TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-18-2005, 09:21 AM   #91 (Print)
BigFoot48
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 27
6.2 has arrived on my Tivo this morning. Reset the Favorites and note the directory is faster.

__________________
Patrick
HDTV Sony 57WS655; DVD Zenith DVB-318
Directv Tivo Phillips 7000; DirecTV since 4/98
BigFoot48 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-18-2005, 10:02 AM   #92 (Print)
aristoBrat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Va Beach, VA
Posts: 640
Quote:
Originally Posted by Klaitu
Well, since you can build your own DVR out of an old PC in considerably less time than that with no bugs and more features than TiVo provides, I'd say it's probably not so funny.

Respectfully, your comment would have appeared less ignorant if you had at least done a minimal amount of research before you posted it.

Let's take a look at the MythOS email list:
http://www.gossamer-threads.com/lists/mythtv/users/
Quote:
Error with atrpms and 18.1?
EPG starts on odd channel
Updated to 0.18.1 - still problems.
kworld tv878rf card - can't see chanels and can't get remote working FC3
Problems with HW Mpeg decoding on Epia board - MythTV 0.18
Re: Bug in mythtv-suite?
database broken?
IOBOUND: Arrrg, will it ever end?
Computer Reboots/ PVR 250 Not Recognized
Re: Mythfilldatabase error -- found
Backend Dies

How about BeyondTV?
http://forums.snapstream.com/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=5
Quote:
Show/station issue
Video Freezes/Gets Corrupted when resizing window w/Intervideo Decoder
Would a faster CPU help?
Just upgraded from 3.5.0 to 3.5.3. Now have problems... ( Multi-page thread 1 2 )
Volume raises during channel change
3.5 Using up a lot of CPU. help ( Multi-page thread 1 2 3 4 5 ... Last Page )
Beyond TV freezes computer ( Multi-page thread 1 2 )


Give me the name of a "do it yourself" DVR and I'll show you way more support issues than ANY version of DTiVo's ever had.
aristoBrat is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-18-2005, 10:09 AM   #93 (Print)
dtremain
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 972
Quote:
Originally Posted by Klaitu
Well, since you can build your own DVR out of an old PC in considerably less time than that with no bugs and more features than TiVo provides, I'd say it's probably not so funny.
That is hardly doing software development!
dtremain is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-18-2005, 10:29 AM   #94 (Print)
RonP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Seattle
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by Klaitu
... and I worked for AOL at one time.

With that, we now understand the origins of your expertise in a bug free, timely, and efficient software development process.

__________________
-Ron
-Author of Software Testing...the book for new or aspiring software testers.
RonP is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-18-2005, 11:10 AM   #95 (Print)
BillyT2002
Crush!Kill!Destroy!
 
BillyT2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 266
I think that DirecTV and/or TIVo must hate us customers in the Northeast or something. I'm in Maine and we ALWAYS seem to be updated at the last minute. I'm sick of waiting.

Bill T.

__________________
Keep your thumbs off my TIVO!

Last edited by BillyT2002 : 05-18-2005 at 11:20 AM.
BillyT2002 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-18-2005, 11:46 AM   #96 (Print)
wsware
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyT2002
I think that DirecTV and/or TIVo must hate us customers in the Northeast or something. I'm in Maine and we ALWAYS seem to be updated at the last minute. I'm sick of waiting.
Bill T.

No, Your just really far away from the broadcast centers in Castle Rock, Colorado, and Los Angeles, California and the data takes a while to get there. Maybe they will send a homing piegon your way.

__________________
-Scott
wsware is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-18-2005, 12:19 PM   #97 (Print)
dtremain
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 972
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyT2002
I think that DirecTV and/or TIVo must hate us customers in the Northeast or something. I'm in Maine and we ALWAYS seem to be updated at the last minute. I'm sick of waiting.
I forced a call today and don't have it yet. I think it's because I was born on a Friday. Has anyone, who was born on a Friday, gotten the update?
dtremain is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-18-2005, 12:23 PM   #98 (Print)
ddobson
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NW Indiana
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtremain
I forced a call today and don't have it yet. I think it's because I was born on a Friday. Has anyone, who was born on a Friday, gotten the update?


