TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-17-2005, 02:08 PM   #1 (Print)
randap
Knee-down scratcher?
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 109
Random missed channel changes

Recently my TiVo has been missing channel changes. It's fairly random, but it's not due to the odd missed digit (although this occasionaly happens), rather nothing appears to be sent from TiVo. I bought a pacelink rf2link, but this has not cured the problem.

I have IRBlast installed (although I've set it not to send the backup key, only repeat the channel change 30s after recording starts), and even this doesn't fix it.

I don't think it is IR leakage from the environment, as the on-screen guide updates to the new channel, but no signal is sent to the digibox.

I'm running a Sky+ box with remote code 20017. Any ideas???

__________________
TiVo 6023 200Gb with TiVoweb (secured with Orenosp), Hackman, and lots of other stuff I'm only beginning to learn.......working on a custom theme
randap is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-18-2005, 03:05 PM   #2 (Print)
randap
Knee-down scratcher?
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 109
Found this in the kernel log:

Dec 18 19:57:58 (none) kernel: IrBlaster.C::SetChannel(), Line: 367, Bad Channel Request, 401, ChanLength 1.
Dec 18 19:57:58 (none) kernel: mediaswitch: returning 0 from standin tune after tuning to ch -3 with adjust 0
Dec 18 19:57:59 (none) kernel: Done with this packet

Dunno what this means, but it seems to crop up fairly often.

I've also found that a power cycle fixes the problem, albeit in the short term.

__________________
TiVo 6023 200Gb with TiVoweb (secured with Orenosp), Hackman, and lots of other stuff I'm only beginning to learn.......working on a custom theme
randap is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-19-2005, 03:46 PM   #3 (Print)
alan_m_2004
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 23
Also seeing the same -> http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-v...ad.php?t=276400

Only thing I've found so far is http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-v...ad.php?t=252268 indicating it's probably not harmful so don't think I'm going to investigate further.

For what it's worth I'm not seeing any missed recordings and am getting the errors messages.
alan_m_2004 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-19-2005, 04:08 PM   #4 (Print)
Pugwash
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Peterborough
Posts: 62
The only time my channel changes went unreliable was when a chinchilla had got loose and investigated a few wires behind my hi-fi. The IR wand stopped working because it had bitten one of the wires to the spare one!

__________________
TiVo 300GB, CacheCard, Coffee.
Pugwash is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo UK

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:30 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index