TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-24-2002, 09:56 PM   #1 (Print)
hermanator
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 16
Aim on your Tivo

I have created a plugin for GAIM (http://gaim.sourceforge.net), a multi-protocol Instant messaging client, which allows gaim events (buddy arrived and departed and IM received) to be forwarded to your Tivo for display on your TV. It makes use of the osd routines created by embeem and modified by gregggreg.

So basically you can be logged in with gaim on your linux machine, and know when a buddy arrives, leaves or sends you a message while you're watching TV.

BTW: The attached file is a gzip file.

The development thread will be maintained at the other tivo hacking forum.
Attached Files
File Type: zip gaim2tivo-0.1.tar.zip (98.7 KB, 366 views)
hermanator is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 06-25-2002, 01:25 PM   #2 (Print)
gregggreg
Member
 
gregggreg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 70
Re: Aim on your Tivo

Quote:
Originally posted by hermanator
I have created a plugin for GAIM (http://gaim.sourceforge.net), a multi-protocol Instant messaging client, which allows gaim events (buddy arrived and departed and IM received) to be forwarded to your Tivo for display on your TV. It makes use of the osd routines created by embeem and modified by gregggreg.

So basically you can be logged in with gaim on your linux machine, and know when a buddy arrives, leaves or sends you a message while you're watching TV.

BTW: The attached file is a gzip file.

The development thread will be maintained at the other tivo hacking forum.


Cool! I will check this out later. Looks like you beat Tivo to this. I expect them to have AIM capabilities soon as a result of their deal with AOL. Of course it will probably be a Series 2-only thing if it happens since you would most likely need a keyboard (USB) to be able to actually send messages.

-Greg
gregggreg is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 06-25-2002, 03:14 PM   #3 (Print)
Cspot
"What's live TV?"
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: FL
Posts: 60
Re: Aim on your Tivo

Quote:
Originally posted by hermanator
I have created a plugin for GAIM (http://gaim.sourceforge.net), a multi-protocol Instant messaging client, which allows gaim events (buddy arrived and departed and IM received) to be forwarded to your Tivo for display on your TV. It makes use of the osd routines created by embeem and modified by gregggreg.

So basically you can be logged in with gaim on your linux machine, and know when a buddy arrives, leaves or sends you a message while you're watching TV.

BTW: The attached file is a gzip file.

The development thread will be maintained at the other tivo hacking forum.


file bad????? anyone confirm...

__________________
HDR312-3.0 (80gb*2)
HDR112-3.0 (160gb lba48)
HDR112-3.0 (160gb lba48)
HDR312-3.0 (160gb lba48)
TiVo<->TiVo<->TiVo<->TiVo!
Cspot is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 06-25-2002, 03:42 PM   #4 (Print)
mpulver
(mark pulver)
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 64
I had to change the file extention to .gz before gunzip would touch it.

Once I did that, it was fine.
mpulver is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 06-25-2002, 08:31 PM   #5 (Print)
hermanator
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 16
Yes.. sorry for not explaining.. This board dosn't allow you to post files with the gz extension, so I had to change it to zip.
hermanator is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 06-25-2002, 08:47 PM   #6 (Print)
hermanator
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 16
Yes.. I would expect aim will be possible.. but I don't think AOL will let you have it for free, or without ads.
hermanator is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 06-25-2002, 11:50 PM   #7 (Print)
ajhrefugee
Membor
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 4
Send a message via ICQ to ajhrefugee Send a message via Yahoo to ajhrefugee
Quote:
Originally posted by hermanator
Yes.. I would expect aim will be possible.. but I don't think AOL will let you have it for free, or without ads.


Sure they will as long as you're using TOC and not OSCAR.
ajhrefugee is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 06-26-2002, 11:26 AM   #8 (Print)
hermanator
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally posted by ajhrefugee


Sure they will as long as you're using TOC and not OSCAR.


