt is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-14-2005, 04:32 AM   #12 (Print)
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
sanderton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 5,979
I didn't say it was impossible, but what it cetainly isn't is a just a matter for FTPing an MPEG onto the TiVo. Glad it worked for you but from what I can gather there are all kinds of issues with lip synch, video which goes over 512Mb and the lack of FF/RW on inserted video.

In 99.9% of all cases it's easier simply to record an analogue copy with the TiVo!

Ian - that's the easy bit!

__________________
Stuart

Author of EndPad, DailyMail and others now run by other generous souls. Setup: MCE hub feeds 3 x 360s from 2 x DVB-T tuners and 1 x Sky via TiVo+eTivo. Sky+HD coming 22/5.
sanderton is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo UK

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:25 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index