TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-31-2003, 09:26 PM   #1 (Print)
TiVoOpsMgr
Director, Svc. Ops
 
TiVoOpsMgr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Alviso, CA, USA
Posts: 1,523
Arrow Erroneous "Acquiring Program Guide data" message

DIRECTV and TiVo are aware of an issue affecting all customers who use DIRECTV with TiVo Receivers. When working with the Pick Programs to Record menus, you may see a message that says:

"Acquiring Program Guide data from the satellite. Some data available now. Full data in 1-2 days."

Also, when working with the System Information screen, you may see an indication that program guide data only exists through today.

If your unit has not been recently set up, then both of these messages are displayed erroneously, and can be ignored. This is a display issue only, affecting all customers with any software version and model of the DIRECTV with TiVo Receiver.

We have confirmed that there is a software issue that causes this display problem, and we will work to correct the message as soon as we can. In the meantime, you can ignore these messages. No other functionality is affected by this issue.

While you can temporarily cause the message to go away by rebooting or resetting your unit, eventually the message will recur, so these workarounds are not recommended. At this time, there is no workaround other than ignoring the message.

We apologize for the inconvenience.

Happy new year,
DIRECTV and TiVo

__________________
E. Stephen Mack, Director of Service Operations at TiVo (estephen@tivo.com)
http://www.tivo.com/support/
NOTE: Due to the volume of Private Messages I received, I constantly had a full inbox, so I have disabled Private Messages. Please send me an e-mail instead. Due to the volume of e-mail I receive, please try to go through normal channels or post your question on the forum BEFORE contacting me directly, if possible. Thanks!
TiVoOpsMgr is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-31-2003, 09:38 PM   #2 (Print)
austinsho
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: austin TX usa
Posts: 179
Excellent, thanks for the info.

Is it possible to get this info to the front-line CSRs at DirecTV who have had lots of people (including me) unplugging their units? As of one hour ago, that's what one had me doing.....
austinsho is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-31-2003, 09:40 PM   #3 (Print)
walters
TiVo Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 2,418
Quote:
Originally posted by austinsho
Excellent, thanks for the info.

Is it possible to get this info to the front-line CSRs at DirecTV who have had lots of people (including me) unplugging their units? As of one hour ago, that's what one had me doing.....


Nobody could ever do anything about that: it's the first line of their script.
walters is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-31-2003, 09:53 PM   #4 (Print)
TiVoOpsMgr
Director, Svc. Ops
 
TiVoOpsMgr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Alviso, CA, USA
Posts: 1,523
Yes, the DIRECTV contacts I work with have told me that this information is also going out to all of the front-line CSRs.

Best regards,
Stephen

__________________
E. Stephen Mack, Director of Service Operations at TiVo (estephen@tivo.com)
http://www.tivo.com/support/
NOTE: Due to the volume of Private Messages I received, I constantly had a full inbox, so I have disabled Private Messages. Please send me an e-mail instead. Due to the volume of e-mail I receive, please try to go through normal channels or post your question on the forum BEFORE contacting me directly, if possible. Thanks!
TiVoOpsMgr is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-31-2003, 10:02 PM   #5 (Print)
artbecker
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 22
Now, what can you do about the audio dropout problems on music channels (especially on HDVR2, which can last up to several seconds, and often every minute or so on regular receivers), and occasionally on regular channels? When I called customer "service" they pretended to have never heard of such a problem, even though plenty of people have raised the issue on this board. Why do we get the runaround?
artbecker is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-31-2003, 10:19 PM   #6 (Print)
mwarner
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 206
Thanks for the official word. Glad to know that the higher ups are aware and working on the issue!

Thanks TiVoOpsMgr!!!

-Matt (Can now sleep better at night!)
mwarner is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-01-2004, 12:43 AM   #7 (Print)
djbrown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 316
well, my Series2 have EVERY season pass as empty, and a "Search By Title" for these shows doesn't turn up anything, though they do have entries in the dialy schedule (Angel on TNT for example). My To-DO list is clear until 1/6, when it picks up 2 Playmaker episodes, again despite an empty Season Pass for it.

Even weirder? My KUID Angel SP recorded today at 4 PM, but it didn't mark it as a save until I delete after recording it.
djbrown is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-01-2004, 05:19 AM   #8 (Print)
TiVoOpsMgr
Director, Svc. Ops
 
TiVoOpsMgr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Alviso, CA, USA
Posts: 1,523
Djbrown, thanks for the private message and your post here. We do not believe your symptoms are related to this particular issue, but we would like to investigate and be sure. If you don't mind, can you send me your 15-digit TiVo Service Number so we can check out your logs?