I think its fair to assume that anything AOL does in the set top space will not be provided for free. After all AOL is trying to make money. Certainly TOC would not be used in any AOL product..
hermanator is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 06-26-2002, 02:24 PM   #9 (Print)
tube013
Registered User
 
tube013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 54
Great tool,

Here is a screenshot of how it looks on the tv.

http://tube013.org/gaim-tivo.jpg

Last edited by tube013 : 06-26-2002 at 03:28 PM.
tube013 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 06-29-2002, 09:24 AM   #10 (Print)
hermanator
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 16
bumb
hermanator is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 06-30-2002, 11:03 AM   #11 (Print)
hit-or-miss
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Kirksville, MO
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to hit-or-miss
In the readme, it says that "tivo_messenger" is compiled for a DirectTiVo running 2.5.2. Has anyone compiled this for a SA running 3.0 (or while the file work on other TiVos)?
hit-or-miss is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 06-30-2002, 07:29 PM   #12 (Print)
hermanator
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 16
Short answer if elseed works then most likely tivo_messenger will work, since tivo_messenger uses the same OSD routines. I suggest you give it a try.
hermanator is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 07-02-2002, 10:35 PM   #13 (Print)
hit-or-miss
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Kirksville, MO
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to hit-or-miss
I installed it on my Philips SA TiVo with 3.0 and it worked. Thanks.

I think it'd be great it someone could write an open ended type of screen display script that would accept any type of string input and flash it on the screen. That way I could write a script on my linux box that would send a list of what weblogs have been spotted as updated when I parse the list at weblogs.com every hour.

Is there any standard tivo-side program floating around with a documented way of sending input to it?
hit-or-miss is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 07-08-2002, 11:24 AM   #14 (Print)
hermanator
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 16
I think tivo_messenger is the closest thing to it. It would probably be a good idea for those of us using OSD functions in programs to use one client side program to queue and print messages so as not to create conflicts between various programs competing to print to screen. For example, Elseed and the gaim plugin would both use tivo_messenger to print messages to the screen. In hit-or-miss's case it would not be too difficult to write a small program which accepts commandline options to send a message to tivo_messenger for printing to screen. In this case it would be helpful to introduce a protocol for tivo_messenger so that it could parse instructions on how to display the message to screen (such as font color, bg color, position of text on screen..)

E.G:

tivosnd -x 1 -y 1 -fg 25 -bg 4 "Hello there how are you?"

If there is any intrest in this let me know.. and I'll work on this for the next release.

gregggreg.. What do you think?
hermanator is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 07-10-2002, 12:56 AM   #15 (Print)
hit-or-miss
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Kirksville, MO
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to hit-or-miss
More than just writing one standard client side program to print on the screen, it might be nice to write a standard client side program to receive messages to display -- and I don't mean from the command line. Like maybe receive the messages via socket or through RPC. Or, maybe through a TiVoWeb module (so I could call a URL like /tivo/ShowMessage/?text=BlahBlahBlah and it would display the text on the screen).

But that wouldn't solve the problem of how to call up a display through the remote. It would be nice to be able to run all the different scripts and such (like the AIM one or the stock quotes one, etc) on my Linux box (so as not to tax the TiVo CPU with all the number crunching etc), then share that content through the webserver on my Linux box, and then choose different number combinations to call up that information and display it on the TiVo. If there was some nice program on the TiVo side that could do that, then the sky would be the limit of what people might program on the Linux (or Windows) side to provide content to the TiVo.
hit-or-miss is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 09-18-2002, 08:44 PM   #16 (Print)
hermanator
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 16
Gaim2tivo v0.2 - Now works with Windows

I have been absent from this board for a while.. but have been quite busy. When I posted v0.1 of this Gaim plugin a lot of people said they didn't have linux machines.. So I ported Gaim to Windows. You can download the windows version of Gaim at:

http://gaim.sourceforge.net

And attached to this post is version 0.2 of Gaim2tivo which will work with the windows version of Gaim. You will also be able to find this zip file at the gaim plugins page at sourceforge.net

-Hermanator

Note: I had to strip sources because of size restriction. If you want sources, go to above url.
Attached Files
File Type: zip gaim2tivo-0.2.zip (88.7 KB, 200 views)
hermanator is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 09-18-2002, 11:06 PM   #17 (Print)
jnk27
Registered User
 
jnk27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 29
Thumbs up Very Cool!

hermanator,

Just want to tell you this works great on a Phillips SA 3.0 TiVo and GAIM 6.0 alpha on Windows XP.

Very nice indeed! Thanks.
John
jnk27 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 09-21-2002, 08:26 AM   #18 (Print)
hermanator
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 16
bump
hermanator is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 09-22-2002, 07:41 PM   #19 (Print)
enigma2175
Long Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 63
Quote:
I installed it on my Philips SA TiVo with 3.0 and it worked. Thanks.

I think it'd be great it someone could write an open ended type of screen display script that would accept any type of string input and flash it on the screen. That way I could write a script on my linux box that would send a list of what weblogs have been spotted as updated when I parse the list at weblogs.com every hour.

Is there any standard tivo-side program floating around with a documented way of sending input to it?


