TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-23-2005, 12:34 AM   #1 (Print)
elrothir
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: KS
Posts: 7
Simulator problem

Feel like I'm banging my head against the wall on something. I've tried to do F8sters Bananas tutorial. I got everything set up, but when I try to run it in the simulator, the simulator opens but it displays: ERROR: File not found: http://xxxxx:xxxx/bananas/ [6]

I'm running JRE 1.5.0_05, HME 1.3 and Bananas 1.3.

The tutorial WILL work to the Tivo, but I was trying to get it to work through the simulator. I installed bananas to C:\Tivo\Bananas_1.3 and my arguments tab is:
com.tivo.hme.samples.bananas.BananasSample and the main class I'm using is:
com.tivo.hme.sim.Simulator.
Both of these are pathed correctly if I look in those directories, I can see the Simulator.java file. I included hme.jar, simulator.jar, bananas.jar and samples.jar.


Another question too: If I want to work on something at work, where I don't have a Tivo available, can I develop and test with the simulator? Or does there have to be some Tivo connection even if doing the Simulator?

Thanks for any assistance!
Scott

__________________
Sony SVR2000 (100 hours)
Sony SVR2000 (30 hours)
Tivo Series2(40 hours)
elrothir is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 11-23-2005, 01:55 AM   #2 (Print)
F8ster
The Very Last One
 
F8ster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 144
My Bananas tutorial is still from the 1.1 days. With 1.3, there are a couple of differences you'll need to observe:

- First, you'll need to include the External JAR "hme-host-sample.jar" in your Java Build Path.

- In your Run configuration, use "com.tivo.hme.host.sample.Main" as the main class instead of "com.tivo.hme.sim.Simulator".

- Once the app is running, bring up an Explorer window, and double-click simulator.jar. The Simulator will launch, and it will attach to the running application.

I updated my "standard" Eclipse/HME tutorial for HME 1.3/1.4 just the other day; take a look at it, and I think you'll see where the changes are that you need to make:

http://bitrazor.com/content/tivo/hm...lipse_demo1.php

I'll try to update the Bananas tutorial over the long weekend. Post if you can't get this working -- I'm giving instructions from memory, so let me know if this doesn't work.

Re: coding at work, yes, it'll work fine with just the Simulator -- no TiVo required.
F8ster is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 11-23-2005, 11:08 AM   #3 (Print)
elrothir
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: KS
Posts: 7
Thanks F8ster! That did it! Finally, some progress!

__________________
Sony SVR2000 (100 hours)
Sony SVR2000 (30 hours)
Tivo Series2(40 hours)
elrothir is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Underground Playground > HME Developers Corner

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:55 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index