TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-09-2004, 05:28 PM   #1 (Print)
speedy4022
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Idaho
Posts: 529
6.1 software update

Now that the R10 is shipping and can be purchased at circuit city how long before series 2 owners get the updated software?

__________________
Mike

R-15
Hughes SD-DVR 40
Samsung SIR-S4120R 100 hrs
R10 70 Hrs
all unhacked

Last edited by speedy4022 : 12-09-2004 at 05:38 PM.
speedy4022 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-09-2004, 05:33 PM   #2 (Print)
Dkerr24
Lost in Grand Canyon
 
Dkerr24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Okla, USA
Posts: 1,121
I haven't heard anything official other that the software will begin to push out to the Series2 units as soon as the R10 is available, which I understand it already is starting to pop up in the local Best Buy and Circuit City stores.

__________________
265 hour (Samsung 300gb) Samsung S4040R
107 hour (Maxtor 120gb) RCA DVR40
Dkerr24 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-09-2004, 05:33 PM   #3 (Print)
JohnTivo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Culver City, CA
Posts: 761
Only time will tell. Someone posted that sometime early next year we should see the update. I read on another board that D* will wait till their NDS developed DVR is released.

__________________
1 HR10-250 (50 Hours)
4 HDVR2's (267, 69, 35, 35 Hours)
4 HD HTPC PVR's (60, 27, 24, 21 Hours)
1 TIVO Series2 (40 Hour)
JohnTivo is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-09-2004, 06:47 PM   #4 (Print)
John Ross
SCOOBYDOOBIE DO TIVO
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 323
Send a message via AIM to John Ross Send a message via Yahoo to John Ross
Is this da puppy. http://www.circuitcity.com/ssm/DIRE...roductDetail.do It has the folders? Any other tasty features? (besides the 70 hours and the great price that is)




Kinda interesting that they don't mention the folders. I guess that would be more info than needed cause only we forum folk are aware of what folders even are!!
John Ross is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-09-2004, 06:53 PM   #5 (Print)
dswallow
+258PC
 
dswallow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Long Branch, NJ, USA
Posts: 27,809
Send a message via ICQ to dswallow
I thought someone around here had said it'd start about 2 weeks after the R10 was released.
dswallow is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-09-2004, 07:10 PM   #6 (Print)
litzdog911
TechKnow Guide
 
litzdog911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mill Creek, Washington
Posts: 7,860
Send a message via AIM to litzdog911
Sounds like nobody really knows for sure

What else is new?

__________________
Sony SAT-T60 120GB (v3.1.0c2)
HR10-250 HiDef 250GB (v3.1.5f)
R10 80GB (v6.1-01)
Sony SAT-A4, B4 Receivers
Sony KV-40XBR800 HDTV
litzdog911 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-09-2004, 07:19 PM   #7 (Print)
dswallow
+258PC
 
dswallow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Long Branch, NJ, USA
Posts: 27,809
Send a message via ICQ to dswallow
Quote:
Originally posted by litzdog911
Sounds like nobody really knows for sure

What else is new?

I suppose we could call and ask DirecTV CSR's and see how many different answers we get -- until we get the one we want to hear.
dswallow is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-09-2004, 07:20 PM   #8 (Print)
sjendro
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: The Birthplace of Montana
Posts: 876
Let me make it easy for you...we haven't been officially told that the software update is coming, no less when it is coming.

__________________
Hey, at least its not crack!
sjendro is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-09-2004, 07:22 PM   #9 (Print)
dswallow
+258PC
 
dswallow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Long Branch, NJ, USA
Posts: 27,809
Send a message via ICQ to dswallow
Quote:
Originally posted by sjendro
Let me make it easy for you...we haven't been officially told that the software update is coming, no less when it is coming.

OK, that's answer #1.

Any more DirecTV CSR's online?
dswallow is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-09-2004, 07:56 PM   #10 (Print)
Code_Man65
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 31
Send a message via Yahoo to Code_Man65
Same answer from me as far as official channels go, however I'm pretty sure based on what I've been told its coming, and soon. I had heard at one point the day the R10 hit retail every Series 2 DVR would update and you'd not have a choice in the matter. Even if you didn't have a phone line it would download via the satellite and install without an activation phone call. Thankfully that turned out to be false thus far.
Code_Man65 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-09-2004, 11:23 PM   #11 (Print)
Fish Man
Chubby Hubby
 
Fish Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Covington, Louisiana
Posts: 3,789
Quote:
Originally posted by sjendro
Let me make it easy for you...we haven't been officially told that the software update is coming, no less when it is coming.


Dan Collins over at DBS Forums has posted that it is coming, more or less when the R10 is released, which now that the R10 is here means "soon".

A word from Dan Collins is way more "official" than anything a DirecTV CSR will tell you, that's for sure!!

__________________
1 DirecTV HR10-250 (HD-DirecTiVo - Stock)
1 Hughes GXCEBOTD Rescued from the post-Katrina rubble, still works!! (146 Hour)
1 R-10 (stock)
Fish Man is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-10-2004, 09:13 AM   #12 (Print)
Indiana627
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Wheatfield, NY
Posts: 260
I checked my system information screen last night and noticed that even though it made a successful phone call on the 8th, it is going to call in again on the 11th. Usually the calls are 8 days apart, not just 3. Maybe maybe maybe I'll be getting 6.1 on the 11th. I've been at the very end of the line for past software updates, so maybe they're making it up to me now! (But I won't keep my hopes up!)