Thanks,
Stephen

__________________
E. Stephen Mack, Director of Service Operations at TiVo (estephen@tivo.com)
http://www.tivo.com/support/
NOTE: Due to the volume of Private Messages I received, I constantly had a full inbox, so I have disabled Private Messages. Please send me an e-mail instead. Due to the volume of e-mail I receive, please try to go through normal channels or post your question on the forum BEFORE contacting me directly, if possible. Thanks!
TiVoOpsMgr is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-01-2004, 07:55 AM   #9 (Print)
DanTanna
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 20
See, I knew I should come to this forum first.
I've never had a question about my tivo/dtv that wasn't answered correctly somewhere in here.
I'm wondering is it a pain or something to send out a message to all the tivo units about the false message so that it would show in the receivers messages section?

Oh yeah, Happy New Year! A whole new year to look forward to more great TiVo/DTV service.

Dan.
DanTanna is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-01-2004, 09:44 AM   #10 (Print)
davistw
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 119
TiVoOpsMgr, More Info?

TiVoOpsMgr, can you give us techies a little more technical info on what is happening and what TiVo is going to do about it?

Also what is the ETA to the solution?
davistw is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-01-2004, 12:05 PM   #11 (Print)
Fustanella
Homo sapiens tivus
 
Fustanella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: CoolLando
Posts: 4,576
Glad to hear it's cosmetic. Aside from that, I've noticed nothing out of the ordinary.
Fustanella is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-01-2004, 01:03 PM   #12 (Print)
jamesbobo
with a grain of salt
 
jamesbobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,857
Quote:
Originally posted by Fustanella
Glad to hear it's cosmetic. Aside from that, I've noticed nothing out of the ordinary.


Same here. My season passes are being scheduled as if nothing happened. I have a series 1 Hughes.

__________________
Many people suffer in this world, we should not complain about TV.
jamesbobo is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-01-2004, 01:13 PM   #13 (Print)
TonyD79
Registered User
 
TonyD79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Columbia, MD
Posts: 737
The real question is: Why don't they send this as a message to the users units directly?

__________________
Tony D
TonyD79 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-01-2004, 01:27 PM   #14 (Print)
tomo_kun
DJT0M0.
 
tomo_kun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Mil-Town Wisconsin.
Posts: 4,498
Quote:
Originally posted by TonyD79
The real question is: Why don't they send this as a message to the users units directly?
you mean a PTCM/ PDCM?
Im glad to hear that this problem is being worked on (faster then the audio drop out problem too!, lucally i only had my TiVo for 3 weeks )

__________________
HDVR2-Stock latest OS
R-15
DDR and BEMANI resident geek.
My iTunes registry
Fresh new geeky Mac site, iOnMac!
tomo_kun is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-01-2004, 01:49 PM   #15 (Print)
tfederov
M GO BLUE!!!
 
tfederov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 2,495
Send a message via AIM to tfederov
Maybe the fix could be a part of 4.0?
tfederov is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-01-2004, 02:00 PM   #16 (Print)
geneb11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: R.I.
Posts: 259
TiVoOpsMgr wrote:
Quote:
Djbrown, thanks for the private message and your post here. We do not believe your symptoms are related to this particular issue


I started having problems with my season passes on both of my HDVR2s when I started getting that Aquiring message. I do beleive they are related. I have another post on the board that discribes my problem.

On another hand though the guide data on some shows have been wrong also. I've had shows in the now playing that discribed a totaly different episode.

__________________
1-HR10-250
1-DVR80 80gb 70 hour's
geneb11 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-01-2004, 02:08 PM   #17 (Print)
Fish Man
Chubby Hubby
 
Fish Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Covington, Louisiana
Posts: 3,789
I was away for several days and returned late in the evening on the 30th.

I have come to find this forum so valuable that I checked here and found that other thread on this subject before I resorted to rebooting!

This place is great!

Anyway, thanks TiVoOpsMgr for the feedback. Again, what would we do without this forum, when DirecTV will let a thing like this go for days without any of their CSR's having a clue.

All three of my units are showing this message, and I can attest that it appears to be safe to ignore. As far as I can tell, no scheduled recordings (SP, WL, or any other) have been missed as a result.

__________________
1 DirecTV HR10-250 (HD-DirecTiVo - Stock)
1 Hughes GXCEBOTD Rescued from the post-Katrina rubble, still works!! (146 Hour)
1 R-10 (stock)
Fish Man is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-01-2004, 02:12 PM   #18 (Print)
Ilovetorecord2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: South San Francisco, CA
Posts: 171
Send a message via Yahoo to Ilovetorecord2
Thanks for the answer, I would have called in eventually and this saves a phone call.

Happy New Year!!! Directivo Rocks!!!

__________________
Patrick
2 directivos 180/300g networked and 1 R10 directivo
Ilovetorecord2 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-01-2004, 02:15 PM   #19 (Print)
Skittles
Vegas, here I come!
 
