TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-19-2005, 08:35 AM   #1 (Print)
AWAHOO
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Emporia, VA
Posts: 57
Tivo Scheduling

I have a 40 hr. Tivo. I know that there is no way to know how much space is left for recording, but I have the following question:

Say you have4-5 one hour programs recorded, and maybe one football game and maybe one movie. If I scheduled another football game that would run say 3+ hours, would Tivo warn me if there was not enough space left? Would it delete something already recorded? How does this work?

So far, I have not had a problem of this kind, but am just wondering, "what if".

__________________
Jim
AWAHOO is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 09-19-2005, 08:44 AM   #2 (Print)
cmtar
Long live the R15!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 880
If I understand your question, I dont think it will warn if you have 4 hrs left and record 3 but it will say you cant record something if its 2 hrs and only have 1 hr left. Or it will delete a older program.
cmtar is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 09-19-2005, 09:09 AM   #3 (Print)
gfb107
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Cary, NC, USA
Posts: 1,072
It depends

The first thing to know is that TiVo won't delete anything until it starts recording the newly scheduled show, not at the time you schedule the recording.

It depends on how your recordings are set for "Save Until..."
If you've just used the default (recommended), then it depends on whether any have expired or not.
If some have expired, they will be deleted to make room for the new recording with no warning.
If there won't be any expired recordings at the time the new show is scheduled, you will get a warning.

__________________
- Greg

DirecTiVo or Standalone TiVo?
My TiVo distribution setup
Need a universal remote? Try the OFA URC-6131 (modifed for JP1)
gfb107 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Main TiVo Forums > DIRECTV Receiver with TiVo

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index