TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-21-2005, 05:05 AM   #1 (Print)
terryeden
Re: Member
 
terryeden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Newbury
Posts: 121
Upgrading... It's not as easy as it looks...

These are a few of the issues that I encountered during my upgrade that I haven't seen mentioned elsewhere... New Users Beware!

My PC was set up
PM - New 250GB disk
PS - DVD-ROM
SM - Original 40GB disk
SS - CD-ROM

PC was set to boot off PS using http://www.tivoheaven.com/download/...-large-disk.iso

Booted up fine - detected everything ok, so I started typing in the mfsrestore command...

Issue 1 - Where's the Pipe?
The boot disk had decided that I was using an American keyboard. The keys on American keyboards are different to those on our trusty British keyboards. After much hunting I found I could get the pipe by typing SHIFT + #

isue 2 - Is that the right pipe?
All the guides print the pipe as "|" - however, all us Linux gurus know that the pipe should look "broken" - "¦". This can be a bit disconcerting - not knowing which pipe to use.

Issue 3 - The Waiting
Go out for the day. If you sit there watching the megabyte counter roll away you'll die of boredom :-)

Issue 4 - Where's Copykern?
After the contents had been copied I attempted to run copykern. Nothing happened. Copykern couldn't be found.

To cut a long story short, the boot disk seemed to not to map my DVD-ROM to the CD-ROM path it was expecting. I set my CD-ROM to be primary slave, removed the original hard disk and DVD-ROM and rebooted. Copykern ran....

Issue 5 - Where's hda?
Upon running copykern it asked me to select my hard disk. It gave me the option of hdb, hdc, hdd, hde, hdf.... but no hda!

I tried each of the options but nothing worked. So, I simply copied the tpip command that it tried to execute and substituted hda at the appropriate place.

Success! All seemed to work. I powered off and reattached the disk to the TiVo.

Issue 6 - More Waiting
The waiting for the Cachecard to finish booting was the longest time of my life. Each upgrade CD should come with a free valium!

Success! See the attached Before & After images.

Hopefully that will help anyone else attempting an upgrade.

On a side note... is there any way I can conclusivly check from TiVoWeb that the upgrade is a sucess? That all partitions, swap spaces, etc are where they should be? All the previous recordings seem intact.

Terry
Attached Images
File Type: jpg tivo_before.jpg (14.6 KB, 151 views)
File Type: jpg tivo_after.jpg (17.7 KB, 156 views)
terryeden is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-21-2005, 06:23 AM   #2 (Print)
cwaring
Registered User
 
cwaring's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 3,921
Send a message via MSN to cwaring
Quote:
Originally Posted by terryeden
On a side note... is there any way I can conclusivly check from TiVoWeb that the upgrade is a sucess? That all partitions, swap spaces, etc are where they should be? All the previous recordings seem intact.

Swap info can be found (not too surprisingly ) on the "info" section of Tivoweb. Don't know about the drives. If it works, I would assume that all is well

__________________
Carl Waring

Telewest Active Digital with Pace 2000 STB
Now with added Tivoweb!
Tivo TV Ads & PDF Manuals
cwaring is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-21-2005, 07:36 AM   #3 (Print)
blindlemon
tivoheaven.co.uk
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Malmesbury, UK
Posts: 3,200
If your System Information screen shows around 298 hours at Basic (250GB drive) then the drive has been expanded successfully.

As Carl says, swap info is on the Info page, and you can also check whether you're running the LBA48 kernel now by typing

cat /proc/version

at a bash prompt. If you have the LBA48 kernel it should say
Quote:
Linux version 2.1.24-TiVo-2.5 (millert@xerxes.courtesan.com) (gcc version 2.8.1) #14 Wed Oct 8 12:06:25 MDT 2003
... otherwise (ie. standard kernel) it should say
Quote:
Linux version 2.1.24-TiVo-2.5 (build@buildmaster17) (gcc version 2.8.1) #2 Thu Feb 7 17:49:48 PST 2002

__________________
6023, Lifetime, 240gb (Samsung) Sky, CacheCard, Mode 0, 100+ SPs/AWLs
6022, Lifetime, 160gb (Seagate), Freeview, Turbonet, Mode 0, 90+ SPs/AWLs
601E, Lifetime, ... my 'test' machine!
blindlemon is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-21-2005, 12:00 PM   #4 (Print)
Craig B
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: London
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by terryeden
isue 2 - Is that the right pipe?
All the guides print the pipe as "|" - however, all us Linux gurus know that the pipe should look "broken" - "¦". This can be a bit disconcerting - not knowing which pipe to use.
Not sure about that as on most *nix versions it isn't "broken". Still at least you got it to work
Craig B is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo UK

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:27 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo® is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index