TCS does this. A standard session would look like this:
Code:
#telnet tivo 8762 Connected to tivo DISP Hey, look it's some text on my screen.

It uses text2osd to display the text on the screen, I believe most other applications use the same or similar routines.

__________________
Enigma
enigma2175 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 09-28-2002, 12:21 PM   #20 (Print)
hermanator
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 16
bump
hermanator is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 10-13-2002, 05:53 PM   #21 (Print)
mpauley
Im That Guy!
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 51
Have you thought about making a plugin for Trillian?
mpauley is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 10-14-2002, 10:22 AM   #22 (Print)
psperry
Hick
 
psperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Peoria, AZ
Posts: 58
Send a message via ICQ to psperry Send a message via AIM to psperry Send a message via Yahoo to psperry
A plugin for Trillian would rock!

__________________
Philips DirecTiVo (DSR6000)
Philips DirecTiVo (DSR6000)
psperry is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 10-14-2002, 11:10 AM   #23 (Print)
Mars Rocket
Loosely wound
 
Mars Rocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Dacovia
Posts: 3,785
I can't figure out where to configure the Windows Gaim plugin - I can turn it on under Tools->Options by selecting the Plugins section, but I never see any place to enter the TiVo ip or name.

Also, for what it's worth the Win gaim plugin claims it's version 0.1 - I thought Windows support wasn't added until 0.2. Is this just a case of the version string not being updated, or do I really have the wrong version?
Mars Rocket is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 10-19-2002, 12:31 AM   #24 (Print)
hermanator
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 16
Gaim2tivo Version 0.3

So fianally I got around to doing some of the things I said I would

Version 0.3 has three new features:

- Filter "@hotmail.com" from screen names.

- Option to display only first 2 chars of a screen name

- Ability to filter IMs that make it to your sreen by creating an 'Allow List'

You will need either Win Gaim 0.60 Alpha 2 or Linux Gaim 0.60 (Linux version currently only in cvs).

Hope this crosses the barrier into something useful

Note: File size is larger than that allowed so you can download this at the following URL:

http://sourceforge.net/tracker/inde...235&atid=390395

or at ************
hermanator is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 10-19-2002, 12:54 AM   #25 (Print)
hermanator
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally posted by Mars Rocket
I can't figure out where to configure the Windows Gaim plugin - I can turn it on under Tools->Options by selecting the Plugins section, but I never see any place to enter the TiVo ip or name.

Also, for what it's worth the Win gaim plugin claims it's version 0.1 - I thought Windows support wasn't added until 0.2. Is this just a case of the version string not being updated, or do I really have the wrong version?


You were probably using v0.2 with Win Gaim Alpha 2. There have been some changes to the plugin interface which have made v0.2 obsolete.

I suggest you try the version I just released v0.3 if you are using Win Gaim 0.60 Alpha 2 or linux 0.60cvs. Otherwise stick to version 0.2 for now.

-Herman
hermanator is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 10-19-2002, 12:56 AM   #26 (Print)
hermanator
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally posted by mpauley
Have you thought about making a plugin for Trillian?


Nope.. currently I am working on the porting Gaim to Windows.. some friendly competition if you like
hermanator is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 10-19-2002, 05:52 AM   #27 (Print)
Mars Rocket
Loosely wound
 
Mars Rocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Dacovia
Posts: 3,785
Quote:
Originally posted by hermanator
I suggest you try the version I just released v0.3 if you are using Win Gaim 0.60 Alpha 2 or linux 0.60cvs. Otherwise stick to version 0.2 for now.


I am running Win 0.60 Alpha 2, but when I install the 0.3 plugin it won't start without an error:

"The procedure entry port wgaim_connect could not be located in the dynamic link library gaim.dll"

Without gaim2tivo.dll it starts fine.
Mars Rocket is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 10-19-2002, 09:57 AM   #28 (Print)
hermanator
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 16
Aha..

I will have a fix for that later today.. that was my fault for building this plugin with a slightly newer Win Gaim..

-Herman
hermanator is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 10-19-2002, 10:16 AM   #29 (Print)
mpauley
Im That Guy!
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 51
Sounds like a challenge to me....

<fingers crossed>

--mp
mpauley is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 10-19-2002, 10:42 AM   #30 (Print)
hermanator
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 16
Ok.. the fix is in..

New version can be had at the same link at sourceforge. The file is:
gaim2tivo-0.3.1.tar.zip

Here is the link once more:
http://sourceforge.net/tracker/inde...235&atid=390395

-Herman
hermanator is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Underground Playground > TiVo Underground

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:17 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index