Skittles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 13,877
Send a message via AIM to Skittles Send a message via Yahoo to Skittles
TiVoOpsMgr, thank you SO Much for the update! I know you guys have your hands tied in some of these areas, so I appreciate your being able to come here and give us a heads up.

__________________
What's so great about TC-Con '06? Read this thread and find out.
Skittles is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-01-2004, 03:45 PM   #20 (Print)
transpizzle
Fauxmosexual
 
transpizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kentucky (I have all of my teeth)
Posts: 1,864
you say it doesnt cause any other problems? well my PICK PROGRAMS TO RECORD menu is really slow now...as well as searching for shows to record. why is this? it wasnt this slow before.
transpizzle is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-01-2004, 04:52 PM   #21 (Print)
llurgy
Yorkshire Lass
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: South Yorkshire England - to - Ohio USA
Posts: 284
Yeah, mine is the same, dead slow especially when in the 'pick programs to record' part of the menu. It wasnt slow before the time that my box started with this aquiring Data message.

Mandy
llurgy is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-01-2004, 05:13 PM   #22 (Print)
krs7272
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: clawson,mi
Posts: 103
Once again thanks to the tivocommunity.

Chris

__________________
Chris

Sony T-60 (105 Hrs)
krs7272 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-01-2004, 07:04 PM   #23 (Print)
grecorj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 3,004
I was just scratching my head about this problem this afternoon after seeing the message on both my DTiVos. Figured I'd post a message in this forum to see if I wasn't the only one experiencing it -- guess I found my answer!

Thanks TiVoOpsMgr!

__________________
106 hr Philips DSR6000 TiVo
120 hr Hughes HDVR2 TiVo
Stock 40 hr Hughes HDVR2 TiVo -- unsubbed

Looking for news about TiVo? Try TiVoNews
grecorj is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-02-2004, 02:00 AM   #24 (Print)
btwyx
Substantive Member
 
btwyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 6,099
I've got the problem, rebooting didn't clear it, at least not for more than 5 min.

I'd only noticed the "Acquiring Program Guide data from the satellite." part, and hadn't seen the "Some data available now. Full data in 1-2 days." bit thanks to the way I've adjusted the overscan on the TV, the second line dropped off the bottom, so I didn't worry about it. I did wonder why it was telling me this, but it hasn't caused me a problem.

Now I know what it is, I tried to get rid of it with a reboot.

Hint: make sure you're not recording anything before doing a reboot.

__________________
HR10-250 Upgraded to 600GB. (77Hr HD, 515Hr SD.)
btwyx is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-02-2004, 09:38 AM   #25 (Print)
jennifer
Ms. Steve Austin
 
jennifer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Alabama
Posts: 3,721
Send a message via AIM to jennifer
Quote:
Originally posted by Fustanella
Glad to hear it's cosmetic. Aside from that, I've noticed nothing out of the ordinary.



Might be related to this issue - I am unable to 'select' or get guide info on any of the Suggestions. I can only back out of that option.
jennifer is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-02-2004, 01:21 PM   #26 (Print)
Alcatraz
Occasionally Helpful
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 113
Wink oOps

TiV-oOps-Mgr (heh)
Coincidence? I think not.

Sorry, I just couldn't help myself.

__________________
"Do not try and bend the spoon. That is impossible. Instead, only try to realize the truth......there is no spoon."
Alcatraz is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-02-2004, 05:41 PM   #27 (Print)
rhuntington3
Howdy!
 
rhuntington3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 17,626
TiVoOpsMgr, thanks for the update. I was just now in the Pick PRograms to Record screen and saw that message. Glad to hear its only a display issue. Keep us up to date if you can.
rhuntington3 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-02-2004, 08:11 PM   #28 (Print)
Dale Sorel
Three girls and more
 
Dale Sorel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: On the floor with my kitties!
Posts: 1,242
Thanks for the official word, TiVoOpsMgr
Dale Sorel is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-02-2004, 08:17 PM   #29 (Print)
BlankMan
Registered User
 
BlankMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: WI
Posts: 1,925
Great. They admitted something? Unbelievable. I've got this too. Now if you can just get DirecTV to admit there is a Favorite Channels/Channels I Recieve loss problem which cause recordings to be missed we might be getting some where...

__________________
User: So, how long will the server be down?
SA: Until it's back up (cjb 1994)
DTiVo's x 8
and ah, a, A55
BlankMan is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-02-2004, 08:42 PM   #30 (Print)
rhuntington3
Howdy!
 
rhuntington3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 17,626
I've never lost either of those lists. Never.
rhuntington3 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Main TiVo Forums > DIRECTV Receiver with TiVo

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:46 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index