TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-24-2005, 12:56 PM   #1 (Print)
Don7070
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5
Records Repeats.

Hello everyone. I am new to this forum, and I have tried to find answers to the following question using the search, and faqs with no luck.

I like to watch poker shows, but when I put in a keyword "poker", and I choose "first run only" it will still record repeats. It is primarily because there are so many different channels for FSN that run the same show. Is there a way to lock out channels for a keyword recording? Any suggestions? Thanks.
Don7070 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 02-24-2005, 01:37 PM   #2 (Print)
BrettStah
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 4,323
There's no way to exclude a channel from a wishlist unless you remove that channel from your "Channels I Receive" list. The only other suggestions I'd have for you are:

1. Turn off the auto-recording feature of the wishlist, and then you can manually go through the matching items, picking and choosing which ones to record, every couple of weeks.

2. Set up some season passes for the poker shows you like, rather than relying on the wishlist to record them.

__________________
Brett

It's all fun and games, until someone loses an eye.
BrettStah is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 02-24-2005, 01:43 PM   #3 (Print)
Don7070
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5
Thanks Brett. I think I will just take them off the "channels I recieve" list. Duh, I didn't even think of that. I don't watch those channels, I just Tivo them anyway. Thanks again.
Don7070 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 02-24-2005, 03:59 PM   #4 (Print)
EMoMoney
Big and Tall
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Abingdon, MD, USA
Posts: 571
As for your regarding the first run/repeat question, TiVo uses the infor from the guide. So if the show description doesn't say "repeat" after the description, TiVo will record it.
EMoMoney is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 02-24-2005, 04:04 PM   #5 (Print)
BrettStah
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 4,323
EMoMoney, actually Tivo doesn't look for the word "repeat" at all. Instead it looks at some normally hidden data (if available), namely the Original Air Date, if I recall correctly. If that date is present, and the date is within 14 days from the present day, then it is considered a new episode. If this date is not present, the Tivo will err on the side of caution and assume it's a new episode too.

__________________
Brett

It's all fun and games, until someone loses an eye.
BrettStah is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Main TiVo Forums > DIRECTV Receiver with TiVo

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index