I was born on Saturday and haven't received it yet on any of my four DVR's. Now wouldn't that be innovative. I can see them at the board table now....

"They'll never figure out how we're releasing the software this time... By golly we'll release it by the day of the week that the account holder was born on, starting with Sunday!"....

LOL

__________________
DirecTV since 2/95
4 DirecTivo's plus a spare!
Weaknees Upgrades
XM since 6/04

Like Tracking Storms?
www.stormpredator.com
ddobson is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-18-2005, 01:27 PM   #99 (Print)
marrone
Phased Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 618
Didn't TivoBill (or TivoOpsMgr) kindly ask everyone not to force daily calls?

-Mike

__________________
1 Phillips DSR6000 146Hrs
1 Hughes SD-DVR40 35Hrs
marrone is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-18-2005, 02:22 PM   #100 (Print)
Scot Kight
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 28
Thats like telling hungry people to "please stand in line" at a buffet. Give us an "update us now" link and we will be fine.

Scot
Scot Kight is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-18-2005, 02:29 PM   #101 (Print)
ProStreet
Registered User
 
ProStreet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kenosha, Wi.
Posts: 31
3 DVR 80's, 3 more forced call's, 1 unit pending restart. Not the main unit I wanted, but at least I know it is coming for sure!!!
ProStreet is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-18-2005, 04:23 PM   #102 (Print)
crkeehn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 103
Send a message via AIM to crkeehn
I was born on Wednesday - no update.
crkeehn is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-18-2005, 04:52 PM   #103 (Print)
cincyfrank
Frank In Cincinnati
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 1
Made my first call to the mothership in months, and there's a shiny new update to 6.2. Took about 25 minutes to reboot into 6.2 after the call.

cincyfrank is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-18-2005, 05:00 PM   #104 (Print)
lovswr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: [H]otlanta
Posts: 11
Send a message via AIM to lovswr
Where does one see "Restart Pending"? Is on the call screen or under messages or what? Also I have forced two calls since the 16th (one a day). I'm in the Metro Atlanta area & no luck yet.

__________________
I want a 50" Sony
lovswr is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-18-2005, 05:21 PM   #105 (Print)
austerville
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 15
I just forced a call and got the "pending restart" message. My tivo is busy installing the software now. I'm in S. Florida.
I have a second Tivo that has the Sleeper Scripts on it. What's the best way to get the update on that unit? Thanks
austerville is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-18-2005, 07:37 PM   #106 (Print)
jimpilot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 42
Man just forced a call and still nothing. I have the word succeeded
jimpilot is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-18-2005, 07:52 PM   #107 (Print)
regicat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: California
Posts: 53
Got it at about 3pm in San Jose on one of the HDVR2s. Season pass is WAY faster. Guide is about the same. Folders are much better than I thought. But... says satellite downloading info, wait about 30 minutes. That was about 2 hours ago now. It will not allow recordings until then. And the bonus: the Linksys USB is now active and shows up in the DHCP status! When the other HDVR2s get it I will start the hacks.....

Last edited by regicat : 05-18-2005 at 07:57 PM.
regicat is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-18-2005, 09:29 PM   #108 (Print)
dtremain
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 972
Quote:
I was born on Saturday and haven't received it yet on any of my four DVR's. Now wouldn't that be innovative. I can see them at the board table now....

"They'll never figure out how we're releasing the software this time... By golly we'll release it by the day of the week that the account holder was born on, starting with Sunday!"....

LOL


Quote:
I was born on Wednesday - no update.


