TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-09-2004, 10:06 PM   #1 (Print)
myneid
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 3
HDTV Tivo for Cable

OMG, its not that hard. i just canceled my tivo service all around becasue i moved to a new place that i couldnt get directv (because of a stupid tree) and so i got time warner cable and tivo has no hd boxes so i got their stupid dvr service.

__________________
-----------
Tanguy
myneid is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 11-10-2004, 02:14 AM   #2 (Print)
MrBillG
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Worcester County, MA
Posts: 31
I'd be a potential customer for this too! I rely on cable for my internet access (and I'm happy with both the TV and the ISP service) and changing to satellite for HDTV and paying for a separate cable connection for internet would be very expensive (I get a great package deal).

I also wish the TiVo could act as a cable box so I didn't have to have a separate cable box with the little IR blasters.

MrBillG
MrBillG is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 11-12-2004, 10:22 PM   #3 (Print)
vulcan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 5
I could see this happening if they used the cable card standard. I would be interested in it.. but Adelphia would never offer something like that. They still use the old DCT2000's
vulcan is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 11-14-2004, 07:54 PM   #4 (Print)
todd_hd
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Northern California
Posts: 9
I was just in a store last week and saw a bunch of HDTVs with CableCard support. The high-end Mitsubishi model even had their own PVR built-in. So, it could time shift OTA or Cable HDTV.

Why the heck doesn't Tivo have their version available yet?!? This seems liks a no brainer.

The DirecTivo is so well integrated and powerful with the multiple tuners, it makes a Tivo with an external digital cable box seem like a kludge in comparison.
todd_hd is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 11-15-2004, 07:45 PM   #5 (Print)
classicsat
Astute User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ontario Canada.
Posts: 7,949
If anything itis in development now. It wasn't until may/june/july they though of building one

__________________
TCD240080, 160 GB HDD.
FC3 Linux box running Galleon.
TiVo desktop on XP machine.
classicsat is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 11-16-2004, 12:50 PM   #6 (Print)
Wooly
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 5
Stand Alone HD Tivo

I recently emailed Tivo asking if they would be offering a Stand alone HD Tivo box. The reply was that they did not offer it and could give me no time-line when and if one was available. It wouldn't surpise me if DirecTv has some sort of contract with Tivo, which is restricing them from offfering this product.
Wooly is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 11-20-2004, 12:03 AM   #7 (Print)
Mr. Laser Beam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally posted by todd_hd
I was just in a store last week and saw a bunch of HDTVs with CableCard support. The high-end Mitsubishi model even had their own PVR built-in.


Really? Which model was that?
Mr. Laser Beam is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 11-28-2004, 09:16 PM   #8 (Print)
eiorrmg
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 5
HD Tivo for Cable

Please release a unit tivo. We are waiting. I wish they would give a release date!!!

__________________
Tivo Rocks!
eiorrmg is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 11-29-2004, 11:48 AM   #9 (Print)
classicsat
Astute User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ontario Canada.
Posts: 7,949
Re: Stand Alone HD Tivo

Quote:
Originally posted by Wooly
It wouldn't surpise me if DirecTv has some sort of contract with Tivo, which is restricing them from offfering this product.


Trust me, they wouldnt. The trouble really is probably csome limitations in the CC technology.

* They did develop an ATSC HD TiVo, but no manufaturers took it.

__________________
TCD240080, 160 GB HDD.
FC3 Linux box running Galleon.
TiVo desktop on XP machine.
classicsat is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 11-30-2004, 05:24 PM   #10 (Print)
gastrof
VERY disappointed
 
gastrof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,291
Quote:
Originally posted by todd_hd
I was just in a store last week and saw a bunch of HDTVs with CableCard support. The high-end Mitsubishi model even had their own PVR built-in. So, it could time shift OTA or Cable HDTV...


But can you make a permanent copy on DVD or VHS from the PVR?

If not, that takes a bite out of its usefulness.

Can it feed out to another unit?

__________________
2 unsubbed Philips series 1s- HDR212, 163hrs, & a jealous PTV300, 141hrs.
gastrof is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-09-2004, 10:51 AM   #11 (Print)
AZKev
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fountain Hills, AZ
Posts: 11
TiVo Lost Me as a Customer since '99

I am moving in two weeks and am buying 3 HDTVs. The only HD TiVo is with DirecTV, which I detest. I can't find many reasons why TiVO is much better than a PVR, so they lost me as a customer.