__________________
Mark

(1) Hughes SD-DVR80
(1) Hughes GAEBOA
DTV customer since January 2003
Indiana627 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-10-2004, 09:35 AM   #13 (Print)
jtown0620
TIVO MEMBER FOR LIFE
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: FLORIDA
Posts: 70
Does the 6.1 software update support MRV (multi room viewing)? I remember reading in connected magazine that DirecTV and TiVo were working on this via the coax lines. Is this the outcome of their efforts or was that whole idea scrapped when DirecTV sold their interest in TiVo?

__________________
I had a dream! I had an AWESOME dream! That all TiVos were created equal!

Then I woke up and I still didnít have HMO!

HDVR2
DVR80
jtown0620 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-10-2004, 09:42 AM   #14 (Print)
VinceKM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Southwest
Posts: 30
How do we tell if we have a series 2 unit?
VinceKM is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-10-2004, 09:59 AM   #15 (Print)
dtremain
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 972
Quote:
Originally posted by VinceKM
How do we tell if we have a series 2 unit?
Which unit do you have?
dtremain is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-10-2004, 09:59 AM   #16 (Print)
Fish Man
Chubby Hubby
 
Fish Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Covington, Louisiana
Posts: 3,789
Quote:
Originally posted by VinceKM
How do we tell if we have a series 2 unit?


The folowing DirecTiVos are Series 1 units:

Phillips DSR 6000(R).
Sony Sat T-60
Hughes GXCEBOT(D).

Any and all models other than those three are Series 2.

__________________
1 DirecTV HR10-250 (HD-DirecTiVo - Stock)
1 Hughes GXCEBOTD Rescued from the post-Katrina rubble, still works!! (146 Hour)
1 R-10 (stock)
Fish Man is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-10-2004, 10:03 AM   #17 (Print)
herdfan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Hurricane, WV
Posts: 1,328
Quote:
Originally posted by jtown0620
Does the 6.1 software update support MRV (multi room viewing)?

No.
herdfan is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-10-2004, 10:55 AM   #18 (Print)
ebonovic
A TiVo Junkie...
 
ebonovic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Tinley Park, IL USA (SW ChicagoBurbs)
Posts: 8,245
Quote:
Originally posted by jtown0620
Does the 6.1 software update support MRV (multi room viewing)? I remember reading in connected magazine that DirecTV and TiVo were working on this via the coax lines. Is this the outcome of their efforts or was that whole idea scrapped when DirecTV sold their interest in TiVo?


Connected magazine? Or the post by LonghornXP here?

I would like to see some more details, on how they expect to do this... As I find it VERY hard to believe that a simple software solution, will allow the coax INPUT sat lines on our units to double as a network connection.

__________________
- Earl (XBL: Fontano)
Favorite 05/06 TV Lines: Karma! ; Suit Up! ; Legendary.....

Non-TiVo DirecTV DVR (R15,HR20) ->
DBSTalk
ebonovic is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-10-2004, 11:44 AM   #19 (Print)
jtown0620
TIVO MEMBER FOR LIFE
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: FLORIDA
Posts: 70
It was listed in there Mar/April 2004 issue the link is www.connectedguide.com they do not archive the complete issue. Basically, from what I can recall, it was a brief statement by TiVo & DirecTV stating they were working on a technology to transfer media between boxes using existing coax cables. It was an excellent magazine for finding out the latest in home media but unfortunately I believe the publication went under. Maybe someone happens to have an old copy they could post. I'm surprised that info didn''t make the rounds in this forum.

__________________
I had a dream! I had an AWESOME dream! That all TiVos were created equal!

Then I woke up and I still didnít have HMO!

HDVR2
DVR80
jtown0620 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-10-2004, 11:48 AM   #20 (Print)
dswallow
+258PC
 
dswallow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Long Branch, NJ, USA
Posts: 27,809
Send a message via ICQ to dswallow
Quote:
Originally posted by ebonovic
Connected magazine? Or the post by LonghornXP here?

I would like to see some more details, on how they expect to do this... As I find it VERY hard to believe that a simple software solution, will allow the coax INPUT sat lines on our units to double as a network connection.

If that idea had any possibility of being workable, it'd probably be some sort of USB device you connect the coax from the multiswitch through. Conceivably the multiswitch creates a direct path when set for a given satellite/polarity to the LNB, thus every system tuned to the same satellite/polarity could communicate, much like a cable modem works. I don't think that'd be inexpensive -- to essentially build a cable modem into this device, but it potentially does eliminate need to run more wiring, at least.

But part of the rumor was that the receiver playing back video would modulate it such that to other receivers it could look like a signal received via satellite and tunable in a similar manner; again I doubt that'd be that cheap to implement, allowing it to be technically possible at all.