Wednesday, Saturday, completely irrelevant. It's because I was born on Friday, I tell you. LOL
dtremain is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-18-2005, 11:14 PM   #109 (Print)
neospektra
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Northern Kentucky
Posts: 13
Has anybody who has upgrade to 4.0 recieved this upgrade ? someone said that every box has had it pushed from the sat but from my understanding & reading over at the 'other' forums the new Sw version should show up in MFS SwSystem and mine doesn't ? because it is possible to manually install 6.2 if you have telnet access using InstallSoftware.tcl

__________________
Neospektra
________________________
Series 1 35+40 Hr
Series 2 40 Hr
Series 2 DTivo 40 Hr 4.0 HMO
Series 2 DTivo 80 Hr R10
neospektra is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-19-2005, 11:20 AM   #110 (Print)
jonpcar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 2
Just now getting my 6.2

Hi all,

I looked at my phone status today and there was still no call sheduled until next Tuesday. So I forced a call anyway (as I have the last couple of days) and got the update! Its not fully loaded yet and says that it will take up to an hour to complete.

John (Gilbert, AZ)
jonpcar is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-19-2005, 12:47 PM   #111 (Print)
crkeehn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 103
Send a message via AIM to crkeehn
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtremain
Wednesday, Saturday, completely irrelevant. It's because I was born on Friday, I tell you. LOL


Perhaps only those people born on Monday and Tuesday are getting it.
crkeehn is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-19-2005, 12:52 PM   #112 (Print)
allan
Resident modern nut
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 3,658
Quote:
Originally Posted by crkeehn
Perhaps only those people born on Monday and Tuesday are getting it.


Nope! I was born on Monday, and I still don't have it.

__________________
My Tivo is too small!

BEEP
allan is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-19-2005, 01:37 PM   #113 (Print)
kr88
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 9
(NYC) Got 2nd Unit update this morning. Both are somewhat faster than b4. The folders are nice. Starz on Demand movies are in wrong folders...I guess D will fix minor bug....All went well about 25 minutes total per machine.....so far no hiccups....waiting for HMO.....Both were forced calls...One got done Tues, the other Thurs...this week....
kr88 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-19-2005, 01:55 PM   #114 (Print)
litzinger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: State College, PA (Johnstown-Altoona DMA)
Posts: 130
2 DVRs. Forced calls got the 6.2 update only for my Samsung 35Hr.

__________________
35 Hr Samsung S4040R and 70 Hr RCA DVR80
litzinger is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-19-2005, 02:29 PM   #115 (Print)
TivoJudy
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3
New to Tivo and the Community

I received a notice a few weeks ago about 6.2. How do I get it? My system says its on version 3.1.1e. Is it going from 3.1 to 6.2? So many questions, so little time.
TivoJudy is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-19-2005, 02:45 PM   #116 (Print)
rminsk
TiVoted TiVo User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Marina del Rey, CA
Posts: 3,940
Quote:
Originally Posted by TivoJudy
I received a notice a few weeks ago about 6.2. How do I get it? My system says its on version 3.1.1e. Is it going from 3.1 to 6.2? So many questions, so little time.
Just wait, it will come. Yes the latest software before 6.2 was 3.1.1e http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-v...4&&#post2869144

__________________
Be vewy vewy quiet. I am squirrel hunting.
rminsk is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-19-2005, 05:11 PM   #117 (Print)
markbox
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 13
Dang, I was born on Leap Day. Guess I'm really screwed :-P
markbox is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-19-2005, 06:22 PM   #118 (Print)
dtremain
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 972
Quote:
Originally Posted by markbox
Dang, I was born on Leap Day. Guess I'm really screwed :-P
Big trouble. That means you will be going back to 3.1.1d and your a/v receiver will explode. Sorry, it's just the way it is.
dtremain is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-19-2005, 06:35 PM   #119 (Print)
chrishicks
video addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Ecorse, MI
Posts: 245
I just forced about 200 calls and finally got an update but mine says 7.3. did I do something wrong?

__________________
DirecTIVO addict with 2 Samsung SIR-S4120Rs
chrishicks is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-19-2005, 07:06 PM   #120 (Print)
dtremain
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 972
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrishicks
I just forced about 200 calls and finally got an update but mine says 7.3. did I do something wrong?
if you're kidding. if you're not.
dtremain is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Main TiVo Forums > DIRECTV Receiver with TiVo

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index