Just plain stupid IMHO as people are jumping on the HDTV wagon - TiVo's said "you can have TiVO as long as it is black." TiVo is not a Model T; they are killing themselves......
AZKev is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-14-2004, 10:21 AM   #12 (Print)
MassNerder
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 97
Yeah, I hate to reply to a semi-dead post but i *REALLY* wish tivo would get on this one. I have an HD PVR from my cable co, and they are soon to offer a 2 tuner PVR....but the interface sucks so badly. I'd gladly drop the cash on one this afternoon if TiVo made one. Tivo is going to get beat to the punch in the high end market if they arent careful. TivoToGo is all fine and good, but Cable Cos are going digital and no one wants to fiddle with those IR Blasters....it's time for them to fish or cut bait in the HD world........
MassNerder is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-16-2004, 02:02 PM   #13 (Print)
Dreddnaught
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 109
I always thought that Tivo's target audience is people who are on the cutting edge of technology....that being the case, most of these people already have or are soon getting an HDTV. Why doesn't Tivo wise up and realize that they're going to lose this battle to the Cable/satellite companies who have DVRs that may not be as slick as Tivo, but they offer HD recording....and that's what really counts when you're watching TV, the Picture quality!

Tivo PLEASE, get the HD-TIVO out soon.

__________________
Dreddnaught
___________

- 1 Tivo Series2/HMO/MRV 240 hours wired
- 1 Tivo Series2/HMO/MRV 240 hours wireless
- 1 Humax Tivo DRT-800 w/DVD Burner/HMO/MRV 350 Hours
- AVcast to broadcast TiVo/DVD throughout house on both
Dreddnaught is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-21-2004, 12:00 PM   #14 (Print)
RGHessel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 24
...adding my (useless) vote

Agree with all that has been said. As soon as Comcast offers an HD PVR in my area, TiVo may just lose me as a customer. (Then again, since I purchased the lifetime service, I guess they really aren't losing much of anything...)

Which makes me think...if TiVo wants to get additional cash flow from its 'lifetime service' people, they are going to have to put more into a Series 3 than TiVo ToGo (which is useless to me) and a bigger hard drive. It's gotta be HDTV before I'll upgrade to anything.

I love my TiVO, but it is not unconditional...
RGHessel is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-10-2005, 06:55 PM   #15 (Print)
AZKev
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fountain Hills, AZ
Posts: 11
AGREED

RGH - you have succinctly stated my position with TiVO.

I am scratching my head , adding HDTV support isn't that difficult. I think TiVO is going to go into a death spiral unless they pull their heads out of their alimentary canal.
AZKev is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-12-2005, 01:50 PM   #16 (Print)
classicsat
Astute User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ontario Canada.
Posts: 7,949
For a CC TiVo, it wouldn't be that hard, but would still involve using higher bandwitch chips and design for HDTV.

For a TiVo that records from the HDTV output of a cable box, that would be harder, as there are no affordable consumer grade HD MPEG encoders.

__________________
TCD240080, 160 GB HDD.
FC3 Linux box running Galleon.
TiVo desktop on XP machine.
classicsat is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-13-2005, 08:56 AM   #17 (Print)
parzec
Wizard of Oz
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 404
...as long as it has OTA tuners -- I want to be free of Satellite and Cable's ridiculous pricing...
parzec is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-13-2005, 09:09 PM   #18 (Print)
classicsat
Astute User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ontario Canada.
Posts: 7,949
Well, IMO, it isn't too far off creating a combo ATSC/QAM tuner.

__________________
TCD240080, 160 GB HDD.
FC3 Linux box running Galleon.
TiVo desktop on XP machine.
classicsat is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-14-2005, 07:24 AM   #19 (Print)
e-treesh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 28
With DirecTV ready to drop TiVo like a hot potato I'm really surprised that they (TiVo) have not offered a HD SA. It's the one area they are falling behind in.
e-treesh is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-14-2005, 10:59 AM   #20 (Print)
classicsat
Astute User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ontario Canada.
Posts: 7,949
Well,

1: nobody wants to make an ATSC only TiVo.
2: they only publically acknowledged thought of a CableCard TiVo mid last year
3: as said, it would be economically impractical to make a component/DVI input TiVo.

Take your pick.

__________________
TCD240080, 160 GB HDD.
FC3 Linux box running Galleon.
TiVo desktop on XP machine.
classicsat is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Suggestion Avenue

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:02 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index