Now maybe they could utilize the coax shield to transmit some data, sort of like an antenna, but I'd expect that could only introduce interference issues that might even attract FCC attention.
dswallow is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-10-2004, 06:10 PM   #21 (Print)
smithken31100
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Hockeytown
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally posted by Indiana627
I checked my system information screen last night and noticed that even though it made a successful phone call on the 8th, it is going to call in again on the 11th. Usually the calls are 8 days apart, not just 3. Maybe maybe maybe I'll be getting 6.1 on the 11th. I've been at the very end of the line for past software updates, so maybe they're making it up to me now! (But I won't keep my hopes up!)


Same thing happened to me, successful call on the 9th, next call on the 11th. I've also been at the end for updates, I still have 3.1.1c.
smithken31100 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-10-2004, 09:49 PM   #22 (Print)
mike1977
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Auburn, Alabama
Posts: 142
Quote:
Originally posted by Indiana627
I checked my system information screen last night and noticed that even though it made a successful phone call on the 8th, it is going to call in again on the 11th. Usually the calls are 8 days apart, not just 3. Maybe maybe maybe I'll be getting 6.1 on the 11th. I've been at the very end of the line for past software updates, so maybe they're making it up to me now! (But I won't keep my hopes up!)


Interesting...I think I'll be making a daily call late tonight/early this morning and see what happens...
mike1977 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-10-2004, 09:54 PM   #23 (Print)
jeff94
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 50
Tried it, still scheduled for the 15th . I'll go do it again, though. It should work out. Maybe try a 2ndary # or something? I know they're all connected to the TiVo mothership, but maybe the call scheds are based on capacity? Yeah. I'll go try that out now and get my call time locked in . Not sure if this'll help, but it's gonna be FUN TO TRY.
jeff94 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-10-2004, 10:06 PM   #24 (Print)
yaddayaddayadda
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: SC
Posts: 204
Send a message via AIM to yaddayaddayadda Send a message via Yahoo to yaddayaddayadda
My last call was today at 10 am. Next one not scheduled till the 18th.

__________________
Macked out in the teenage way
yaddayaddayadda is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-10-2004, 10:21 PM   #25 (Print)
mphare
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 402
One of my 704s called on the 9th and is scheduled to call again the morning of the 11th. The other 704 called on the 10th and is scheduled to call again on the 12th.

__________________
-------------------------------------
- Mike
GnuPG Key fingerprint = 1AD4 726D E359 A31D 05BF ACE5 CA93 7AD5 D8E3 A876

- 2 DSR704s
- 1 R15
mphare is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-10-2004, 10:30 PM   #26 (Print)
bnm81002
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,359
Quote:
Originally posted by mphare
One of my 704s called on the 9th and is scheduled to call again the morning of the 11th. The other 704 called on the 10th and is scheduled to call again on the 12th.



do you want the 6.1 software? are you planning on hacking the Philips units, if so, get the 4.x software before you receive the download, it will save a lot of headaches and time
bnm81002 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-10-2004, 11:06 PM   #27 (Print)
Cabrill
Just Hanging Out
 
Cabrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Ogden, UT
Posts: 142
Send a message via ICQ to Cabrill Send a message via AIM to Cabrill Send a message via Yahoo to Cabrill
I'm moving tomorrow and don't intend to hook up a phone line at my new location so I'm praying I get 6.1 now before I move. I tried forcing a call update yesterday, and it changed the next update to 12-11-04, 12:40pm. I forced a call again today, and it didn't change the next update. I don't often force a call and when I do I rarely pay attention to when the next scheduled update is...is it common to keep a scheduled date despite you forcing an update repeatedly? If there's any chance I'll be getting a software update I'll leave the TiVo plugged in to a phone/wall socket sitting in the corner while everything else is packed out. So can anyone give a definitive answer of if this is normal?
Cabrill is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-10-2004, 11:45 PM   #28 (Print)
dswallow
+258PC
 
dswallow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Long Branch, NJ, USA
Posts: 27,809
Send a message via ICQ to dswallow
I think the scheduled date time is within a given window from when you force the call, so if you repeatedly force the call it shouldn't change if it's already scheduled within that window; wait 3 or 4 hours then force another call.
dswallow is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-10-2004, 11:57 PM   #29 (Print)
herdfan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Hurricane, WV
Posts: 1,328
Dan Collins over at DBSForums is thinking a January release. One of the reasons given is that after the fallout from "c" then "d", D* probably doesn't want to take up support time for a software release when they need to be helping new customers who just got D* for XMas.
herdfan is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-10-2004, 11:58 PM   #30 (Print)
rminsk
TiVoted TiVo User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Marina del Rey, CA
Posts: 3,940
Forcing daily calls is not going to speed up getting the new software when it is released. The software will be downloaded from the satellite. Looking at my machine the software has not been downloaded from the satellite yet. After it has been downloaded from the satellite the phone call then activates the update. Even after that DirecTV will slowly roll out the software. Each day a lot of random machines will be choosen for activation. The next time that machine calls in it will activate the new software release.

__________________
Be vewy vewy quiet. I am squirrel hunting.
rminsk is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Main TiVo Forums > DIRECTV Receiver with TiVo

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:39 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoģ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index